11/14 MAX AM136+2/88+3.25/76+4/85+7.3/63PMPS 131+2/156+6/77

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128363

Max slept on my bed for much of what was left of the night and again came to visit me on the sofa during the evening. Just maybe he is feeling more like himself.

Today is an anniversary I never dreamed would have happened. It is one year since Max was diagnosed with FD. I diagnosed him myself the day before with a dipstick and was at my vet's the next day. I was so sure he would go into remission when I saw the BG tests at my vet's office those first weeks. We even stopped lantus for three weeks in December. I was determined not to home test as I was so scared to do it even though I had done sub-q fluids and injections in the past. I joined and was so skeptical when it was suggested to raise his dose against the advice of my vet. I will always wonder if I had done that if Max would have gone into remission. My mom was in the hospital at the time and while most of the time I got home to shoot on time I couldn't have tested much. So when his nadir was at 60 my vet tried a trial. He failed and here we are. I couldn't have done this without the unbelievable support here from all of you and the guidance of Julie, Marje, and Wendy.

I started testing last January when the trial failed in December. I don't think Max would be here had I not done that. Now here we are hopefully close to being tightly controlled. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart! Max thanks you as well yet wishes he didn't get all those pokies. :smile:

Prayers and vines to all kitties and beans in need and may all kitties have a visit from :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4/85

I might have slowed things down too much with the hc/mc but I really needed to get to the gym and knew I would be gone for over an hour. Hopefully he will surf and not head up too fast.

I only took 45 minutes of a class and will see what my back says about it.
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85

I'm never sure if I should congratulate people on this anniversary or not. I guess I should, since Max is doing so well now and you have a much better understanding of what is going on with him. His numbers look great today. :mrgreen:

I'm glad you got to the class, but I think it was wise to take it easy. Do you do any floor exercises at home for your back? I do about 30 minutes of exercises, and it really helps - especially with my sciatica. My problem is getting motivated to get down and do them!
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85

Happy Annifursary. Max is celebrating in lovely blue/green style. It's always bittersweet to count the time going by. But look how much better Max is doing than he was a year ago. Even look at the progress this last month! No pinks in November. :cool: Haven't seen yellow for a while. :cool: :cool: Elise, if you want a chuckle, it's always interesting to look at the first few posts you made here and realize how far you yourself have come too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+5.25/74

Hi Tricia. Thanks for the congrats. I know what you mean. It is weird.
As for my restraint with the exercise I have Max to thank for it. When I saw that +2 I was scared to go but it was too late to cancel my bike. You only can do that up to 35 minutes before class. So I gave him some higher carbs and went. It worked I think so now I have that in my trick box should I need it again which I know I will.

Thanks, Wendy. I remember my very first post because I was upset when I started reading and realized FD was more than two shots a day. I was afraid Max would run every time he saw me coming. My vet was great and kept having me come in and just charged me for the stick ($49 ouch) but at least not for a vet visit. He saw me every time himself rather than sending in a tech or just taking Max in the back. I ordered the meter after reading but still said I couldn't/wouldn't use it. Then one day at the office my vet handed me the needle. He didn't say a word. I did it! I think I tested a few times before our next visit. I didn't start for real until after our 3 week or so break in January. That was when I realized Max was not going to get OTJ quickly if at all. So yes, funny what a difference a year makes!! Thanks again for being one of the main ones to get me able to cope with this crazy dance.
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+6.25/70

It is bittersweet to get to that anniversary. It's great to see Max is doing so well. I think anniversaries are a time to look back and see the progress that has been made. I hope your back is feeling better.
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+7.35/63

Thanks, Carla. Yes, Max gave me an annifursary present this month. I think/hope he is at least close to being tightly regulated. Next step for me is to figure out which tests I can omit. I'm so fortunate to not be working but I do have some responsibilities that have been put on the back burner. We have come so far and I don't want to go backward. He seems to be settling down from the thing I won't mention for fear of jinxing him. Have a great night. I see Furball is doing well. Yea for that!
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+7.35/63

A year. How far you and Max have come. And how well he's doing thanks to a terrific mamabean. Makes me a little misty-eyed to see that he's becoming more and more the pre-dx Max.

Max slept on my bed for much of what was left of the night and again came to visit me on the sofa during the evening. Just maybe he is feeling more like himself.

You two are a true inspiration.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+7.35/63

I just wanted to also say Happy Annifursary to Max! We will also have ours in a couple of months. I was so encouraged when my vet said that Chi Chi looked like she would be one of those kitties that would achieve remission. Looking back, if I would have done as she suggested, I wouldnt have my baby anymore.. and I am very glad and grateful that I found this site.Max is looking really good Elise, yes youve had setbacks, and you have done a great job managing them,all the while dealing with your DMs health issues.Paws and fingers crossed for you as always and you are a great momma bean :smile:
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+7.35/63

Clearly Max has done so well under your loving care, and at one year, he is pretty tightly regulated don't you think? That wouldn't have happened without you! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: You don't realize how comforting it is for other newbies when you share your wisdom and experiences and you have so much more medical experience- that means a lot to me- thanks! Glad to hear you could get in a workout, hope your back is feeling better at least! And mom too!
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+7.35/63

you're asking all the questions, learning all the tricks & doing all the work, elise. you deserve the kudos!

and look how well max is doing! I know i said that yesterday, and the day before, and the day before that . . . :mrgreen: that's because he is looking so FANTASTIC! I'm thrilled! :-D

I'm glad you got to go to your spinning class. It'll help keep you going while you're so intensively focused on max. :thumbup
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+1.5/121+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+7.35/63

Glad to hear you're feeling better. Max is looking good :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+7.35/63PMPS 131

Thanks so much for the kind words Marilyn, Ruth, Julie, and Laura. This has not been easy for any of us and I couldn't have gotten to this point without the wonderful people on this board.

My neck and upper back are spasming a little but I haven't taken any Advil since last night, I think. Or did I take some when I woke up? I can't remember! At least it doesn't seem to be any worse since I cycled. I couldn't leave Max too long so it prevented me from overdoing it or trying to lift weights. :lol:
 
Re: 11/14 MAX AMPS 136+2/88+3.25/76+4.25/85+7.3/63PMPS 131+2

It is very bittersweet; we all hope our babies will be in remission by the first annifursary. But, we need to celebrate that they are still with us and healthy. It's great that Max slept on your bed!!!

Look how far he has come and you've learned so much and done so much for him. You should be very proud of yourself.

l love seeing those greens still on Mr. Max!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top