11/08 Buddy AMPS 339 PMPS 367 +1.5 282

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mad Scientist and Buddy

Member Since 2010
Last Post 11/05/2010

Sorry for not posting on the weeekends. I have to overcome this habit.
Got the new lantus Solo Star pens on Saturday. Started in PM of Sat. He's still riding high, I'm planning on upping the dose to 1unit BID and see where we stand. One issue I'm having with the pen is that it is harder to draw insulin than with the vial. I have been piercing the stopper, drawing, and to get insulin setting the Pen to 2 units and pushing the plunger. This seems to be the only way to get anything out of it. Also, instead of filling the syringe next to the plunger, it fills from the top down leaving me to flick it a lot to get rid of the bubbles. Seems to be very hard to get rid of the bubbles now with the new insulin/pen. Does anyone else have this problem? What are the workarounds?

Have a great Monday!

Tony and Buddy
 
Re: 11/08 Buddy AMPS 339

Good morning guys! Buddy is right up there with mocha on the pink floor huh? Well I hope they both come down ... no real advice here as far as not getting air bubbles .. we also have to flick the syringe a time or two to get them out .... maybe I'll learn something from your question! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/08 Buddy AMPS 339

Mocha and Buddy high in the sky. . . .

As far as the air bubbles, it is significantly harder to remove them after getting insulin from the pen vs. the vial. The multiple bubbles don't want to converge or got to the top very well. Oh, well, with time, I'll get it under control.

Tony
 
Re: 11/08 Buddy AMPS 339

I think Marjorie/Gracie were having problems with getting the insulin from their pens. I'm beginning to wonder if there's a bad batch of pens around.

I've never had to use the pen mechanism at all. The first dose out of a pen always seems to be slow in filling the syringe but after that, it's been fine.
 
Re: 11/08 Buddy AMPS 339 PMPS 367

Thanks for the link, now that I've read it, it should work perfectly for me. I had found leaving a bubble with the vial was better - cause it collected the smaller bubbles. But when I do this with the pen, the pen fills from the top down instead of bottom up like the vial (head first vs. plunger first). Will report back about it tomorrow.
 
Re: 11/08 Buddy AMPS 339 PMPS 367

hey hi!
hows it going?
hmmm, was wondering when a curve might happen?
not trying to give ya trouble :-D but it would help to see mid cycle numbers to see what Buddy is up to around there.
That way you could really see if he needs the increase.

If you cant do mid cycle, maybe a +1, +3 or before bedtime check, or an out-the -door check,,or anytime spotcheck, as long as Buddy cooperates right? ;-)

Very glad to hear you got new juice thou!
 
Re: 11/08 Buddy AMPS 339 PMPS 367

Now I understand what you were getting at. You don't want to inject air into a pen. It's fine to do that with the vial but the pens operate differently. There is a constant pressure on the gasket. There is a black plug that moves toward the gasket as the Lantus is used.
 
Re: 11/08 Buddy AMPS 339 PMPS 367

Mad Scientist and Buddy said:
He's still riding high, I'm planning on upping the dose to 1unit BID and see where we stand.
what was Buddy's nadir the last couple of days? How do you know if it is safe to increase his dose?

Jill's No Tickee No Washee post

Here's an excerpt from one of Sienne/Gabby's condos last year to illustrate why this matters:

Posted 11/2/09 http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... sg-1898253

boing!

***note to Sienne, this is one of those days you need to write down so you can refer back to it someday when a newbie wants to increase their dose without spot cheeks.

AMPS 429
PMPS 400

looks like Gabby needs an increase, right?

But AMPS 429
+4.5 47
PMPS 400

nope, she needs a *decrease.*
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top