11/1 Junga PMPS 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

jldnvjld

Member Since 2010
Junga is newly diagnosed.
I have been lurking just a bit in this forum and have a couple of questions:

1. How do you shoot less than half a unit accurately? My syringes have half-unit marks. The box says 3/10 mL

2. What is the sequence for pre-shot testing?
test - food - shot
or
food - test - shot

I have been using the latter, as my vet cautioned me about giving Junga insulin if he refuses to eat.
That said, he doesn't finish his food in "one sitting"; he's sort of a grazer and finishes up his food over several hours.

Most trivial question:
3. How do I print the spreadsheet without printing all 16 blank pages?

J.
 
Hi J. I test, feed, shoot while Shadow is eating. Dose is based on nadir and the test is just to make sure kitty isn't too low for insulin. If I test and she seems too low to shoot, I stall for 15 minutes and retest to make sure her numbers are rising and therefore safe to shoot. There will be others behind me who ask many many questions. Like: what food does Junga eat? What insulin and what dose? Has anyone given you a link to preparing a spreadsheet? I gather you are home-testing - way to go!

I'll go look for those things and brb.

anyway Welcome!!

OK - here is the link to start your spreadsheet. It is a convenient way to keep up with numbers and doses and our advisors will be able to look at it while you do when they discuss Junga with you. viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
 
Kim 'n Shadow said:
There will be others behind me who ask many many questions. Like: what food does Junga eat? What insulin and what dose? Has anyone given you a link to preparing a spreadsheet? I gather you are home-testing - way to go!

I'll go look for those things and brb.

anyway Welcome!!

OK - here is the link to start your spreadsheet. It is a convenient way to keep up with numbers and doses and our advisors will be able to look at it while you do when they discuss Junga with you. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =6&t=18207

I can see the link to my/Junga's spreadsheet in my .signature; is it invisible to you?
Let me know.
 
It's been a while since I've done it, but I believe you can export the spreadsheet as an Excel file (in "File" there is an option to "Download As" text, Excel, PDF, etc.). Then you can select which page(s) you want to print. And/or copy and paste to Word as a table and edit it from there.

MJ&Donovan
 
For doses that are in less than 0.5u, we approximate. If you look in the New to the Group sticky at the top of the Board, you will see photos of syringes with small dose increments.

I test, feed, then shoot. If you feed prior to testing, you risk a food spike especially if you are waiting for a cat that grazes to finish a meal. You could also get fairly far off schedule if you're waiting for you cat to eat prior to shooting.

As far a printing out the SS, I've yet to figure that one out!

Just a question, you shot how much insulin on a PMPS of 115? Generally, we advise someone who's new to not shoot numbers below 150. (See the Data Ready sticky). I'd encourage you to get a +1 and a +2 test to make sure Junga's numbers aren't dropping too low.
 
MJ+Donovan said:
It's been a while since I've done it, but I believe you can export the spreadsheet as an Excel file (in "File" there is an option to "Download As" text, Excel, PDF, etc.). Then you can select which page(s) you want to print. And/or copy and paste to Word as a table and edit it from there.

MJ&Donovan

I'll try pasting it into a word doc; maybe that'll work. Thanks.
 
Morning - I can see it clearly today, maybe the "computer malfeasance" was on my end. After that, you may not want printing advice from me, but...my print sequence allows me to print one page or several pages. Does yours ask you if you want a "Print Preview"? Sometimes from that page, I can request only one page of printing. I have printed ours off to take when we have vet appts.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
For doses that are in less than 0.5u, we approximate.
Thanks. The pictoral helps.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I test, feed, then shoot.
Started the new sequence this morning!

I hope to get better at testing SOON. I still have lots of trouble getting a blood sample (I posted about that in the main forum.) The vet wants me to produce weekly curves at home, since Junga was quite unhappy at the vet's yesterday. Send good thoughts!

J.
 
Kim 'n Shadow said:
my print sequence allows me to print one page or several pages. Does yours ask you if you want a "Print Preview"? Sometimes from that page, I can request only one page of printing. I have printed ours off to take when we have vet appts.

I'll try 'print preview.' Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top