11/1 Clare AMPS 274;PMPS 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Lantus Land Neighbors!

We're sending out lots of hugs, skritches and healing wishes to our kitties and beans who need them today.

Yesterday's Booogying Condo

Today's News:

AMPS 274
+2 390
+4.5 360
+9 316

PMPS 262
Raised dose to 0.75
+1.5 309
+3 297
+4 307

We're starting out in the yellows today and saw some last night, too. Clare was having such a good time at the Halloween party, meeting some new GA friends and catching up with some old ones whom we've missed so much. Thanks to Ella, Rusty and Stu for hosting such a terrific :o :o :o shindig!

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 11/1 Clare AMPS 274

good morning! the kitties report quite the wild party at Ella's place last night! :lol:

I noticed that you've increased Clare by some pretty small increments with the last couple of increases - from a skinny 0.5 to a 0.5 to 0.6. It's often more effective to increase by 0.25u, and give her carbs to keep her over 50 for a while to let the insulin bring down some of those higher numbers she's having. Skootching up doesn't always work. Decreasing by tiny amounts can work, but going up, it just seems like for many cats, you've got to give it a bigger increase to have an impact. If I were you, I'd go ahead and go to 0.75u and try to hold it there for 6 cycles. You don't have to wait to do that, unless you want to wait and see if the 0.6u does what you want.

To explain a little bit more what i'm talking about, with a kitty like Clare when you're seeing good nadirs but lots of higher numbers around it, sometimes it's helpful to increase the dose and then give carbs to prevent her from getting a reduction for a few cycles. As long as it is fairly easy to keep her over 50, ie, you just give a little bit of LC food, or a bite of HC gravy to prevent her from going under 50, you can do that and still keep the dose. If it gets to the point where you're having to intervene for a couple of hours with carbs, or on multiple cycles in a row, then you probably need to go ahead and let her go below 50 and reduce the dose.

Does that make sense? The idea of this strategy is that you want to get as much insulin in her as you safely can to bring down those higher numbers. It can work very nicely, but you don't want to go overboard in not taking a reduction if it's needed and create an overfull depot. But getting a little more insulin in her would likely help bring down those higher BGs.
 
Re: 11/1 Clare AMPS 274

Clare, c'mon little girl. Flatten out those cycles, o.k.?

Watching the Badger game right now. Uhhhhh, looks miserable at Rutgers...weatherwise, not footballwise!

Hope you all have a good weekend.

Marilyn and Polly
 
To keep all dosing advice in public, I'm copying here what I just responded to Georgette in a pm. She asked about how cats typically respond to a dose increase, whether it might be immediate or delayed.

i think it's an ECID thing. Some cats get New Dose Wonkiness, even with a small increase. Punkin never got that. Some cats take several cycles to respond to a dose increase, some respond immediately.

Looking back to 10/20 when you increased her from a fat 0.25 to 0.5u, it was 4 days before she got into green again. You've got notes on the side that sound like she might not have been feeling so good, so i'm unsure if that's something you can assume would happen again or not.

It does look like you usually get one blue test to let you know she's going to green.

That's not much help, but I don't know a better answer. You're good at testing and monitoring, just keep it up!

julie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top