? ? 11/06 Rico Curve Explanation & Dosing Advice needed

Carol & Rico

Member Since 2023
? 10/17 Rico AMPS 560, +6 73, PMPS103


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-17-rico-amps-560-6-73-pmps103.282642/#post-3116181
Could someone, please, explain Rico's curves and the discrepancies between very high and very low numbers over a cycle? Am I reducing insulin units (-0.25 after every green) properly? Also, how long does insulin last in the fridge? Rico was extremely thirsty since last night - only drank a lot of water but not in the mood to eat.


@Wendy&Neko
@Yanna
@Chris & China (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Wait till you hear from the members you tagged, but to me it looks like you are reducing correctly after every time Rico drops under 90 when following SLGS
Lantus last in the fridge until the expiration date .
 
Wait till you hear from the members you tagged, but to me it looks like you are reducing correctly after every time Rico drops under 90 when following SLGS
Lantus last in the fridge until the expiration date .
Thank you! I asked because someone told me that Lantus only lasted for up to 30 days after the vial opening.

Have I made a mistake with this thread? I'd like to understand how he is doing (based on his spreadsheet) but I'm not getting any replies... Anyone?
 
Have I made a mistake with this thread? I'd like to understand how he is doing (based on his spreadsheet) but I'm not getting any replies... Anyone?
When you create a new post, there is a Prefix that can be associated with the title. One of the prefix options is a "?", so you don't have to add it to the title manually. Those prefix "?" show up in blue, and that's something I look for when I scan the forum posts to see if someone is asking a question. In addition, it's helpful to put something like "dosing question" as part of the subject title, so people know what sort of answer you are looking for. "Rico AMPS often <500" is a good thing, and sounds more like a statement than a question.

If you read the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info on the top of this forum, there is lots of good information about Lantus. People using Lantus don't keep it in the fridge, and out of the fridge it's good for 30 days. Kept in the fridge, a vial can last 6-9 months. Look for cloudiness or floaties in the vial to tell you if it's going bad. The fact that insulin took Rico from 584 to 104 on the 6th meant it's definitely working!

Is Rico eating better today? Cats will be thirsty when their numbers are high.

His numbers and the variation in range is not unusual, especially for a recently diagnosed cat or kitty that has dental problems that need addressing. Infection/inflammation can cause some insulin resistance.
 
@Carol & Rico
Congrats on the reduction for the PMPS cycle :cat: On your signature can you please add SLGS to your signature also, you really don't need this in your signature , I see you have it on your spreadsheet in the Labs section
BT:CHOL239,GGT41,ALT156,GLU468.
BT:BUN100,GLU>700,TP 9.1,WBC31.71.
 
Last edited:
When you create a new post, there is a Prefix that can be associated with the title. One of the prefix options is a "?", so you don't have to add it to the title manually. Those prefix "?" show up in blue, and that's something I look for when I scan the forum posts to see if someone is asking a question. In addition, it's helpful to put something like "dosing question" as part of the subject title, so people know what sort of answer you are looking for. "Rico AMPS often <500" is a good thing, and sounds more like a statement than a question.

If you read the Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info on the top of this forum, there is lots of good information about Lantus. People using Lantus don't keep it in the fridge, and out of the fridge it's good for 30 days. Kept in the fridge, a vial can last 6-9 months. Look for cloudiness or floaties in the vial to tell you if it's going bad. The fact that insulin took Rico from 584 to 104 on the 6th meant it's definitely working!

Is Rico eating better today? Cats will be thirsty when their numbers are high.

His numbers and the variation in range is not unusual, especially for a recently diagnosed cat or kitty that has dental problems that need addressing. Infection/inflammation can cause some insulin resistance.

He's nor really in the mood to eat although he got some very low numbers. Also, I'm worried because he's still very unpredictable - shouldn't he have a more "steady" curve by now?
 
Also, I'm worried because he's still very unpredictable - shouldn't he have a more "steady" curve by now?
He's been on insulin for 2.5 months I think? Neko took a year before she stopped bouncing to reds. Rico's response is very normal for newly diagnosed cats. He just needs to spend more time seeing normal blood sugar numbers so his body can get used to them again. Today was a very good day for that.
 
Back
Top