11/13 Nico NEW dose amps- HI, +2- 546, +5- 437, pmps- 395

Tyleete

Active Member
Oh my gosh! What is wrong with my cat?!? He keeps going back to black.๐Ÿ˜ญ
Moving to 3.5u today. :(
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251113_105511668_AE.jpg
    IMG_20251113_105511668_AE.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 14
Ouch! I hope Nico slides down safely for you and ditches those gross numbers for good! ๐Ÿ–ค๐Ÿ’œ
Thanks, I hope so too.
I just feel like giving up, but know for his sake I can't.:( Won't lie, I feel envy when I see everyone else's condos.
But I did see an old thread where a lady had a ss from 2023/2024. I think she had a cat up to 11 or 13 units! In the 2nd year, the cat gradually went to 0.5 unit and in the greens. The nothing. Not sure if the cat passed it went into remission as the chart just ended. But guess mine isn't the only giving trouble.
 
Thanks, I hope so too.
I just feel like giving up, but know for his sake I can't.:( Won't lie, I feel envy when I see everyone else's condos.
But I did see an old thread where a lady had a ss from 2023/2024. I think she had a cat up to 11 or 13 units! In the 2nd year, the cat gradually went to 0.5 unit and in the greens. The nothing. Not sure if the cat passed it went into remission as the chart just ended. But guess mine isn't the only giving trouble.
Oh trust me, I can relate. My guy doesn't need that many units but we've been struggling for so long and I'm so often feeling like "When's our turn?" I don't have any advice for you, but you're not alone. ๐Ÿซ‚
 
I echo Mary and Staciโ€™s message. The beginning is hard. I had to be reminded many times that managing FD is a marathon and not a race and to keep my patience pants near. You just havenโ€™t found the right dose for Nico yet. Hang in there, it takes time. You are doing great!
 
Thank you both.๐Ÿฅฐ
I'm wondering on something.
Typical Nico stays in my bedroom area. He used to run around the whole house, but ever since he was diagnosed, he stays in there.
Would an increase make him act different? Sometimes he'll come out twice a day & be out for up to 10/15 minutes before wanting to go back. I have to leave my room closed up due to another asthmatic that lives in there.
Anyhow! He has been out here in the living room almost the entire day with me.
I'll stay in my room for the first 5 hours to watch over him, then spend time out in the rest of the house for a couple hours before usually going back to him. But he's decided to remain out here since about noon. Only going back to eat and testing/meds. Like most cats, he's sleeping most the day. But wakes up regularly.
Should I worry about this sudden change?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251113_202904052_AE.jpg
    IMG_20251113_202904052_AE.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 12
  • IMG_20251113_201429023_AE.jpg
    IMG_20251113_201429023_AE.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 14
But I did see an old thread where a lady had a ss from 2023/2024. I think she had a cat up to 11 or 13 units! In the 2nd year, the cat gradually went to 0.5 unit and in the greens.
Can you tell me the cat's name? I tend to keep an eye on the higher dose cats.

Not saying Nico is going to be a high dose cat. I've seen plenty of cats have difficult starts with high numbers, then finally hit that fitting dose that moves them.

Should I worry about this sudden change?
The opposite. Sounds like he's feeling better? It's not unusual to see them start to feel better as the dose gets closer to a good one.
 
Can you tell me the cat's name? I tend to keep an eye on the higher dose cats.

Not saying Nico is going to be a high dose cat. I've seen plenty of cats have difficult starts with high numbers, then finally hit that fitting dose that moves them.


The opposite. Sounds like he's feeling better? It's not unusual to see them start to feel better as the dose gets closer to a good one.
I could not remember the poster or cat's name, though I looked through a good dozen old threads. I think I was looking at threads regarding pet meters. And I know the person switched from PZ to Lantus, and had a bunch of notes at the top, but not what they were about.:/ Sorry.
As for him feeling better, would he feel better even though his numbers stink?
 
Yes, feeling better can be a hint you are on the right path. Plus, you've just started this dose, let's see what happens as the depot builds.
 
Yes, feeling better can be a hint you are on the right path. Plus, you've just started this dose, let's see what happens as the depot builds.
Help! Can this be right? He's never had a number this low. It's been between 3.5-3.75hrs after his shot. Do I need to stay up to check him later, or is it safe to let us both sleep? Don't want anything bad happening. My insert for the pet meter says 79-120 is average/good numbers.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251113_224203278_AE.jpg
    IMG_20251113_224203278_AE.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 12
Oh my! :cool: Test again if you aren't certain. Sometimes too little blood means you get a lower number than it should be. Depends on that retest, if it is true, then you definitely need to test again in an hour.
 
