? 11/11 Ming PMPS = 146, +4=358, NS number or reduced dose for family members?

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-10-ming-pmps-344-2-274-4-239.206285/

+6 PM = 229

Sorry to make a post so close to my old one but it's a new day!

To recap: Dose was increased to 6.25 units. Ming stayed under 370 for most of the day! Yay!

I'm starting day shifts now and so my mom or my sister will have to give Ming one of his doses each day while I'm at work. I've drafted up some instructions and will be holding an info-session with them tonight :joyful:

I would be ETERNALLY grateful and SO APPRECIATIVE if someone read through his "manual" and let me know what I've gotten wrong or what I should change/add.

The biggest thing I need to know is what if we need to shoot Ming and his PS number is low, but no one can monitor him past his shot time? What are our options? A reduced dose? Feed higher carb food? I put in "DON'T GIVE INSULIN IF UNDER 65!" but I don't know if that's true or not for Ming and what we should even do if it happens.

I also tried my best to come up with shootable/guideline BG numbers. For example, I'm not sure when we should start guiding him with food. I chose under 90 just because it's not too low and not too high. Let me know if there's a better number. We just don't have enough data, I guess.

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE! I've attached it as a PDF.

Edit: also I realized some of the readings are still in World but the most important numbers I've converted. Sorry!
 

Attachments

It is definitely a good idea to give guidelines that are specific to Ming, and I will let the experts on this board comment on the dosing information as I am not knowledgable enough to do so. I would suggest printing out the TR guideline and hypo stickies and adding those to the end of your document so that they have more reference materials should they be unable to reach you.
Good luck with the day shifts :)
 
From personal experience, keep the alarms far away enough that you have to get up in order to snooze them. I've messed up on that sooo many times.:eek:

I set up multiple alarms on my phone and I missed ALL 6 OF THEM lol!!! I probably need a different noise but yes, I will definitely go and put my extra alarm clocks out of arms reach :)
 
Did I read the PDF too fast? It doesn't say how much insulin to give based on meter readings. Stress how important it is Ming eats (any other animals in the house that might eat Ming's food?) and that he eats all or most of the food. If you lower the insulin dose it's easier to deal with higher numbers later than a HYPO episode when Ming is in another room and no one is there to see it.
check that tells everyone else insulin was given.
I've seen a double dose happen before. Don't rely on word of mouth, paste something to the side of the fridge that is idiot proof.
 
Did I read the PDF too fast? It doesn't say how much insulin to give based on meter readings.

Yes, that's what I need help with. I'm not sure how much insulin to give if say, no one can monitor him after dose. If we give a reduced dose or completely skip it, etc.

I've seen a double dose happen before. Don't rely on word of mouth, paste something to the side of the fridge that is idiot proof.

Definitely!! We have this little manual tab thingie that you press to say you "fed" the dog but we've been using it to tell each other we gave insulin.
 
I never published Noah's spreadsheet, it was done in Excel and he was a Caninsulin bouncer so I'm useless with dosing advice. It seems slow here today, less than 100 people logged on at some times. Bump this thread if you have to and you'll get better help.
 
I never published Noah's spreadsheet, it was done in Excel and he was a Caninsulin bouncer so I'm useless with dosing advice. It seems slow here today, less than 100 people logged on at some times. Bump this thread if you have to and you'll get better help.

No problem!! Thank you though :) It’s not too urgent at this point. I believe when I get back to work tomorow, my mom has the ability to monitor after a shot. This is just more for the further future.
 
+11 = 146

Cool cool cool. Let’s not get too dramatic before your shot, Ming :)

I was just thinking... why did he get so low all of a sudden on 11/9? Was it just him being a cat or his pancreas decided to work?
 
Back
Top