11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +4.5 75.6-few ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning All,
let it snow! let it snow! let it snow!..............woke up to see it snowed thru the night brrrrrr
AMPS 129.6
I really tried to get up and do a +10 at 3:30 am...but couldn't...i'm tired....
Let's see if Tuesday is full of surprises for me :mrgreen:
have the feeling he will do the same as yesterday.....
i will try to withhold fluids...let's see if he lets me as he gets impatient banging on the blinds in the bedroom window..... :lol:
hope you have a great Tuesday.....will try to visit condos later...all depending what Rocket has for me this snowy morning ;-)
will report later!!!!!
wish i could say btb but in 1/2 hr it's med time again for Rocket...... :sad:



yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29810
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6

Nice start again for Rocket.
He is funny banging on the blinds for fluid.

I love snow.....I cannot wait for the first snowfall here.
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6

Morning guys! Such a nice amps for rocket ...hopefully he surfs the day away for you with no big surprises ... how much snow did you get? We haven't gotten any here yet *knock on wood* and I'm ok with that!! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +2.5 88.2

Surf those greens Rocket!! Snow, huh? Where are you living? The first snowfall is so pretty....isn't it a little early though?
Hope you have a nice cozy warm day! Rocket is looking SO good! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +2.5 88.2 +3.5 77.4

+3.5 77.4
withholding fluids a little longer here....
I'm in Calgary, Alberta....CANADA....yeah it snowed quite a bit 10 cm of snow they said in the news....looks like more to me.
he is hanging in there at the greens...he gave up on bugging me for the fluids.... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +4.5 88.2

looks like he is taking it easy on me this morning....will give fluids now....see how that goes

it's still snowing...another 10 cm they said.....
time for more coffee ~O)

+4.5 88.2
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +4.5 88.2 +6 88.2

after fluids he went to take a nap
at +6 88.2 same as +4.5

Laurie,
you are too kind with your words....not in a panic today...maybe he decided to give me a break ;-)

he is eating now right after testing +6....so will let him be for a little bit and hopefully i can test at +8
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +4.5 88.2 +6 88.2

Nice that he's giving you a break today. :-D Still very good numbers though!

Snow...not looking forward to that...I'm sure it won't be long before we see some here too. Actually, I don't mind the snow as much as the cold....at least it's pretty when it snows!
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +4.5 88.2 +8 95.4 +11 70.2-?????

ok i think this is what Rocket was waiting for...to scare me at this time
recap AMPS 129.6
+2.5 88.2
+3.5 77.4
+4.5 88.2...fluids given shortly after testing
+6 88.2
+8 95.4.....he ate at +9 so i left him alone and did not test him
+11 70.2

do i skip the pm dose? nailbite_smile
HELP......

he was waiting to surprise me i guess
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +4.5 88.2 +8 95.4 +11 70.2-?????

test again at +12 and we'll see if he is still surfing or rising. A lot can change in an hour.

He's a cat, of course he was waiting to surprise you. :roll:
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +11 70.2 +12 79.2-keep testing??

how are you holding up, Claudia? You test all night long, how tired are you? I don't like to see beans burn out. Do you have lots of test strips and high carb food or karo?

I'm leaning toward stalling for 30 minutes to see if he goes up a little bit. What do you think? You have shot 120's easily, so what number would you be comfortable shooting?
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +11 70.2 +12 79.2-keep testing??

in the 120s will be ok with me
i have plenty of stips to test so no prob there
i tested last night until 11:30 pm
he's taken it easy on me today up til +11.....
i'm ok so long as if i scream for help/guidance that i can get it....don't want to use the 911 icon...but if need be i will

he just ate so i will test at +12.5 and report....do i give full shot if at 120s or i can now cut to 0.5U instead of 1.0U? nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +11 70.2 +12 79.2-keep testing??

Libby and Lucy said:
how are you holding up, Claudia? You test all night long, how tired are you? I don't like to see beans burn out. Do you have lots of test strips and high carb food or karo?

