I hope Nico comes down gently today!! Good luck with the new dose!Oh my gosh! What is wrong with my cat?!? He keeps going back to black.
Moving to 3.5u today.![]()
Will do & thanks!Get a test somewhere from +5-+6, then if still high you can stop.
Thanks, I hope so too.Ouch! I hope Nico slides down safely for you and ditches those gross numbers for good!![]()
Oh trust me, I can relate. My guy doesn't need that many units but we've been struggling for so long and I'm so often feeling like "When's our turn?" I don't have any advice for you, but you're not alone.Thanks, I hope so too.
I just feel like giving up, but know for his sake I can't.Won't lie, I feel envy when I see everyone else's condos.
But I did see an old thread where a lady had a ss from 2023/2024. I think she had a cat up to 11 or 13 units! In the 2nd year, the cat gradually went to 0.5 unit and in the greens. The nothing. Not sure if the cat passed it went into remission as the chart just ended. But guess mine isn't the only giving trouble.
Thank you. You wouldn't believe how much even words of encouragement give us a perk up. Much appreciated.The beginning is the worst when you're searching for that goldilock's dose. Come on down, Nico!
Donโt give up weโve all been there. It will get better and you will see Nico make progress.Thank you. You wouldn't believe how much even words of encouragement give us a perk up. Much appreciated.
Can you tell me the cat's name? I tend to keep an eye on the higher dose cats.But I did see an old thread where a lady had a ss from 2023/2024. I think she had a cat up to 11 or 13 units! In the 2nd year, the cat gradually went to 0.5 unit and in the greens.
The opposite. Sounds like he's feeling better? It's not unusual to see them start to feel better as the dose gets closer to a good one.Should I worry about this sudden change?
I could not remember the poster or cat's name, though I looked through a good dozen old threads. I think I was looking at threads regarding pet meters. And I know the person switched from PZ to Lantus, and had a bunch of notes at the top, but not what they were about.:/ Sorry.Can you tell me the cat's name? I tend to keep an eye on the higher dose cats.
Not saying Nico is going to be a high dose cat. I've seen plenty of cats have difficult starts with high numbers, then finally hit that fitting dose that moves them.
The opposite. Sounds like he's feeling better? It's not unusual to see them start to feel better as the dose gets closer to a good one.
Help! Can this be right? He's never had a number this low. It's been between 3.5-3.75hrs after his shot. Do I need to stay up to check him later, or is it safe to let us both sleep? Don't want anything bad happening. My insert for the pet meter says 79-120 is average/good numbers.Yes, feeling better can be a hint you are on the right path. Plus, you've just started this dose, let's see what happens as the depot builds.
There was quite a bit of blood with this prick, so wasn't that. I wanted to do it again, but I'd stopped the blood by the time it registered. I'll stay up another hour & retest.Oh my!Test again if you aren't certain. Sometimes too little blood means you get a lower number than it should be. Depends on that retest, if it is true, then you definitely need to test again in an hour.
Too late! I was thinking.... Can't I even enjoy this lovely number? 10min till I test again. Read through the above link again, but didn't see if and when it's safe to go to sleep if he doesn't dip down to hypo. How do I know it's safe to go to bed if he stays there or does a little more, but not bad?Look at that cute little blue sitting out there!! Yay, Nico! Way to work it little guy! Now keep it nice and safe, and do not freak out your mama.
Way to go Nico!Help! Can this be right? He's never had a number this low. It's been between 3.5-3.75hrs after his shot. Do I need to stay up to check him later, or is it safe to let us both sleep? Don't want anything bad happening. My insert for the pet meter says 79-120 is average/good numbers.
Two consecutive tests with flat or rising numbers, without influence of carbs. Or if he skyrockets.
Thanks! I am EVER so happy I didn't take that nighttime cold medicine I brought back to my room.If it where me and Blue and considering you're on a new dose and first time into blues, I would test again in an hour and if he was at the same or higher value as the previous test, I'd go to sleep probably.
Meanwhile, enjoy another blue, Nico surely does!
Wooh! Can't wait.This could mean nutty numbers tomorrow, so donโt be disappointed if that happens. If so, heโs probably just bouncing from the lower numbers that his body is not used to. Here is a definition of bouncing:
โBouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).โ
Thank you & good night.That spreadsheet looks so much nicer now with blues! Did you give him a little bit more to eat? You can encourage steady numbers with a couple tsps of his regular low carb food.
Tomorrow you give 3.5 units again, unless he goes under 68 tonight. If he's under 68, you don't shoot. There are several options if you see a lower preshot than expected or what you are used to, and another Sticky Note for that too. Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
Not sure how much longer I'll be up, but tagging one of our night owls if you need help later. @Bandit's Mom