11/14 Gracie PMPS 322 +1 305 +2 285 +4 258 +6 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29693

Recap: Dose increase to sk1u
AMPS: 241
+2: 322
+4: 222
+5: 188
+6: 132
+7: 109
+8: 99
+9: 124
+11: 197
PMPS: 225
+1: 261
+2: 216
+4: 137
+5: 147
+7: 209


What a glorious Sunday morning and I hope it is where you are, too!!

Before the WCR: Ronnie...saw your post too late. :lol: :lol: Should have given you my cell number and you could have texted me early this morning :lol: (I hope you know I am major joking here). I know you are looking at my condo and going WHERE IS THAT +1? As I was lying in bed after going btb after AMPS, I thought, if I don't get a +1, Ronnie is gonna be on my tail :lol: :lol: BUT...in my defense (limited tho it is), by +5 last night Gracie had had enough...she actually went under the sofa when she heard the microwave warming up the rice sock. That is not like my baby girl...she is so good and I've gotten so fast with the pokeys that she never even moves and she just bleeds enuff for my meter. We did ALOT of sticking yesterday...most of it for data because I wanted to see if a little higher % carb food would bring her down slowly. When I got the 344 this morning at AMPS, I just felt I needed to give her a break in testing today unless she made some great movement downward by +2. I promise I'll get a +1 tonight when she's rested...and me, too. And then we'll do a few cycles of +1s. I probably did not have to get the +7 last night but since her nadir yesterday wasn't until +8 and she was lower at +5 then the night before or yesterday morning, I just wanted to know where she was. Sorry Jill and Ronnie...I know you understand..you've been there.

WCR: 4Ps in place...no playing yet this morning. She really is tired but she's a happy girl. She's out on the enclosed porch with Tobey basking in the sun in her fav spot on her condo. I took her to bed with me after +5 and I think she was quite incredulous when I got up at +7 to poke her...what kind of a reward was that for her snuggling/cuddling with me after I poked her so much yesterday?

QUESTION It's probably too soon to tell but it almost looks like I'm getting more carryover which is pushing her higher PS numbers to the right. Is that possible? I did read the info again on overlap/carryover...what a concept to shoot at/around nadir instead of at the end of the cycle (overlap). I just wonder how many cats are that predictable at their nadirs....it certainly would result in better BG control but talk about needing to test!!

I would love to check condos now but I did two btbs and have civvie meds to do, water bowls, etc. Ann...you are a saint...I don't know how you are doing this for a month..by the time Mike gets home after 3-4 days, I'm toast ;-) Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381

"Purposeful use of overlap is considered an advanced approach because it usually requires the administration of insulin at blood glucose levels below the renal threshold, or at least lower than some people are willing to administer the next shot. Maximum use of overlap involves administering the next insulin shot at blood glucose nadir, when the effect of the previous shot is at its peak. This technique, ideal in theory, can be dangerous in practise -- you must be sure that the previous shot is about to diminish, which depends on the insulin's action profile in this animal being very predictable. Waiting until the glucose reading has started to rise a bit is more reliable."
Not familiar with that at all....maybe other will have something to add.....

I hope you all get some rest today...lovely numbers yesterday for Gracie...but the pink floor today seems to be where the action is. She and Shadow are probably dancing and laughing up there...which is some comfort to me...but I really have gotten to dislike that color....and wish they would turn around...
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381

Nice to have a rest day. I'm sure Gracie is happy about it too. I have to restudy all tose food discussions to see if i can do something about Tess's drops too.

Ann...you are a saint...I don't know how you are doing this for a month..by the time Mike gets home after 3-4 days, I'm toast
No not a saint, I assure you I am feeling very sorry for myself. I just don't know how the others who have no one to help do it.
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381

To answer Pat:

Yesterday, Jill left me a link to "carryover" and "overlap" on WIkia. Here's what it said about overlap:
Overlap refers to the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect. Caregivers can purposefully manage overlap to increase the effect of insulin on their pets' blood glucose levels and thus hold the curve of their blood glucose levels fairly flat. Maximum use of overlap involves administering the next insulin shot at blood glucose nadir, when the effect of the previous shot is at its peak. This technique, ideal in theory, can be dangerous in practise -- you must be sure that the previous shot is about to diminish, which depends on the insulin's action profile in this animal being very predictable. Waiting until the glucose reading has started to rise a bit is more reliable.

Although I implied overlap refers to shooting at nadir, it doesn't unless you are very brave!! What stuck with me as amazing was the last sentences above... lovely in theory but difficult in practice. Hope that helps clarify my crazy musings in my condo today!

Ann...YES...you are a saint!!! But you are also right...I wonder how Celi does it with Binks and her civvies?? Younger than us I suppose :lol: :lol: (I know you are, Celi :lol: ) I'm around all day today, Ann, if you want to chat about food...not that I know anything but I've put together a list of foods I'm using with Gracie...it's not that long..I'm trying to get her down to a couple similar carb foods like Jill suggested.

eta: On the feeding...my goal is to flatten out her curve using food so I don't get these big bounces after nice numbers. THAT will take time, I know. As Jill said, flatten the curve, numbers will probably go up some, increase dose. I'm learning!!
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381

Ok...I just read that...I am not sure that this has been used....certainly, not here that I know of but others will know more about it. You certainly do study everything Marjorie...more power to you!!! I usually find that if I muddle the picture too much, I can't keep up with things too well... :lol:
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381

Pat...I think we cross posted or something because I requoted what you quoted :lol: :lol:

I'm sure no one has probably used it and I would never suggest that anyone attempt it...I just thought it was really interesting...the whole concept of it and how that could really stabilize BG levels....but the potential for great danger is really high, I'm thinking. DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Oh I agree...do not try this at home!!! the Protocol that we follow is a lit nicer, don't you think? ;-)
I can't even imagine! scary thought... yes ours is nicer... :-D

Pink floor Gracie? It's OK - you'll be off of it soon.