I'm leaning toward stalling for 30 minutes to see if he goes up a little bit. What do you think? You have shot 120's easily, so what number would you be comfortable shooting?

i have science diet roasted chicken dinner in gravy....not sure if it's HC...he doesn't get that usually as he eats chicken & liver pate FF....also some pouches of whiskas with gravy....will they do? i do have karo
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +11 70.2 +12 79.2-keep testing??

Rocket hasn't earned a reduction yet. I'll give you some scenarios:

1) if you want to see if he will earn his reduction tonight, you can shoot now, or at least pretty soon. Test starting at +1 to see where he is going. Usually the lower the number when you shoot, the flatter the cycle is, unless the cat is ready for a dose reduction. If Rocket really needs the reduction, you'll know because he will drop below 50. That way there is no question about whether he needs a reduction, because he will prove it to you.

2) or you can stall until he gets higher to shoot. Most likely if you stall for very long, he probably won't go low enough to earn the dose reduction tonight (though you never know, and if he does earn it then you know he REALLY needs it). You would still need to test at +1 to be sure he is nicely on the rise, but that option should keep him higher so you can take a break and get some rest. Rest is important and from your spreadsheet I would guess that you're not getting very much of it.

There is no harm in taking a break every now and then, and in fact if you don't then you risk not being able to stay awake some time when you really need to. I know this from experience, because once I fell asleep when Lucy was in the 40's and dropping. Scared me that I couldn't stay up even though I knew I needed to.
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket AMPS 129.6 +12 79.2 +12.5 95.4-keep testing

that could be part of his food spike. Whether to shoot or wait depends on how aggressive you want to be.
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket +12.5 95.4 (PMPS)?????

i gave the reduction
will keep close eye on him
0.5U at +12.5 so will test +1 or should i test +0.5?

so at +12.5 becomes his PMPS, right?
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket +12.5 95.4 (PMPS)?????

Claudia & Rocket said:
i gave the reduction
will keep close eye on him
0.5U at +12.5 so will test +1 or should i test +0.5?

so at +12.5 becomes his PMPS, right?
yes, the +12.5 becomes the PMPS if that's when you shot him.

keep an eye on this dose. rocket hasn't earned a reduction yet. if he had, the next dose down is 0.75 unit. he may or may not be able to handle the reduction to 0.5 unit. if you see signs of the reduction failing, don't hesitate to take the dose right back up, k?
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket +12.5 95.4 (PMPS)?????

Hey there!
From your northern-ish neighbour...
KEEP THE SNOW THERE! lol, will make Sunshine snowboarding that much better!
We are just getting a skiff here..But I am sure you will send it our way, you guys always do!
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8

+1 91.8
testing at +2....may scream for help.....i just want reassurance there is someone at the other end of the line here.... pc_work nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2

+2 70.2
here we gooooooooooo!!!

he is eating now as he was standing by his bowl waiting to be fed.......
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

feeding now...+3 45
HELP
20 min then test? right?????????????????????? nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

you can mix a couple of drops of Karo into 2 tsp of his low carb food. Then test in 20 minutes. Just feed small bits at a time, but mix in a bit of karo, ok?
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

You've got the routine down. Give a bit of HC -- a teaspoon or two of gravy will help bring numbers up or mix Karo into LC food (just a drop or two).
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

the Science Diet with gravy that you mentioned should be high carb. Some gravy from that will help bump the numbers.
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

+3.20 54 did not give karo yet....i have a new 'batch of food' waiting for him w lil karo in it....
another 20 mins, right?
DH is helping keeping Comet (the dog) away and letting me deal with Rocket.....i'm nervous....
i knew he would keep me working hard tonight!!!! i knew it!!!!
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

54 is good. Remember, just small amounts of food at a time so he doesn't get too full. You're doing great!
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

54 is very safe. A teaspoon or so more of food will hopefully get Rocket on a surfboard. You're doing great. This can be nerve wracking the first couple of times. You'll be a pro soon.
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

In anticipation of a question you will no doubt have, I would not reduce Rocket's dose any more than you did tonight. The numbers you're seeing now are due to Rocket's shed not catching up with the reduction you took at PMPS. It takes a cycle for a very full shed to lower the level of Lantus. If you drop the dose more, you'll end up with way high numbers. Plan on shooting 0.5u in the morning.

