11/14 Dasher PMPS 68

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/14 Dasher AMPS 97 +12

wow! :mrgreen:
since you've never shot this low, please test often today. usually we suggest getting a +1 and a +2 when shooting low for the first time.

i'll try to pop in here when i can to see how things are going, but i'm sorry. it won't be often. i have one appointment after another all day. don't hesitate to post for help and use the 911 if you need it. it looks kind of quiet around here today. you can also cross post on Health for help.

here's some resources:
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS --- scroll down to "DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS"
SYMPTOMS OF & HOW TO TREAT HYPOGLYCEMIA - what to do if your kitty experiences a hypoglycemic event
Jojo's HYPO TOOLBOX - what to have on hand in case of an emergency
 
Re: 11/14 Dasher AMPS 97 +12

Robin, I'm around today and will check back in on you to see how it's going.

The number that needs to trigger you to take action is 50 - at that point you need to intervene with some carbs - the first link that Jill gave you has the exact directions. It's a good idea to read it now before you need it so you have an idea of what to do and know where to find the essential information.

Basically you pop open a can of high carb food and give a teaspoon of the gravy part. Or if you don't have high carb food, give a teaspoon of low carb and add a drop or two of karo, honey or maple syrup.

Then post here and ask for help in the subject line of your first post in this thread. You'll have a few minutes to reread the Low Numbers sticky, too.
 
Re: 11/14 Dasher AMPS 97 +12

So Dasher is at 59 +7 . I will check again at the +8 to be sure he's not dropping, +7 seems to be when he hits the lowest . I hadn't planned on having to leave the house today but an emergency came up and I needed to go so I only was able to do the one BG.
At this point am just not sure how much more testing & guessing I can do, I've taken off work for the last 8 days to be here for him but will be going back on Monday. I feel like we're just spinning our wheels.

He's on 0.5 and is having these numbers , is it safe to keep skipping the PM shot? He did get the AM and PM shot yesterday and today the AM at this point.

I have an emergency HC supply on hand if needed .
 
Re: 11/14 Dasher AMPS 97 +12

Robin

When is his PM shot due? The best thing to do is to try and get in a +10, +11 and then the preshot test in. Each time you get a reading post it in this thread but also edit the title of your original thread. So go to the first post in the thread and click edit and then add the new numbers to the title.

In order for people to help you you do need to give them data quickly. So as I said keep posting up dashers numbers and someone will help you decide what to do.

I always test fifteen minutes before my cats shot is due so it gives me time to ask questions here if need be or to stall and retest and then still not be too late to shoot.
 
Re: 11/14 Dasher AMPS 97 +12

Robin-S said:
So Dasher is at 59 +7 . I will check again at the +8 to be sure he's not dropping, +7 seems to be when he hits the lowest . I hadn't planned on having to leave the house today but an emergency came up and I needed to go so I only was able to do the one BG.
At this point am just not sure how much more testing & guessing I can do, I've taken off work for the last 8 days to be here for him but will be going back on Monday. I feel like we're just spinning our wheels.

He's on 0.5 and is having these numbers , is it safe to keep skipping the PM shot? He did get the AM and PM shot yesterday and today the AM at this point.

I have an emergency HC supply on hand if needed .
amps 97 (1u)
+7 59
+8 64


hi robin. happy to hear all is well. i was worried when i saw that preshot number. so far dasher looks good. hard to tell, but if we don't see a bounce i doubt he went too low today. normally, we do some early cycle testing when we shoot preshots that are low to make sure kitty won't drop too low/ have a hypo. nadirs (the lowest point in the cycle) can and do change... especially this early in treatment.

i'm confused to hear you say you feel like "we're just spinning our wheels". dasher is doing great! he's doing fantabulous!!! there are caregivers who have been here months... even years... who would trade places with you in a heartbeat.

what are your goals with dasher? to me it looks like he's responding so well that at this point in time it looks like you probably have a better than average chance of dasher becoming diet controlled... go into remission.

if remission is your goal, the steps are to basically stabilize him on each dose and then gradually wean him off insulin. check out Phases 3, 4, & 5 on this page: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm. if you have any questions, please ask.

let us know how we can help you achieve your goals with dasher.
 
