11/11/20 - Squeaky! PMPS 600+ AMPS 373 +7=235 PMPS=82 +.5=70 +1.5=73

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jan D & Squeaky, Nov 11, 2020.

  1. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Bounce be gone!
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I hope Squeaky clears the bounce soon.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  4. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thanks for looking after us you two! It means a lot!
     
  5. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Jan, if he is not eating, I would be worried to shoot. Can you test in 20 minutes without feeding and see where he is?
    With TR you can shoot any number over 50 provided kitty will eat and you can monitor.

    Why is he not eating?
     
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I see from the notes on his SS that he didn't eat much in the AM yesterday - did he eat alright in the PM (yesterday)?
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  8. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Yes I will retest, someone advised to re-test in an hour..... not sure about timing. Not sure why he is not eating. Perhaps all the bouncing? So extreme, I think he is not feeling very well.
     
  9. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    I think he ate all right yesterday. I started giving him the B12 in his morning food. I think he didn't like it. However this afternoon I gave him all clean food and he didn't touch it, just some treats.

    He's been asking to go out on the porch, I wonder if he is nauseus. Sometimes he likes to go out and eat grass and vomit. Oh, yes, that is what he did yesterday. Went outside and ate grass and then came in and vomited.
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did he eat any new food that might have aggravated his IBD? We usually say retest in 20. He might go lower since he hasn’t eaten.
     
    Bandit's Mom and Jan D & Squeaky like this.
  11. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    YES the methyl B12 with folic acid. He is at 70 right now, I am preparing his food.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He will continue to drop w/o food. Please feed him. If he eats well, we can take a call on the shot.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  13. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Okay, he ate about 10 or more pieces of pan-seared pork delivered one piece at a time to his mouth. LOL.

    So what to do?

    I could cook some more food and see if he will eat it.

    Our other options are to test again in 20 minutes? Give a token shot?
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2020
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Do you think he will eat more if needed to keep him up?

    @tiffmaxee full dose, BCS or skip?
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    With his appy poor at best and the PMPS I would give a BCS dose.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  16. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020

    DO I think he will eat more? Hard to say. He likes the pan seared pork. However I don't really have any secret weapon foods to give him tonight. I am going to have to go buy some other novel foods. He turned his nose up at all of them.

    Wait I also have the beef liver/heart. He might eat some of that.

    So it's probable but you know cats.
     
  17. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thanks what is a BCS dose?
     
  18. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    BCS Dose - big chicken sh*t dose. Basically a token dose.
     
    thebigfuzz and Jan D & Squeaky like this.
  19. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Sounds like me. How about 1.5 units? About half?
     
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s a token dose. That would be 1.5.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We cross posted.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Can you syringe feed him if necessary?
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  23. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Okay so now this shot will be almost an hour late. Then I need to test in another hour right?

    He's asleep now I will have to wake him.
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes, I would test in an hour. Since you need to wake him see if there’s any interest in food. Can you be off schedule tomorrow morning?
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  25. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Well I only have chicken and turkey baby food. Poultry is not a good food for him, he's allergic to it and it aggravages his IBD, but I save it for desperate situations. I need to get some beef.

    Actually I could take some beef that I home canned and run it through my baby food mill if needed. Or some cooked pork.

    I am sure he will not be thrilled.
     
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Get some ham baby food too. My cats always like it. You would only need to syringe if he won’t eat and he starts to get low.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  27. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Yes I dont have a schedule for tomorrow.
     
  28. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    He did have some ham baby food in the last few days. However I'm not sure what they put in the ham. Makes me nervous.

    Why isn't it just "pork"?
     
  29. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    So to be clear. It is now 40 minutes since the last test. I need to test him again, shoot a token dose if all looks well, then feed. Re-test in an hour. Is this right?
     
  30. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Gerbers? It’s only ham with a little cornstarch.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  31. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    But what is "ham" exactly? Usually it is a preparation with sugar and salt.

    Why isn't it "pork."?
     
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Any food does not contain salt or sugar. Look at the label.

    I just did look. Ingredients are what I said. It contains 35mg salt but no added salt. 2g carbs and that’s from the cornstarch.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  33. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    So to be clear. It is now 45 minutes since the last test. I need to wake him, test him again, shoot a token dose if all looks well, then feed. Re-test in an hour. Is this right?
     
  34. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That’s correct. If you aren’t comfortable with this you can skip. It’s up to you.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  35. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Great, I can live with that!!!
    Ham it is!
     
  36. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Well problem with skipping is then he will have a huge bounce, right?

    If I shoot that will help level him off, right?

    He's been bouncing all over the place, anything I can do that will help even him out....
     
  37. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Whatever is the best thing I can do for him.
     
  38. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think its best for him to get some insulin. It’s getting later. How about another test? Then feed and shoot.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  39. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Yes. His little head popped up so this is a better time. I will test and let you know what it is.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  40. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    73.... going to feed. Okay to shoot 1.5?
     
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    As long as he eats, yes.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  42. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Sounds good. I'm cooking his pork right now. LOL what a spoiled cat.
     
  43. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Aren’t they all?
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  44. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Okay he ate 20 pieces of pork. More than just a snack. Time for a 1.5 shot.
     
  45. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Elise, shot accomplished. Will test in an hour. I have a few questions.

    So we are 1-1/2 hours later than the scheduled 7:45 shot. Shooting at 9:15. So do I start tomorrow morning shooting him at 9:15?

    Also we are almost at the end of the first insulin pen. I have read that the insulin is a bit less effective. So when I start a new pen should I lower his dose by .25?

    Anything I need to know about when to stop using the pen? I gather, when I don't see enough liquid going into the syringe?
     
  46. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You can shoot 15 minutes early each cycle to get back on track or 30 minutes every 24 hours. So you can shoot at 9:00 in the morning. The pens don’t lose their potency. I would not reduce the dose. I used each pen to the last drop. If you can’t get a full dose then you would throw it out.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  47. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Great advice. Thanks so much and BIG HUGS and MANY THANKS for coaching us through this! Still learning and appreciating the guidance.
     
    thebigfuzz and Bandit's Mom like this.
  48. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee

    1 hour later, after his 1.5 shot, he's 103. Feed and go to sleep?
     
  49. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’d feed and test in an hour. Then if still up go to sleep.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  50. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Thanks!
     
  51. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    He ate well!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  52. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That’s good!
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.
  53. Jan D & Squeaky

    Jan D & Squeaky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    +3 = 243. Bounce time! Good night! Many thanks, Elise!
     
  54. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Saw the last test. Good night. Your welcome.
     
    Jan D & Squeaky likes this.

Share This Page