In the meantime, lather (test), rinse (feed), and repeat.
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

+ 3 40 mins 57.6.....only fed him that one time at +3 45
should i feed again?
another 20 mins, right?
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

Sienne and Gabby said:
In anticipation of a question you will no doubt have, I would not reduce Rocket's dose any more than you did tonight. The numbers you're seeing now are due to Rocket's shed not catching up with the reduction you took at PMPS. It takes a cycle for a very full shed to lower the level of Lantus. If you drop the dose more, you'll end up with way high numbers. Plan on shooting 0.5u in the morning.

In the meantime, lather (test), rinse (feed), and repeat.
ditto to what sienne said. what you're seeing is leftover shed action from the higher dose. i would not lower the dose any more than you have already tonight.
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

Claudia & Rocket said:
+ 3 40 mins 57.6.....only fed him that one time at +3 45
should i feed again?
another 20 mins, right?

once again....do i continue to feed? or wait for next test?
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

Yup - test in 20 - 30 min. A small snack of LC should help keep numbers in this range.
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +3 45 +4 66.6

+4 66.6
gave a little food 20 mins ago....
will test at +4.5
I won't reduce the dose for tomorrow amps...but i'm afraid i can't keep this close of an eye on him tomorrow after the +6 as i will be away for a few hrs....i'm worried about that....

ok till test again and report shortly....he looks sooooooo tired......
 
Re: 11/16 Rocket PMPS 95.4 +1 91.8 +2 70.2 +3 45-HELP

You must be pretty tired, too. Hopefully, Rocket's shed will have adjusted to the lower dose tomorrow and it will be an easier day.
 
+4.5 75.6
:YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH:
few questions:
for tomorrow amps do i go back to the time when he has been getting the shot at 5:30 am or since i gave him the shot at 6 pm tonight...do i go by the new time?
how often should i test him tonight?
please review his SS and you will see that he dropped at +11 after AMPS....should i continue to test every hr to ensure he doesn't drop to 45 again?

guidance much needed.

thank you all for your help....i am tired...yes...but it's worth looking after my baby! though he is not liking me at the moment with the constant poking ;-)
 
Claudia & Rocket said:
+4.5 75.6
:YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH:
few questions:
for tomorrow amps do i go back to the time when he has been getting the shot at 5:30 am or since i gave him the shot at 6 pm tonight...do i go by the new time?
how often should i test him tonight?
please review his SS and you will see that he dropped at +11 after AMPS....should i continue to test every hr to ensure he doesn't drop to 45 again?

guidance much needed.

thank you all for your help....i am tired...yes...but it's worth looking after my baby! though he is not liking me at the moment with the constant poking ;-)
you did not give any karo tonight, right?

technically, tomorrow's shot time is 12 hours after you gave the shot tonight. however, if rocket's numbers are not low at +11.5, i would go ahead and shoot him so you'll be right back on schedule.

if it were me, i would feel comfortable going to bed now after feeding him and leaving food out.

i wouldn't worry about that drop at +11 tomorrow. you've cut his dose in half. reducing by 50% will drain his "shed".
 
I would test at 5:30. If Rocket bounces, which frankly I think may be unlikely, go ahead and shoot. Otherwise, you can move the AM shot to 5:45 and the PM shot back to 5:30.

Many cats have a drop before PMPS. We call it a "double dip." If you're able to get a +11, that's great. If you plan on testing at 5:30, that would be +11.5 so you should be fine getting that test. You'll have his +12 as a comparison.

I generally think that if you have 2 rising numbers you'll be good to get some sleep. If you're nervous, leave food out. You've said Rocket is a grazer so it's likely that if his numbers are wobbling, he'll eat and bring his numbers back up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top