11/03 Coco AMPS 359 PMPS 351 +3.75 354

win&coco

Member Since 2026
Last post.

Vet said his wound is healing great, next week they will take out the tummy stitches and Coco will be able to go back to his routine and to take off his cone. I can see he is getting impatient because he hates staying in one room but I need to make sure he doesn't get infected again. His abses is looking good too, I think this next days it will fully disappear.

About his numbers he is stuck in 300's and I don't even know if he ever goes down? Or if he is staying up there. Could the insulin be spoiled again or is this just purely because of his reduced dosis? I try to keep the insulin refrigerated and the fridge is not super cold, the vial is to the front and away from the sides to avoid frost.

I will try to see if I can sneak a +6 check to see if he ever goes down. The +3 medition was smooth, I didn't have to warm his ear at all and there was a small drop of blood and it was enough so I hope I can make it quick again.
 
I'm so happy to hear that Coco is healing so well! Just one more week and that poor boy can finally get rid of his cone and have his freedom back😂 I bet he's counting the days to it.

As for his numbers, I think the higher readings might be related to the reduced Lantus dose rather than the insulin going bad again. Lantus doesn't last a full 24 hours in cats, which is why we give it every 12 hours. I'm definitely not experienced enough to give dosing advice, but I think his current dose might not be quite enough for him. Hopefully someone with more experience can chime in and help you figure out what's going on.

I hope you can sneak in that +6 test and get a better idea of how low he's going. And yay for that easy ear poke, sometimes its almost impossible to get blood sometimes it just shoots out, glad it went well! Sending hugs to you and sweet Coco! 🥰
 
I'm so happy to hear that Coco is healing so well! Just one more week and that poor boy can finally get rid of his cone and have his freedom back😂 I bet he's counting the days to it.

As for his numbers, I think the higher readings might be related to the reduced Lantus dose rather than the insulin going bad again. Lantus doesn't last a full 24 hours in cats, which is why we give it every 12 hours. I'm definitely not experienced enough to give dosing advice, but I think his current dose might not be quite enough for him. Hopefully someone with more experience can chime in and help you figure out what's going on.

I hope you can sneak in that +6 test and get a better idea of how low he's going. And yay for that easy ear poke, sometimes its almost impossible to get blood sometimes it just shoots out, glad it went well! Sending hugs to you and sweet Coco! 🥰
Yeah he's not happy about it, he just wants to go bother his brother like usual 😂😅

I was thinking that too but I'm not sure if anyone will be able to give me more dosing advice with all the few test I could do these past few days.

Wendy did give me advice that I am following. I think shooting 4u BID was kinda risky even if Coco was dropping to blue because his pre-shot numbers were always high too (400s-300s) because he wasn't getting insulin at night but by his night pre-"shots" he was into his 200s and I didn't know how low those 4u would make him drop.

So I suppose it was more safe to start from a low dose rather than jump straight to 4u twice a day 😅 or at least that's my reasoning.

Thank you Britta, you are too kind 🤗
 
Last post.

Vet said his wound is healing great, next week they will take out the tummy stitches and Coco will be able to go back to his routine and to take off his cone. I can see he is getting impatient because he hates staying in one room but I need to make sure he doesn't get infected again. His abses is looking good too, I think this next days it will fully disappear.

About his numbers he is stuck in 300's and I don't even know if he ever goes down? Or if he is staying up there. Could the insulin be spoiled again or is this just purely because of his reduced dosis? I try to keep the insulin refrigerated and the fridge is not super cold, the vial is to the front and away from the sides to avoid frost.

I will try to see if I can sneak a +6 check to see if he ever goes down. The +3 medition was smooth, I didn't have to warm his ear at all and there was a small drop of blood and it was enough so I hope I can make it quick again.
Do you have a soft cone he can use?
Those hard plastic cones are awful! 😢
 
Back
Top