11/10 PHOENIX SOMEONE PLEASE RESPOND

@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I am fighting again to keep Phoenix's BG up.
At +2.5, I gave Phoenix one half can of fancy feast hc when his BG was 76. I fed another half can of fancy feast hc at +6 BG 60. And now another half can of fancy feast hc at +7.5 BG 57.

Tiffmaxee said to try to feed hc instead of giving Phoenix honey. He has also eaten his breakfast of 1 cup of chicken hearts and liver plus his lunch of three quarters of a cup of chicken hearts. This is a lot of food.

I don't know what to do about his evening insulin injection. At what BG number should I skip? Or should I consider half an insulin dose? Please let me know what I should do. Anyone feel free to respond thank you
 
You can try a combo of hc and honey. The honey acts fast but leaves fast and tge hc stays with him longer. It’s 5 hours until Pmps? One would think with a reduction and skip the depot would drain. Let’s see closer to pmps.
 
Susan, he's still above 50. You've done this before so you got this. Please change the 911 to a "?".
 
You can try a combo of hc and honey. The honey acts fast but leaves fast and tge hc stays with him longer. It’s 5 hours until Pmps? One would think with a reduction and skip the depot would drain. Let’s see closer to pmps.
Ok, thank you, please stay with me. It is 4 hours until PMPS
 
Susan, he's still above 50. You've done this before so you got this. Please change the 911 to a "?".
If you look at Phoenix's spreadsheet, his BG has changed dramatically. He is dropping from the high 400s down to the 50’s and 60's.

I have skipped 2 shots in 2 days and it is still happening. I have not handled situations like this before.

I am very concerned right now and I will do what I feel is best for my cat. I felt the need to put a 911 so my new post would not be overlooked.

How dare you tell me to take the 911 off !!! I will remove it now but I may put it back if I feel the need.

From several of your posts to other people on this forum, I am not the only one you have been snippy with later. Please try to be a little more pleasant and understanding of other people.
 
From https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-fdmb-the-basics.130682/ see post #3, copied here:

Periodically you may need help ASAP! We call those 911's. When you are posting, simply click to add the "911" prefix to your post to get extra attention. The prefix is found on the bar where you type in the title. Please, this is for 911 situations ONLY such as symptomatic hypos, very low numbers (below 30 on a human meter), and/or very sick cats potentially needing ER care. Do not tag questions as 911 that are not.

911's all cause our hearts to stop as we automatically think it's a dire situation. A cat running above 50 is not in need of immediate medical attention.
 
Wendy beat me to it. Let me add the way to handle it if worried and not under 50 is to add the question mark prefix and change your subject to say advice needed now or dosing advice. It’s not that we are being picky, it’s just sometimes it’s really busy or we are busy and scan quickly to see who needs help. Somebody needing more immediate attention who really has a 911 might not get help fast enough.
 
Wendy beat me to it. Let me add the way to handle it if worried and not under 50 is to add the question mark prefix and change your subject to say advice needed now or dosing advice. It’s not that we are being picky, it’s just sometimes it’s really busy or we are busy and scan quickly to see who needs help. Somebody needing more immediate attention who really has a 911 might not get help
@Bandit's Mom

It is now +11.5 and Phoenix's insulin is due in half an hour. His BG is 99. I have had to feed him hc and honey all day to keep his BG up. So far, he has eaten 2 whole cans of fancy feast hc as well as honey.

I really don't feel comfortable giving him his full dose of insulin 9.5 units. Do you think I should skip or give him 4 units and see how he does? Please let me know what you think I should do. Thank you
 
Last edited:
Looks like no one has been able to get back to you yet and it's nearly shot time... if I were in your situation I would probably skip.
 
Looks like no one has been able to get back to you yet and it's nearly shot time... if I were in your situation I would probably skip.
It is 30 minutes past shot time. This is ridiculous! If they don't want you to put 911 in your title, then they should respond. I asked for help 30 minutes before his injection was due. I appreciate you for responding.
 
Back
Top