11/15 Clare AMPS 349;PMPS 362

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Caturday Morning, Lantus Land Neighbors!

We're sending out lots of hugs and healing skritches to the kitties and beans who need them today.

Yesterday's Advice Condo

Today's News: [3rd cycle on taking her back to 0.25]

AMPS 349 [fed 2.0 oz of Super Supper, she didn't eat it all]
+3 131
+4.25 77
+4.75 73
+5.25 60
+5.75 69
+6.25 75
+8.25 105

PMPS 362
+3 301
+4 398

Well, Clare the Mystery Cat has come down this morning on a reduced dose. She looks good, too -- preening, sharpening her claws, jumping up on the cat tree and asking to go outside. She hasn't eaten a lot; but we've had three kinds of food out and she's nibbled at everything. She caught a mouse earlier this morning but it was pretty easy to entice her away from it with her favorite baked chicken, where before we left and two times while we were gone, she'd pretty much insisted on eating them.

We've tweaked a few things since we got back from our 5-day trip, where we'd reduced the dose from 0.75 to 0.25 to "keep her safe" and she'd come down to 49 on the last day. nailbite_smile We'd skipped her PM dose on the last couple of days while we were gone because we couldn't figure out what was going on.

We took her back up to 0.5 after we came back, thinking that it had been her eating less food that had brought her numbers down. She'd been at that for 4 cycles, bouncing, and then we'd brought her back to 0.25 on Julie's advice that since she'd gone low on 0.25 while we were gone, we should've probably started from there and waited awhile on that dose after we got back, to see what she'd do.

Sure enough! Today, the 3rd cycle after we took her dose back down to 0.25, she's gone into the greens. [Back soon to continue: need to do another test.]

We've tweaked a few things lately: (1) We're giving her less food at PS: 2.0 oz of 4-5%; (2) we're giving her more at +2 and then pretty much free-feeding her from there; (3) we've moved her testing site from the couch, where she was closer to us and more confined, to the kitchen counter where she's been less constrained (this was where the Vet Tech tested her while we were gone); (4) we've been giving her extra water in her food, about 1 tsp each time we add some to her dish, and it seems to be helping with the amount of blood she has at test time; (5) we've got a fire going most of the time now and we warm up her ears more and my hands, too, before each morning test.

She's actually coming up to us now in the kitchen, waiting for another test. :o

We've been feeding her only 4-5% LC today, so we'll just see how her cycle goes without adding any MC unless she gets below 50.

Thanks to Julie and Marje, Sienne and Jill, our wise counselors, for your help in this Sherlock Holmes adventure. :cool: Thanks to Marilyn, Carla and Tricia for your constant encouragement along the way. :-D We are ready to delve into the specifics of food management and are awaiting guidance!

PM: My DH was making a special dinner and forgot to give Clare her shot after our PS test. We didn't discover it until +4 (bedtime) so we'll skip the shot and start over again tomorrow.

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 11/15 Clare AMPS 349;+4.25/77 Mystery Cat Strikes Again!

well i'll be darned. :shock:

Honestly, I was starting to doubt myself and think maybe I was wrong to suggest you drop back to 0.25u and wait. *whew* The more I'd looked at her spreadsheet, the more I thought that 49 on the last day of your vacation was on the way UP so she'd been somewhere lower and that was what had triggered the bounce. I'm glad you had more patience than I had and waited to find this lovely little green emerge. WOOT!

give that sweet little Clare a few extra pets from me! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 11/15 Clare AMPS 349;+4.25/77 Mystery Cat Strikes Again!

Hey, Clare. Looks like your enigma gig is up. The beans are getting wise to your ways! And that's a good thing.

Good going, Georgette. You, too, Miss Clare.

Have a great weekend.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 11/15 Clare AMPS 349;+4.25/77 Mystery Cat Strikes Again!

Julie, you're my dosing guru! Please don't doubt yourself.

Marje, our vet has said that Clare's ideal weight is 7 lbs. or "maybe a little more" so here's what I get when I use the formula for calories:

(13.6 X 7.25) + 70 = 168.60 Calories

I'll check out the food we've been using (9 Lives Chicken and Tuna and Super Supper; FF Salmon; Natural Instincts Chicken Formula) and see what that looks like as far as calories.

Thanks,

Georgette
 
Re: 11/15 Clare AMPS 349;+4.25/77 Mystery Cat Strikes Again!

The more I know the less I know with FD. Nice to see all that green on the reduced dose!
 
Re: 11/15 Clare AMPS 349;+4.25/77 Mystery Cat Strikes Again!

I'm definitely not a dosing guru! that's the beauty of this site, though, you can get opinions from different people and sift through it, or try different strategies to find what works for you.

Now I'm wondering if 0.25u is too much, given that she was only getting one 0.25u shot per day while you were gone. I suspect that she'll let you know if it is too much.
 
Re: 11/15 Clare AMPS 349;+4.25/77 Mystery Cat Strikes Again!

Way to keep the beans on their toes, Miss Clare! ;-) :-D

Gosh, Georgette, she really is an enigma, isn't she? It's amazing and wonderful, and probably a little scary to see her drop like this on the reduced dose. I'll bet you're excited about where this may be leading (anti-jinx)!
 
Re: 11/15 Clare AMPS 349;+4.25/77 Mystery Cat Strikes Again!

Dear Everyone,

And yes, Julie, I agree that it is everyone who's making up this wonderful LL who has helped us in so many ways!

Although I think that we've discovered something here, I'm not sure exactly what it is. I would very much value opinions that neighbors have to offer on this turn of events. Somehow I think the food is a significant factor; maybe not feeding quite so much at the outset of each cycle, triggering some kind of effect in Clare's very self-sufficient body?

I'm beginning to read through the notes that you pulled together, Julie, about glucose toxicity and the effects of high numbers. It's a new concept to me because I thought I'd read at the beginning that high numbers don't effect cats near as much as they do humans. Now it seems there's a reason to believe the opposite.

Truly, when Clare has been on the lower numbers lately she's acted more comfortable and lively than she did at the beginning when she'd go low. I might be imagining that or noticing different things now, though. The only negative thing I've noticed since we came home is more dandruff/scaling in her fur. So we'll keep adding extra water to her food.

I'm really curious to see what her bounce looks like after today's low. She came down to a good number and has come back up again fairly slowly, all on her regular LC food.

Also, we've been at 0.25 before, several times. It's sometimes seemed good at the beginning and then afterward the dose has lost its effectiveness. So I'm not sure about this time and I'm trying to keep from getting my hopes too far up.

Also, we did have two days (4 cycles) on the 0.5 dose before we cut back to the 0.25 yesterday; so I guess the depot is fuller today than it would normally have been if we'd stayed at the 0.25 after we came home.

So "we'll see" is a good approach, I think. We're going to start working on figuring out the food and how much, what carb level, and when to feed her. Maybe that will help to further decipher Clare's situation. ECID, as we say in LL and Clare is definitely a cat! ;-)

Have a great night, Everyone!

Georgette and Clare
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top