11/14 Rocket PMPS 169.2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6

good morning Claudia,

I dont know about testing more often, you test very well! I like your SS. :mrgreen:
but I would make a suggestion for this morning, is to get a +1, this AMPS is your lowest to date.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6

Good morning :-D I agree with Ronnie. Your testing is fine. Your spreadsheet looks wonderful. I would start with a +1, today.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +1 126-??

nibbled on his food shortly after PMPS...then we did subq fluids (here he gets freezer dried chicken to entertain/distract him)....now at +1 126.....he ate his food right after testing....

a +2 test most likely, right?
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +1 126-??

I agree - Rocket's SS is lovely. I'm hoping for another green surf today for you guys today.
sweet little kitty-boy. He's responding really well to your TLC Claudia. good job.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +1 126-??

"Rocket Man...
NOT burning out his fuse, and NOT alone...
LL's the kind of place to help your kids
cuz the folks round here are warm as hell"

nice numbers, claudia!

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +1 126 +2 90-?

ok he is sleeping on his bed...managed to get +2 90....i have the feeling he will drop even more....
+3 in place or sooner?
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +1 126 +2 90-??

I would feed a little LC at this point Claudia....try to get him to surf the greens...you could do a +2.5 to see where the LC brings him and give a little more if he is still dropping....
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +1 126 +2 90-??

he is eating on his own as i type this...but yes will test at +2.5
will report shortly....
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +2 90 +2.5 70.2-??

dropping like a stone even after he ate his meal....
what now? another 1/2 hr? or feed more? (he ate a bit at +2)
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +2 90 +2.5 70.2-??

Looking good...you're giving a little bit at a time yes?
you don't want to feed a big bunch, or he will fill up too quickly (scarf n' barf)

+3 sounds good.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3 63-?

Claudia,

just in case, do you have anything in the medium carb range?

plenty of strips?

hoping for others input here...
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3 63-?

yes i have plenty of stips.... so far home supply is 100 strips...until i can go get more....other foods...yes...not sure if they're high or low carb...he usually eats chicken and liver fancy feast...i diluted it with tuna juice at +2.5 to entice him a bit....will test again at +3.5.....panic will soon set in...i go by mmol and 3.5 is getting there for me
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3 63-?

I think you could add a little HC gravy to some of his regular LC to get him surfing since it is still a little early in the cycle.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3 63-?

nibbled on his food shortly after PMPS...then we did subq fluids (here he gets freezer dried chicken to entertain/distract him)....now at +1 126.....he ate his food right after testing..
..



how much subq fluids did he get this morning?
that was last nite? right?
lol, sorry, misread that!
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3 63-?

i opened a pouch of Whiskas chicken w gravy....will test in 15mins

he always gets 150 cc daily....for his kidneys...subq fluids are every morning....
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3.5 59.4-???

he ate and wanted more food...but he is still dropping +3.5 59.4
will test in 20 mins...............panic
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3 63-?

You can always add a little Karo to his food. However, I would just monitor carefully like you're doing. Rocket seems like he's wanting a dose reduction and you need to let him get there. Remember, you are in control. You have a meter, strips and HC. You can manage his numbers.

Is Rocket getting sub-q fluids twice a day or just in the AM?

I don't know if this is feasible given your schedule, but it's a thought. Sub-q fluids will drop BG values. Since Rocket's numbers are coming down so nicely, is it possible for you to administer the squids after nadir? Here's the reasoning -- when you're giving squids early, essentially at shot time, you have the drop from the squids coupled with the period when the insulin is most active both working on BG levels. If you have the flexibility to move the time when you administer the fluids, it may help to take some of the drama out of the early drops in numbers. Depending on your shot time and if you are giving fluids twice a day, this may be hard to do during the PM cycle. Alternatively, if you are given squids only once a day, there might be less of an impact on numbers if you go to BID fluids.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3.5 59.4-???

no panic...
you're doing well, ditto to a little karo.

thank you Sienne for posting about the fluids.
something definitely to consider.
 
11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3.5 59.4 +4 66.6-???

He gets fluids every morning...the amps is 5:30 am...originally his subq were at 6 am but he gets treats while i administer the fluids...so i moved the time to 5:30 for fluids....doing fluids bid it's not feasible....the scarring that goes on is nasty and also timewise....he has a pretty full schedule of meds too...i see what you are saying but trying to manage it all has become a nightmare....perhaps the dose needs to be decreased from here on and for his pm shot tonight...yesterday at the pmps he dropped quickly too and he did not get fluids then....

does that mean his pancreas is getting better?

have not given karo yet....at +4 66.6
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3.5 59.4 +4 66.6-???

Claudia & Rocket said:
have not given karo yet....at +4 66.6


oh good! ...that's a nice number for +4....hopefully this is where he will surf.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3.5 59.4-???

can he still surf even if he went up a little?
feeling bad for his ears but will test again at +4.5....i have the feeling he won't surf...
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +3.5 59.4-???

perfect number. From his spreadsheet, it looks like once he starts surfing he usually stays around that number, but another test in an hour would help you be sure. Half an hour if you're worried.

For some cats the fluids don't affect their numbers. That is another good thing to document on your spreadsheet (maybe put an asterisk in the slots where you give fluids) so you can see if there is a pattern. He did have the same drop last night as this morning, so maybe he is one that fluids don't affect much.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +4.5 70.2-?

no surfing....at +4.5 70.2
will test in 1 hr....
should i decrease his dose for the pm shot?
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +4.5 70.2-?

that's still surfing. If you consider meter error those are essentially the same number. Nice!

Usually we wait until they hit under 50 before we try a reduction. Rocket is almost there. He might go there tonight. It's ok to let him go there because you are able to test a lot and you are able to control his numbers with food, just like you did today.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +4.5 70.2-?

I'm betting he surfs these 60-70's right here. once he gets past nadir, he seems to level off nicely.

can't help with the dose question, someone will be giving you advice before pmps gets here.

good job today.
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +5.5 102.6

he's done surfing....so at +5.5 102.6....i'm heading out for a bit...will try to check at +8 or +9
he ate quite a bit at +3.5....he was sooo hungry...he stood there even after me feeding him just a tiny bit as though he was gonna die of hunger! strange behaviour cause he ate well at +2 this morning.....so i gave him mostly gravy in case i needed to feed more....i guess food has kicked in.... :sad: no more surfing....
 
Re: 11/14 Rocket AMPS 138.6 +5.5 102.6

hey your morning went great Claudia, good job!
I hope you enjoy your outing, well deserved!
 
tested +8 142.2
+11 160.2............he went to eat but threw up shortly after so no food in tummy for pmps
PMPS 169.2
not interested in food this pm so far....will keep a close eye
 
recap PMPS 169.2
+2 138.6
+3 117
+4 95.4
not really in the mood to eat...nibbled on his food at +2.....strange cause he ate lots in the morning...probably throwing up just before pmps didn't help...was not a hairball...perhaps he ate too fast as he threw up within seconds of finishing eating...well i guess he won't give me the exciting night i was prepared to have like this morning.... :?
 
+5 88.2...he is now eating
will do one last test before going to bed....
good night everyone....sweet dreams and we are all back at it tomorrow ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top