11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +2 44, +5 56, +11 112, +12 100

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, UPDATE +10 94

Just got home from work and retested him - he's at 94 (at about +10.25). He was 71 at +7 and 84 at +8.5. Whew.

He's still not eating though. I force fed him some more wet food with a syringe, and will do that a couple of more times tonight. We did a quick urine dip - traces of protein, leukocytes, ketones, and maybe a bit of blood. Vet wants me to bring Jason back in tomorrow to get another urine sample to send to our lab for urinalysis. Obviously I'm a little concerned about the ketones, but it was just barely a trace amount, so we'll see what the urinalysis says.

Spoke with the vet, and she wants me to stop insulin for now and see what his BG does. I did just finish transitioning my cats (including Jason) to Wellness Core (a much lower carb dry food than what I had been feeding, even though he's mainly on a low carb wet food diet) a few days ago, and she's wondering if that's part of what's going on. Since Jason is still not eating voluntarily, and I probably won't be able to keep a close eye on him tomorrow, I don't feel comfortable giving him insulin right now anyway, to be honest.

So that's where we stand right now - what a fun day this has been :lol:
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56 UPDATE +10

Thanks for the update Sarah. I've checked in with Ann to make sure there is someone to guide you as you get to PMPS. Please be sure your post your +11 number so we can ensure someone is around to help you.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56 UPDATE +10

nice numbers today. :smile:

If I were you, I would rethink your vet's advice to withhold insulin. The "recipe" for diabetic ketoacidosis is usually insufficient insulin + insufficient calories + infection. If there are already trace ketones present, that can progress very rapidly and become a serious situation. I would stalk him in the litterbox, and get another ketone test tonight. If the ketones progress to anything more than Trace, off to the vet you go.

What Jason needs right now is food, insulin, and hydration while his infection clears. Then get as much fluid into him as you can. Water his food down, give him fresh, clean drinking water, leave the faucet dripping if he likes to drink from the faucet, put some ice cubes in his water dish (one of my cats was fascinated by that and it would always get her to drink).

Jason did earn a dose reduction today, but the presence of trace ketones means that you should stay more aggressive than you might otherwise. You can use food/syrup to manipulate the numbers if he starts to go low. If he's still low tonight at PMPS then reducing to skinny 0.5 would be understandable, but be prepared to increase the dose again if the numbers go up or if he tests positive for ketones again.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56 UPDATE +10

Cross posted with Libby. Glad she is here to help you.

Thanks Libby...I was going to PM you so glad you are here.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56 UPDATE +10

Good luck with the vet tomorrow - I hope all is ok with Jason. Good luck tonight. I agree with the others.

very nice job today - you did well.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56 UPDATE +10

I agree with Libby. Ketones are a serious concern, not something to be taken lightly. Even a trace requires action on your part to deal with them. They can progress pretty rapidly to a very serious emergency with all of the right ingredients, and Jason has all of them. I would reconsider stopping the insulin. He needs food, extra water and insulin.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56 UPDATE +10

I'm really worried about giving Jason insulin at this point, because I know I won't be home to monitor him the next two days like I have been the last three. If his BG does drop down again like the last 3 days, no one will be home to test or take any measures to correct it, and he's not eating voluntarily right now so I can't rely on him eating to raise his BG.

I will try to get another ketone test tonight. I'll project images of waterfalls to Jason to help things along ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top