11/13 Shadow B +6=131 PMPS 181, +3.25=176, +6=113

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's CONDO

AMPS 144, +3.25=124, +6=131
PMPS 181, +3.25=176, +6=113


Fed 20cc Wellness Core just after AMPS, +1, +3.5, +4.25, 5cc @ +9
Fed 20cc Wellness Core just after PMPS, +1, +3.25, +4, 5cc @=9

Yesterday's values:
AMPS 156, +3=122, +6=112
PMPS 156, +3=127m +6=111


He's acting fine, but these numbers aren't budging. And today's +6 actually went up! What's going on here? Should we consider bumping it up just a bit more? His new antibiotics are on the way and we are hoping that this helps get his colitis under control. I'm sure it's affecting his values. What do you pros think? Boost it just a little to see if we can get some greens or hold this dose for a few more cycles?
 
Re: 11/13 Shadow B AMPS 144, +3.25=124

I see Shadow is holding steady in those blues. I hope he gives you some green soon. I hope he's feeling better.
 
Re: 11/13 Shadow B AMPS 144, +3.25=124, +6=131 Dose advice

I wouldn't worry about the +6 number - he's basically been flat all day - that's only 7 points up from +3.

Yes, I agree with you - I think you have room to increase the dose. Sometimes the skootching up in dose doesn't work as well as increases of 0.25. I'd probably go with the 0.25u increase, but it's up to you. Decreasing the dose in little increments often works very well, but sometimes it just seems like a cat needs a little bit of a bigger boost to get on top of numbers. He is pretty close to good numbers, though, so i understand why you went with a 0.1u increase last time.

I would wait for the recommended (below) 6 -10 cycles on the 0.2u though, before you increase, just in case he settles into this dose. Overall his numbers look good enough I don't think there's any reason not to wait.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

I hope the new meds help his gut.
 
Re: 11/13 Shadow B AMPS 144, +3.25=124, +6=131 Dose advice

Thanks for the advice, Julie! I'll hold out for 3 more cycles and then bump him up to 0.50u? (Or would it be 0.55u?) I was really hoping that nudging him up a bit would bring those numbers back in line, but it didn't work this time. The poor guy just has too much going on. At least he was begging for breakfast, this AM. It worries me when he doesn't do that. ;-)
 
Re: 11/13 Shadow B AMPS 144, +3.25=124, +6=131 Dose advice

a 0.25u increase would be to 0.45u. I wouldn't go more than that - you'll have to eyeball the syringe and do the best you can at that amount.

i know what you mean - as long as everyone's eating you know they're basically ok. it's scary when a kitty loses his/her appy! Yay for Shadow being hungry!
 
Re: 11/13 Shadow B AMPS 144, +3.25=124, +6=131 Dose advice

Gah! I knew that... my fingers had other ideas. I can do basic addition. REALLY! lol
 
Re: 11/13 Shadow B AMPS 144, +3.25=124, +6=131 Dose advice

i didn't think otherwise! :lol: just figured you were rounding to make it easy to measure.
 
Re: 11/13 Shadow B +3.25=124, +6=131 PMPS 181, +3.25=176

His numbers are even higher tonight, but this makes 6 cycles. I may just bump him up in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top