11/15 Mugsy Update

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

~O) Mugsy has a different chart posted because I got tired of keeping up two charts. Most of his bgs are in the healthier numbers since I raised (then adjusted) his dose (I've had to change his dose time again, too) but, we're still trying to stabilize him. It would seem the Lantus gives out before we reach the 12th hour (or 11th). I still can't be sure when his Nadir is either. The 1.25u is approximate since there is no marking for it but, I intend to feather it either side to find what's right. One u is too low and 1.5u is too high(too much bounce). His ketones are still negative and the new lancets are a big help - now he only gets stabbed once (twice at worst) instead of 8 to 12 times and that has eased his resistance to the testing and the stress for both of us. I just wish there was a liquid or ointment to ease the pain to his paws.

I located the updated Queensland protocol, Jill, and linked to it. Thank you. There's not a great deal of change but, did you note that they do say to use a human meter not a pet meter because of the 30 mg difference in the readings. Also, stick to the ideal weight for dosing - do not adjust to actual weight.

There's not much more to say except have a good day to all of you. cat_pet_icon
 
Sally and Mugsy said:
~O)I located the updated Queensland protocol, Jill, and linked to it. Thank you. There's not a great deal of change but, did you note that they do say to use a human meter not a pet meter because of the 30 mg difference in the readings. Also, stick to the ideal weight for dosing - do not adjust to actual weight.
your welcome!

the Tight Regulation Protocol linked from the University of Queensland site gives guidelines for the use of meters calibrated for both human and feline use. http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/docs/diabetesinfo/link4.pdf

as sienne has noted, ideal weight is what is used when determining the initial starting dose of lantus or levemir when using a weight based formula.

the above info is contained in or linked to in the Stickies at the top of the forum.

i could be wrong (it's difficult to tell from your ss), but it looks like you still aren't able to get any PM spot checks. for some reason, we see a whole lot of lantus kitties respond in the evening hours... to the point where they sometimes need intervention. just wanted you to be aware of this phenomenon in the interest of safety... as i see mugsy has been dipping into double digits.

please let us know how we can help. that is, if you're looking for help.

have a good day!
 
Good morning Sally. It is good to see you posted again. I hope Mugsy is well. Nice too that the new lancets are helping - better for everyone, yes? I use neosporin with pain relief for Mannie. maybe that would help Mugsy.

have a great day!
 
Jill, If you read the notes you will see he is getting tested before both the am and pm shots.
Sienne, regarding the weight recommendation: I was advised on this board to use the actual weight to start ..... wrong!
PS: the sticky was adjusted according to that advice.
 
Michelle, thanks - maybe neosporin would help him. Pokes hurt people but, they don't walk on their fingers. :roll: ;-) :smile:
 
Forgive me if you've mentioned it already and I've forgotten, but I can't recall why you are not testing his ears.
I started out with paw pads too, but it was so awkward and difficult that I switched to ear pokes and thankfully didn't encounter much trouble.

MJ&Donovan
 
Sally and Mugsy said:
Jill, If you read the notes you will see he is getting tested before both the am and pm shots.
Sienne, regarding the weight recommendation: I was advised on this board to use the actual weight to start ..... wrong!
PS: the sticky was adjusted according to that advice.
yes, i see mugsy is getting tested before both the AM and PM shots.

what i wrote was:

"i could be wrong (it's difficult to tell from your ss), but it looks like you still aren't able to get any PM spot checks. for some reason, we see a whole lot of lantus kitties respond in the evening hours... to the point where they sometimes need intervention. just wanted you to be aware of this phenomenon in the interest of safety... as i see mugsy has been dipping into double digits."

PM spot checks. if you're getting them, that's wonderful! if you're not getting any PM spot checks, you may want to reconsider.


i was the one who edited the sticky. i edited to include "if kitty is underweight, the formula frequently used is 0.25 unit per kg of kitty's actual weight" when using a weight based formula to determine a starting dose for lantus or levemir, as this is a common practice in human medicine.
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL

as i mentioned earlier, please let us know how or if we can help you with mugsy. we'd be more than happy to help! :-D
 
MJ & Donovan.....ba-a-a-d eyesight. Paws are easier to see but, not do. ;-)
 
So how do you get the blood from the paw to the strip? Ears are "up there" and paws are "down there", and Donovan does not tolerate being flipped on his back. After I poked his paw and squeezed, it was a wrestling match to hold his limb steady while I grabbed the meter. Do you scoop it off onto your fingernail or something and test from there?

MJ&Donovan
 
Sally,
I dont understand this spreadsheet. Are those Clock times at the top?
I do not see any +1 to +11 for after each shot, which you need if you have to do 24 hr curve testing.

Anyway,
Today although still high, the readings seemed more level, rather than the boucy readings.
I would think thats an improvement.
Maybe tomorrow will be even better.

Keep up the good work.
 
MJ+Donovan said:
So how do you get the blood from the paw to the strip? Ears are "up there" and paws are "down there", and Donovan does not tolerate being flipped on his back. After I poked his paw and squeezed, it was a wrestling match to hold his limb steady while I grabbed the meter. Do you scoop it off onto your fingernail or something and test from there?

MJ&Donovan

MJ for Do Lou and I paw testing is not diff then ear testing as to how you use the strips to the blood I started with ears or tried I should say and gave up since he hates his ears touched and loves his feet touched I am sure all paw testers may do it diff but he lays on his side purring and kneading the air which can make it hard sometimes to get his paw still but other then that to me its no diff then how you all do ears.

Sally I use neosporin on Do Lou's feet the one that says with pain relief
 
Glad Mugsy is doing well. And you are able to do the pokes. Wow...the paw...Glad its working for you.

I was pretty fortunate that Curry started establishing a nadir around +3 after about 2 weeks or so..It took me forever to get the blood from her.........Some of the kitties nadir around +6 or later.....which makes it difficult in the evening when folks are asleep. Hope Mugsy will let you know when she nadirs.....best way is to gather some numbers during the day and evening.....lots of hard work for you both. You are doing great. Keep it up.
 
To MJ: Mugsy is on his side with his testing foot and tail in one hand and the other hand doing the testing. Since, he still wants to protect his rights (and pride) by being difficult (not as bad as before) DH keeps the front end still. He volunteers now but, feels he has to put on this act. With the larger lancets, he co-operates. I imagine one poke is as much better for him as it is for me. It was a real torture having to do up to a dozen to get blood.

Lori: I do 12 (13) hour testing. The numbers at the top are the hours starting with 7am and ending with 8pm. He gets his shots at 8am/8pm and the comments tell when shot times have changed as I tried to find the best times for all of us. The 7am & 7pm tests are really closer to shot time as they usually are 7:30 with 8:00 shots which allows me to test and get the shot ready and warmed before giving it. There is no sense having a huge chart with empty space so I made it easier to read at a glance (less garish, too).

Hope that answers everything. Have another good day. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top