11/15 Ruby AMPS 192/+3 118/+6 62/+10 85/PMPS 92/+3 67

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-14-ruby-amps-217-6-79-9-92-pmps-101-3-89.255447/

Got a blue AMPS. :cool: I know it's not that much lower than yesterday's AMPS, but I hate seeing yellow. :p Ruby's doing pretty well. Sleeping curled up in a ball with Olive most of the day since it's gotten colder, and she's jumping onto window sills and tables when she wants to get the lay of the land. We're still unpacking boxes and buying new things to add to the apartment and it's fun for the cats to sniff these new items and explore. Fun times for kitties. :cat::cat:

Hope everyone has a great day!:bighug:
 
Good morning Katherine. I certainly understand how you feel about seeing yellow, I sort of got used to it or accepting of it for Dolly but how I missed her beautiful blues and greens. I would look at her SS off and on throughout the day. I haven’t done that since we said goodbye. I miss her deeply but I know you already know that. I didn’t know telling you this would finally start the tears I’ve been so afraid to shed. I know I have to let them come to start to really heal. I know you understand, you are such a dear friend. I just stopped by to say hello, wish you all a wonderful day. Send lots of pets and kisses to the girls :kiss::kiss: and hugs for you and Frank. :bighug::bighug:
 
Ruby does so amazingly well - even on Presnisolone. I know you really do have the magic touch!
I am not trying to be modest when I say that I don't think I am doing much. I have not had an opportunity to decrease Ruby's dose basically since she went on pred. I kept her on 2.5 for far too long because I was afraid, but now I understand that I am a caregiver to a long term diabetic and that means something different than when we first started and exogenous insulin was a new thing for Ruby's body.
 
Well now that.youve probably jinxed it...have you given any thought to how you will handle decreases? With how seemingly unpredictable the pred can be, I'm not sure I would go with one drop under 40. There's the multiple drops in 40-50 on different days, as TR says for cats that don't hold reductions well. And I suppose we don't really know if she does or doesn't yet
 
Also, perspective Katherine! Go back 2 years ago. Would you have imagined yourself in this position? I know I didn't. You forget how much goes into every little thing, research, planning your life - now that Mr Kitty is in remission, it was weird to have my "life" back. And now that I'm expecting him to relapse at some point with reduced cabergoline, I admit some small part of me absolutely dreads picking it all back up again. Give yourself some credit!
 
Well now that.youve probably jinxed it...have you given any thought to how you will handle decreases? With how seemingly unpredictable the pred can be, I'm not sure I would go with one drop under 40. There's the multiple drops in 40-50 on different days, as TR says for cats that don't hold reductions well. And I suppose we don't really know if she does or doesn't yet
I'm not strictly following TR for precisely this reason. I'm going to look for what the numbers tell me and what's happening in my life at that time. But I do know that long term diabetics do better at lower numbers than newer ones. I may wait for several drops under 40, but I don't see that happening anytime soon as we haven't really even dropped below 50 in a long while.

And no, I never saw myself sitting here every night for the past year reading and writing about diabetes in cats! I guess what I mean is there is nothing magic about it. I follow what the numbers tell me. That's pretty much it.
 
Agree to disagree ;)

Back when I was still working, I did a lot of hiring (bringing new engineers into company, so really needed to make the right decisions, it's not cheap or easy to onboard them). At one point we partnered with a company to help with hiring for a specific division. Their approach was strictly numbers based - reduce every applicant and interviewee to a score. Our approach had always been a little more fluid - absolute yes's, hard no's, then the in-betweeners that gave us pause and needed to talk about, take a calculated risk on. To make a long story short...said company quickly learned that hiring is more often an art than a science, the score on paper doesn't do a great job reflecting the person.

Diabetes is no different - based in science, but with some art/gut feel thrown in there. And now that I'm at the end of my (very long) analogy I've remembered you're in art, so look at that! Perfect :joyful:
 
Back
Top