Oh my! :cool: Test again if you aren't certain. Sometimes too little blood means you get a lower number than it should be. Depends on that retest, if it is true, then you definitely need to test again in an hour.
There was quite a bit of blood with this prick, so wasn't that. I wanted to do it again, but I'd stopped the blood by the time it registered. I'll stay up another hour & retest.
Figuring you won't be up, can you give me scenarios? What might happen? I've read the hypo stuff. I think I read if it drops to 70 pet meter, give the wet food with calories. A whole can though, or partial? And if it keeps dropping to test every 15, and give carb food each time? Not positive on that there.
If I test him in an hour and it's still going down, but not 70, keep testing every hour? At what number can I finally go to bed and feel it's safe?
Thank you!
 
I'm read it over again and I've got my hypo toolkit reach with all of that since I read about it a couple weeks ago.
 
Look at that cute little blue sitting out there!! Yay, Nico! Way to work it little guy! Now keep it nice and safe, and do not freak out your mama.
 
Look at that cute little blue sitting out there!! Yay, Nico! Way to work it little guy! Now keep it nice and safe, and do not freak out your mama.
Too late! I was thinking.... Can't I even enjoy this lovely number? 10min till I test again. Read through the above link again, but didn't see if and when it's safe to go to sleep if he doesn't dip down to hypo. How do I know it's safe to go to bed if he stays there or does a little more, but not bad? ๐Ÿ˜ฌ
 
Help! Can this be right? He's never had a number this low. It's been between 3.5-3.75hrs after his shot. Do I need to stay up to check him later, or is it safe to let us both sleep? Don't want anything bad happening. My insert for the pet meter says 79-120 is average/good numbers.
Way to go Nico!
 
Two consecutive tests with flat or rising numbers, without influence of carbs. Or if he skyrockets.

Is that 2 consecutive tests after the 158? Or would that 158 be one of 2?
It's 119. Does that mean I test in another hour or shorter time? And again, if the next number is at least the 119, it's that 2?๐Ÿ˜ฌ
 
If it where me and Blue and considering you're on a new dose and first time into blues, I would test again in an hour and if he was at the same or higher value as the previous test, I'd go to sleep probably.
Meanwhile, enjoy another blue, Nico surely does!
 
If it where me and Blue and considering you're on a new dose and first time into blues, I would test again in an hour and if he was at the same or higher value as the previous test, I'd go to sleep probably.
Meanwhile, enjoy another blue, Nico surely does!
Thanks! I am EVER so happy I didn't take that nighttime cold medicine I brought back to my room.๐Ÿ˜… I will check in another hour and hopefully it's at least flat.
Man I hope this doesn't mean nutty numbers tomorrow. Like back in the black.
So for tomorrow, do I give the 3.5u again? Is there a number where I DON'T give any, or should cut back some? I mean, it's highly unlikely, but if he's at 100-120 tomorrow, do I shoot like normal with the 3.5?
Thanks!
 
That spreadsheet looks so much nicer now with blues! Did you give him a little bit more to eat? You can encourage steady numbers with a couple tsps of his regular low carb food.

Tomorrow you give 3.5 units again, unless he goes under 68 tonight. If he's under 68, you don't shoot. There are several options if you see a lower preshot than expected or what you are used to, and another Sticky Note for that too. Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

Not sure how much longer I'll be up, but tagging one of our night owls if you need help later. @Bandit's Mom
 
This could mean nutty numbers tomorrow, so donโ€™t be disappointed if that happens. If so, heโ€™s probably just bouncing from the lower numbers that his body is not used to. Here is a definition of bouncing:

โ€œBouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).โ€
 
This could mean nutty numbers tomorrow, so donโ€™t be disappointed if that happens. If so, heโ€™s probably just bouncing from the lower numbers that his body is not used to. Here is a definition of bouncing:

โ€œBouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).โ€
Wooh! Can't wait. ๐Ÿ˜…
That spreadsheet looks so much nicer now with blues! Did you give him a little bit more to eat? You can encourage steady numbers with a couple tsps of his regular low carb food.

Tomorrow you give 3.5 units again, unless he goes under 68 tonight. If he's under 68, you don't shoot. There are several options if you see a lower preshot than expected or what you are used to, and another Sticky Note for that too. Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

Not sure how much longer I'll be up, but tagging one of our night owls if you need help later. @Bandit's Mom
Thank you & good night.
I fed him just now some pork and he's super thrilled about getting an extra serving. He's happily purring next to me now.
 
Back
Top