Hey Gracie! What's up? You wanna gt together? I wanna go snowboarding - you wanna come? I got hats and boots and scarves and the roadster is all ready. I even made catmint tea! See you? don't worry - it's fun, and I'll make sure you stay safe. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381

Marjorie and Gracie said:
To answer Pat:

Yesterday, Jill left me a link to "carryover" and "overlap" on WIkia. Here's what it said about overlap:
Overlap refers to the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect. Caregivers can purposefully manage overlap to increase the effect of insulin on their pets' blood glucose levels and thus hold the curve of their blood glucose levels fairly flat. Maximum use of overlap involves administering the next insulin shot at blood glucose nadir, when the effect of the previous shot is at its peak. This technique, ideal in theory, can be dangerous in practise -- you must be sure that the previous shot is about to diminish, which depends on the insulin's action profile in this animal being very predictable. Waiting until the glucose reading has started to rise a bit is more reliable.

Although I implied overlap refers to shooting at nadir, it doesn't unless you are very brave!! What stuck with me as amazing was the last sentences above... lovely in theory but difficult in practice. Hope that helps clarify my crazy musings in my condo today!
wellllllllllllll, actually caregivers whose kitties have a late nadir shoot at +12 just like everyone else.
what's important is ONSET when shooting a late nadir kitty. a late nadir kitty is just like other diabetic cats only the clock is turned around. :mrgreen:

these concepts are crucial to understanding how to best use Lantus:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot - (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381 +4 366

Geeeee...I have no idea what is up with these numbers. I hope I didn't give a fur shot but I sniffed and felt of her fur and did not have any dampness or smell insulin. I can't figure why she takes such a hard bounce when her numbers were not that high. And I wonder how much influence the 4% carb food has over this if she's in a bounce. It's a crap shoot...give her 4% to slow her down but since I don't know where she's headed, if she's headed down it slows her, if she's bouncing..does it make it worse? Guess I'll see soon enough as any food spikes will be worn off by +6. Sorry for the rambling.

I'm in Mannie...snowboarding sounds fun...altho...I'm pretty happy with my sunny spot on the condo and snow sounds COLD!!!

eta: cross posted with Jill. That is interesting...I didn't realize that there were cats with that late of a nadir!! Yes...I see how the onset is the critical factor when shooting near nadir...and seems like it is one of those things that can also vary....Thanks Jill....I love the education I get from you even though I've read the stickys numerous times...it's the practice of the concepts that helps.
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381 +4 366

my head is spinning - too tired I think to adequately grab the food talk. :lol: such a guessing game isn't it?

Maybe she's just bouncing... Mannie had a couple of days like that a week or so ago- went pink without any really low numbers to trigger it. Sometimes I think they just go pink, with no immediate reason for it... :roll:

Ok Gracie - on my way - You 'll love it. I packed lots of fleece in the roadster too - everyone will be able to stay warm. I can't wait - wanna try dome of those flips they do on those boards. Woot! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381 +4 366

gracie!!! you little Scots poop!

get down to the good numbers NOW, young lady!!

gotta tell you...i bookmark so many pages from gracie's condo...this one included.

trying to figure out how to get a link into the wise one's minds just so we could pick their brains at random.
dangerous side, of course, being that when we get a glimpse into others' minds...we have a tendency to want to play :shock:
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381 +4 366

dangerous side, of course, being that when we get a glimpse into others' minds...we have a tendency to want to play
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Yes...this little Scottish girl needs to come down!!! Back STILL on the roller coaster of FD.
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381 +4 366 +6 330

I'd vote for NDW. Tess is terrible for days when I increase her even a little. I find it even more frustrating than bounces. Th only solution is chocolate and a glass of wine.

Michelle and Mannie said:
my head is spinning - too tired I think to adequately grab the food talk. such a guessing game isn't it?
Just what I've been saying. @-) But the way things are going they aren't going to let us clear our heads any time soon.

Jill & Alex said:
wellllllllllllll, actually caregivers whose kitties have a late nadir shoot at +12 just like everyone else.
And not necessarily a regularly occurring late nadir. We shoot low PS as long as they aren't dropping fast or in the 40s. That is technically a late nadir.
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie AMPS 344 +2 381 +4 366 +6 330

What's up with all the pink, Gracie? Enough of this pink floor, come on down to blue or green, please. Gracie will be sure and get some treats with those pokes, right Marjorie?
 
Re: 11/14 Gracie PMPS 322 +1 305

Ele and Sienne....yup...a little of both I think!!

I took some time this afternoon to run badly needed errands and am just getting back to things but have lots to do with kitties tonight so will be brief.

I'm trying something new with Gracie's feeding tonight. At PMPS and +1, I gave her a 1% carb food as she usually gets a spike. And then by +2, if she's going to drop, she has started so I am going to give her a little bit of 4% at +1.5 and +2 to try and control the drop. Yesterday, I gave her 4% for all feedings and her +1 and +2 were higher but her drop was slower. It's interesting to see this +1 as not a food spike. Jill and Ronnie were 100% correct that this is a good number to get so I can see what she's doing with the food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top