Hi Jill, Yes I'm just now seeing your post, so sorry, I did already shoot a 1 unit.
Jill & Alex said:
the last entry on ebby's ss is AM+4. what happened the rest of the day?
I don't have the tests to confirm it, but I'm pretty confident she stayed flat yellow. Ebby gets a lot of momentum from +1 to +5 and then she tends to stop dropping at which she either stays flat or skyrockets after +10. I have yet to get a spot check that shows a nadir after +6. Because of this, I feel pretty confident that if she is in the yellows or pinks at +4 I can take a little break from testing. Now, she MIGHT of hit a blue, but I really doubt she in any way came close to below 50, and I even doubt she got below 200.
Jill & Alex said:
the reason why i'm asking is so far the numbers pretty much confirm having given two PM shots on 11/09.
I guess I don't totally see this but am open to an explanation. All I see is pretty flat yellow with her typical red and black preshots. Are you referring to the flat yellow indicating the double dose, or the high preshots? I kind of see the opposite, that the numbers confirm NOT having given two PM shots. Now, I might be more convinced of an overdose had I seen a red or black directly following the possible double dose, but the next two preshots after the evening of 11/09 were flat yellow.
Jill & Alex said:
sometimes the numbers will shoot up high, but towards the end of the cycle they'll start to drop dramatically and you'll see extended duration
I guess this could have happened. I don't have tests that late in the cycle to show either way. I was told there was a possibility of extended duration but I didn't understand this to mean she would come up and back down later in the cycle. I wish I had gotten some spot checks if that were the case, but I didn't interpret extended duration to mean a later nadir, rather just "extended duration" after the nadir....so this is good to know.
Jill & Alex said:
the "extra" insulin can simply push the numbers up resulting in a non-event (too much insulin causes high numbers)
Just curious on how this happens. So say she did get extra insulin on 11/09.... I give her the shot....a double dose is now in her system....but she shows very little drop from the insulin. How then would her body know she had too much insulin if there was never a drop in BG to indicate to her body she had too much? Maybe this is getting to complex but just can't quite wrap my mind around that. Without a drop in BG what exactly would trigger counterregulatory hormones?
Jill & Alex said:
protocol does not apply when the unusual circumstances aren't part of the protocol. it's better to err on the side of caution. these are the reasons both libby and i felt it was best to see if the high numbers cleared out on their own.
I hope you don't think I was disregarding any advice you and Libby gave me to hold off on the increase. In my mind I held off for two more cycles (last night and this morning) and she was still not doing well. I was told to wait on increasing but it was a little unclear how long I should wait and so I posted the question about increasing tonight. I guess I thought since I didn't get a no it was ok. I can't tell who has read the post or not so thought maybe you or Libby had seen it. Maybe I should have PM you to clarify yesterday's advice to hold, so sorry about that. But tonight would have been 72 hours since the possible double dose. She has been sitting flat and high, and she is not doing well. She obviously feels lousy and looks lousy. These are the reasons I felt ok with going ahead with the increase.
So talking about overdose:
It's a little weird to me that flat yellows would indicate an overdose, but yet Ebby's everyday typical patterns don't (supposedly) indicate overdose. On Ebby's second cycle of Lantus she hit 56 at +5 on .50 units. On a lot of days she can drop well over 50% by +3. And she's bouncing all the time. All of these things have made me wonder if I've been overdosing her this whole time. And I've read and read about bouncing and understand the concept, so I do what I've been doing and follow the protocol, and refrain from re-bound checks, but I still worry that she's been overdosed the entire time.
Jill & Alex said:
please monitor carefully over the next few cycles if you've increased the dose tonight. ebby can be quite the drama queen. she's demonstrated the ability to drop 200 - 300 points in the first few hours after her shot (even when her preshot number is in the 500s).
Thanks Jill, I appreciate your feedback and concern. I'll monitor closely....except sometimes those spot checks at +8 or +9 are just not possible. Like tonight...I will have to go to bed once Ebby reaches her typical nadir. I am almost always sleep deprived and at some point have to trust Ebby will be ok. :roll: