Georgette and Clare
Member Since 2014
Good Caturday Morning, Lantus Land Neighbors!
We're sending out lots of hugs and healing skritches to the kitties and beans who need them today.
Yesterday's Advice Condo
Today's News: [3rd cycle on taking her back to 0.25]
AMPS 349 [fed 2.0 oz of Super Supper, she didn't eat it all]
+3 131
+4.25 77
+4.75 73
+5.25 60
+5.75 69
+6.25 75
+8.25 105
PMPS 362
+3 301
+4 398
Well, Clare the Mystery Cat has come down this morning on a reduced dose. She looks good, too -- preening, sharpening her claws, jumping up on the cat tree and asking to go outside. She hasn't eaten a lot; but we've had three kinds of food out and she's nibbled at everything. She caught a mouse earlier this morning but it was pretty easy to entice her away from it with her favorite baked chicken, where before we left and two times while we were gone, she'd pretty much insisted on eating them.
We've tweaked a few things since we got back from our 5-day trip, where we'd reduced the dose from 0.75 to 0.25 to "keep her safe" and she'd come down to 49 on the last day. nailbite_smile We'd skipped her PM dose on the last couple of days while we were gone because we couldn't figure out what was going on.
We took her back up to 0.5 after we came back, thinking that it had been her eating less food that had brought her numbers down. She'd been at that for 4 cycles, bouncing, and then we'd brought her back to 0.25 on Julie's advice that since she'd gone low on 0.25 while we were gone, we should've probably started from there and waited awhile on that dose after we got back, to see what she'd do.
Sure enough! Today, the 3rd cycle after we took her dose back down to 0.25, she's gone into the greens. [Back soon to continue: need to do another test.]
We've tweaked a few things lately: (1) We're giving her less food at PS: 2.0 oz of 4-5%; (2) we're giving her more at +2 and then pretty much free-feeding her from there; (3) we've moved her testing site from the couch, where she was closer to us and more confined, to the kitchen counter where she's been less constrained (this was where the Vet Tech tested her while we were gone); (4) we've been giving her extra water in her food, about 1 tsp each time we add some to her dish, and it seems to be helping with the amount of blood she has at test time; (5) we've got a fire going most of the time now and we warm up her ears more and my hands, too, before each morning test.
She's actually coming up to us now in the kitchen, waiting for another test.
We've been feeding her only 4-5% LC today, so we'll just see how her cycle goes without adding any MC unless she gets below 50.
Thanks to Julie and Marje, Sienne and Jill, our wise counselors, for your help in this Sherlock Holmes adventure.
Thanks to Marilyn, Carla and Tricia for your constant encouragement along the way.
We are ready to delve into the specifics of food management and are awaiting guidance!
PM: My DH was making a special dinner and forgot to give Clare her shot after our PS test. We didn't discover it until +4 (bedtime) so we'll skip the shot and start over again tomorrow.
Georgette and Clare
We're sending out lots of hugs and healing skritches to the kitties and beans who need them today.
Yesterday's Advice Condo
Today's News: [3rd cycle on taking her back to 0.25]
AMPS 349 [fed 2.0 oz of Super Supper, she didn't eat it all]
+3 131
+4.25 77
+4.75 73
+5.25 60
+5.75 69
+6.25 75
+8.25 105
PMPS 362
+3 301
+4 398
Well, Clare the Mystery Cat has come down this morning on a reduced dose. She looks good, too -- preening, sharpening her claws, jumping up on the cat tree and asking to go outside. She hasn't eaten a lot; but we've had three kinds of food out and she's nibbled at everything. She caught a mouse earlier this morning but it was pretty easy to entice her away from it with her favorite baked chicken, where before we left and two times while we were gone, she'd pretty much insisted on eating them.
We've tweaked a few things since we got back from our 5-day trip, where we'd reduced the dose from 0.75 to 0.25 to "keep her safe" and she'd come down to 49 on the last day. nailbite_smile We'd skipped her PM dose on the last couple of days while we were gone because we couldn't figure out what was going on.
We took her back up to 0.5 after we came back, thinking that it had been her eating less food that had brought her numbers down. She'd been at that for 4 cycles, bouncing, and then we'd brought her back to 0.25 on Julie's advice that since she'd gone low on 0.25 while we were gone, we should've probably started from there and waited awhile on that dose after we got back, to see what she'd do.
Sure enough! Today, the 3rd cycle after we took her dose back down to 0.25, she's gone into the greens. [Back soon to continue: need to do another test.]
We've tweaked a few things lately: (1) We're giving her less food at PS: 2.0 oz of 4-5%; (2) we're giving her more at +2 and then pretty much free-feeding her from there; (3) we've moved her testing site from the couch, where she was closer to us and more confined, to the kitchen counter where she's been less constrained (this was where the Vet Tech tested her while we were gone); (4) we've been giving her extra water in her food, about 1 tsp each time we add some to her dish, and it seems to be helping with the amount of blood she has at test time; (5) we've got a fire going most of the time now and we warm up her ears more and my hands, too, before each morning test.
She's actually coming up to us now in the kitchen, waiting for another test.
We've been feeding her only 4-5% LC today, so we'll just see how her cycle goes without adding any MC unless she gets below 50.
Thanks to Julie and Marje, Sienne and Jill, our wise counselors, for your help in this Sherlock Holmes adventure.
PM: My DH was making a special dinner and forgot to give Clare her shot after our PS test. We didn't discover it until +4 (bedtime) so we'll skip the shot and start over again tomorrow.
Georgette and Clare