Re: 11/14 Dasher AMPS 97 +12

Jill

Not 1u 0.5u
I guess I was feeling relieved by the new dose of 0.5u and thought I wouldn't have the worrie anout hypo. I am greatful that Dasher is responding so well and yes, remission is my goal. I just thought I could let my guard down a little. I have to go back to work on Monday so I can't be home to watch over him and am worried that something might happen. I had taken my vacation to stay home with him plus three days of no pay and can't take much more time off.
According to the artical I should probably stick with the dose?

I'm sorry if it sound like I'm complaining , that's not it . I'm just worried about Monday and not being here for him.
 
Re: 11/14 Dasher AMPS 97 +12

Robin-S said:
Jill
I guess I was feeling relieved by the new dose of 0.5u and thought I wouldn't have the worrie anout hypo. I am greatful that Dasher is responding so well and yes, remission is my goal. I just thought I could let my guard down a little. I have to go back to work on Monday so I can't be home to watch over him and am worried that something might happen. I had taken my vacation to stay home with him plus three days of no pay and can't take much more time off.
I'm pretty sure he will skip tonight's dose if his number isn't at least 150 , should I try and lower his dose to 0.25 for the morning so I might be able to get him on am & pm shots.

I'm sorry if it sound like I'm complaining , that's not it . I'm just worried about Monday and not being here for him.
well, to hopefully guide him into remission the short of it is you'll want to stabilize him for about a week on each dose while taking him down the dosing scale. i'm not gonna paint in in all hearts and flowers. getting a cat OTJ is work. some days more than others, but the reward is awesome!

ideally, you want to give a shot every 12 hours. here in the TR group we shoot lantus at a BG number as low as 50 when you're available to monitor and are prepared to steer the numbers with HC if you need to, but you work your way into shooting low. today you shot a 97. gradually lower that low shoot number. collect data so you know how dasher is responding. unless dasher tells us he's done with this dose (drops below 50) you can stick with the same dose. come sunday night, you'll have obtained more data. you can use that data to decide if the dose should be lowered for when you'll be at work.

ps --- it doesn't sound like you're complaining. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/14 Dasher AMPS 97 +12

So I guess I'll go ahead with the 0.5 and set my alarm for the +4 & +6 to get up and test him. He sleeps right next to me most nights so it should be ok .

I'm still scratching my head as to what the vet wanted me to do...give 3u twice a day and bring him in at the two week mark for a curve. I'm thinking my Dasher wouldn't be here today, although the lady down the street started the month before me doing the 3u twice a day and hasn't taken her cat back and does not home test at all...her kitty is doing ok from what she told me.
 
Ok so he's at 68 and that just too low to shoot don't you think.
should I lower it tomorrow to 0.25U in hopes to get the twice a day shot?
this is what I was talking about when I said I feel like I'm spinning....very confused here.
 
did you shoot the 68?

The reason we suggest testing at +1 and +2 when you shoot a low number is so you can get an idea of how the cycle is going to go. If he is rising or staying nice and steady, you may not have to get up in the middle of the night. If he's dropping fast already by +2, then you'll want to get that drop under control before you call it a night.
 
you know, I'm not very comfortable having you shoot this number tonight. You would have to stay up and test for hours and I wouldn't be able to stay up with you tonight. If I were you I would skip this one. Honestly I don't think it will affect Dasher's progress much at all - he seems to be on a mission.

If he is high enough to shoot in the morning, I would reduce to 0.25u. I know you said your syringes don't have half unit markings, but try to find something a little more than zero but less than 0.5u.

Here is a picture of what that looks like in a syringe with half unit markings:

025unit-1.jpg


Trust me, this is a GOOD thing. He's doing awesome.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
you know, I'm not very comfortable having you shoot this number tonight. You would have to stay up and test for hours and I wouldn't be able to stay up with you tonight. If I were you I would skip this one. Honestly I don't think it will affect Dasher's progress much at all - he seems to be on a mission.

If he is high enough to shoot in the morning, I would reduce to 0.25u. I know you said your syringes don't have half unit markings, but try to find something a little more than zero but less than 0.5u.

Here is a picture of what that looks like in a syringe with half unit markings:

025unit-1.jpg


Trust me, this is a GOOD thing. He's doing awesome.
I agree totally. I did get the syringes with the half marks....thank goodness .
Ok good night ladies , thank you!

Lol Dasher is on a mission !
 
Robin-S said:
I agree totally. I did get the syringes with the half marks....thank goodness .
Ok good night ladies , thank you!
That's even better. Good night, get some rest. Post here if you have any questions in the morning. I won't be around tomorrow, but there are lots of others who can help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top