11/11/20 - Squeaky! PMPS 600+ AMPS 373 +7=235 PMPS=82 +.5=70 +1.5=73

Hi Jan, if he is not eating, I would be worried to shoot. Can you test in 20 minutes without feeding and see where he is?
With TR you can shoot any number over 50 provided kitty will eat and you can monitor.

Why is he not eating?
 
Yes I will retest, someone advised to re-test in an hour..... not sure about timing. Not sure why he is not eating. Perhaps all the bouncing? So extreme, I think he is not feeling very well.
 
I see from the notes on his SS that he didn't eat much in the AM yesterday - did he eat alright in the PM (yesterday)?

I think he ate all right yesterday. I started giving him the B12 in his morning food. I think he didn't like it. However this afternoon I gave him all clean food and he didn't touch it, just some treats.

He's been asking to go out on the porch, I wonder if he is nauseus. Sometimes he likes to go out and eat grass and vomit. Oh, yes, that is what he did yesterday. Went outside and ate grass and then came in and vomited.
 
He will continue to drop w/o food. Please feed him. If he eats well, we can take a call on the shot.

Okay, he ate about 10 or more pieces of pan-seared pork delivered one piece at a time to his mouth. LOL.

So what to do?

I could cook some more food and see if he will eat it.

Our other options are to test again in 20 minutes? Give a token shot?
 
Last edited:
Do you think he will eat more if needed to keep him up?

@tiffmaxee full dose, BCS or skip?


DO I think he will eat more? Hard to say. He likes the pan seared pork. However I don't really have any secret weapon foods to give him tonight. I am going to have to go buy some other novel foods. He turned his nose up at all of them.

Wait I also have the beef liver/heart. He might eat some of that.

So it's probable but you know cats.
 
Can you syringe feed him if necessary?

Well I only have chicken and turkey baby food. Poultry is not a good food for him, he's allergic to it and it aggravages his IBD, but I save it for desperate situations. I need to get some beef.

Actually I could take some beef that I home canned and run it through my baby food mill if needed. Or some cooked pork.

I am sure he will not be thrilled.
 
Any food does not contain salt or sugar. Look at the label.

I just did look. Ingredients are what I said. It contains 35mg salt but no added salt. 2g carbs and that’s from the cornstarch.
 
That’s correct. If you aren’t comfortable with this you can skip. It’s up to you.

Well problem with skipping is then he will have a huge bounce, right?

If I shoot that will help level him off, right?

He's been bouncing all over the place, anything I can do that will help even him out....
 
Aren’t they all?

Elise, shot accomplished. Will test in an hour. I have a few questions.

So we are 1-1/2 hours later than the scheduled 7:45 shot. Shooting at 9:15. So do I start tomorrow morning shooting him at 9:15?

Also we are almost at the end of the first insulin pen. I have read that the insulin is a bit less effective. So when I start a new pen should I lower his dose by .25?

Anything I need to know about when to stop using the pen? I gather, when I don't see enough liquid going into the syringe?
 
You can shoot 15 minutes early each cycle to get back on track or 30 minutes every 24 hours. So you can shoot at 9:00 in the morning. The pens don’t lose their potency. I would not reduce the dose. I used each pen to the last drop. If you can’t get a full dose then you would throw it out.
 
You can shoot 15 minutes early each cycle to get back on track or 30 minutes every 24 hours. So you can shoot at 9:00 in the morning. The pens don’t lose their potency. I would not reduce the dose. I used each pen to the last drop. If you can’t get a full dose then you would throw it out.

Great advice. Thanks so much and BIG HUGS and MANY THANKS for coaching us through this! Still learning and appreciating the guidance.
 
You can shoot 15 minutes early each cycle to get back on track or 30 minutes every 24 hours. So you can shoot at 9:00 in the morning. The pens don’t lose their potency. I would not reduce the dose. I used each pen to the last drop. If you can’t get a full dose then you would throw it out.
@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee

1 hour later, after his 1.5 shot, he's 103. Feed and go to sleep?
 
Back
Top