11/10 Comet AMPS @ 88

Amanda Comet’s Mom

Member Since 2021
Hello,
I have a question.
Comet has been consistently between 80-99 for the last 5 days on .25u.
We decided to keep him on .25u and eliminate his 2.5mg of Pred. I wanted to hold him on this dose and see what his numbers look like a few days after. (I noticed last time we decreased he had dropped around the 3-4 day mark)
What is the plan if a cat is surfing for days? Up insulin? I feel like where he is at is a normal number. I guess I’m just not sure what I should do from here. Advice? Can we just continue with .25u?
 
He's looking good! :-)
He earns a dose reduction if he spends 7 days mostly in normal numbers. You could probably attempt a reduction in dose to 0.10u after a couple of days if he stays in all-green - assuming he doesn't earn a reduction by dropping below 50 before that!

@tiffmaxee
 
He's looking good! :)
He earns a dose reduction if he spends 7 days mostly in normal numbers. You could probably attempt a reduction in dose to 0.10u after a couple of days if he stays in all-green - assuming he doesn't earn a reduction by dropping below 50 before that!

@tiffmaxee
Thank you! I will see where he is at tomorrow morning on day 3 of No pred & do a reduction this weekend. I’m just so proud of him!
 
I don’t think it’s needed. Just being extra cautious. How are the IBD symptoms as you wean off prednisolone?
We tried to remove him off the Clavamox first and wait until his stools were formed again so we would know properly. Going on the 3rd day of No pred & from what I’ve seen they have been mostly solid mixed with a little softer stools. I think it depends on some of the foods we give him too. I notice where the meals separate if that makes sense. We are trying to stay consistent with what he’s eating as well.
 
Back
Top