? 11/01 Mouse PMPS 338, +2 202, +3 133, +4 115

Her mouth must feel strange and painful which is why she must not be eating. She's getting gaba for the pain rather than the metacam? What dose? Metacam is also an anti-inflammatory.

Meloxicam has a black box warning in the US because vets often overdose cats with the dog dose. In Europe and Australia, it is prescribed for cats for arthritis. I have had my civvie Budge on it (on a low maintenance dose of 0.01mg/kg) for years for her arthritis. It is okay to use it for a few days after surgery - at the right dose.
 
I already gave 1 unit this morning :nailbiting: I just wish she would cooperate... I'm tired and feel like crap today but have a ton of stuff I need to do. Should I try putting some mirataz on her ear to see if that'll jump start her?
No harm in trying the mirataz. As far as BG is concerned you can always give her honey/syrup if you need to bring her numbers up.
 
Her mouth must feel strange and painful which is why she must not be eating. She's getting gaba for the pain rather than the metacam? What dose? Metacam is also an anti-inflammatory.

Meloxicam has a black box warning in the US because vets often overdose cats with the dog dose. In Europe and Australia, it is prescribed for cats for arthritis. I have had my civvie Budge on it (on a low maintenance dose of 0.01mg/kg) for years for her arthritis. It is okay to use it for a few days after surgery - at the right dose.
I gave her gabapentin this morning already... It's too early for her next Metacam dose right now, I gave it around 2:30 yesterday afternoon and its only 9:46 am here right now. The metacam dose they gave for her is .11 ml of the 1.5mg/ml.. the vets office said they use a special formula to dose cats with the 1.5mg/ml and that they don't dose them for the same as dogs.
 
Try syringe-feeding some food? Is there some MC or HC she will have? Her BGs are not an issue, but you want her to eat
I syringe fed about 10ml of watered down LC food after her shot when I realized she wasn't going to eat. Gave 12 or 15 more ml after +2. I could try some mc but I don't have any pate type mc it's the ff gravy lovers so I don't know if she'll be able to chew the pieces of meat. Is it ok iff I try to give her some mc to see if she'll eat it just to get her to eat on her own and how much would be ok to give? Or am I better off continuing to syringe feed LC and how often is it necessary?
 
I could try some mc but I don't have any pate type mc it's the ff gravy lovers so I don't know if she'll be able to chew the pieces of meat. Is it ok iff I try to give her some mc to see if she'll eat it just to get her to eat on her own and how much would be ok to give?
If she will eat MC on her own, it's okay to feed it for now. You need a break and she needs to eat. Try and feed it in the first part of the cycle.

Or am I better off continuing to syringe feed LC and how often is it necessary?
It's not the frequency but how many calories you can get into her.
 
If she will eat MC on her own, it's okay to feed it for now. You need a break and she needs to eat. Try and feed it in the first part of the cycle.
Ok... I'll try some mc after +3 test, that'll be in about 10 min. I was going to stop feeding by +6 like usual unless you think I should still offer some LC after +6 for today...
 
This is terrible but I don't have the patience or brain compacity for figuring out calories today, I just mentally can't.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
You don't have to count calories. What I meant was that your aim should be to get an x amount of food into her. It doesn't matter how often you feed her. If feeding smaller meals more often is what works for you and her, that's fine.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
You don't have to count calories. What I meant was that your aim should be to get an x amount of food into her. It doesn't matter how often you feed her. If feeding smaller meals more often is what works for you and her, that's fine.
For some reason what your saying isn't making sense to me right now... I do better mentally if I know just how much and how often.
+3 is 190 I think the combination of inflammation and stress from still being in the kennel is keeping her numbers up... I offered her 2 tsp of MC and she was like hell yeah and licked all the gravy off... I suppose I could turn her loose now that I know I can get her to eat mc if I have to. Or should I just keep her in til +4? I swear I'm so tired I cant make a decision to save my life!
 
I'd get 1 more test. Hopefully some of that gravy will do the trick and level her out some instead of her continuing to drop so fast. She's still totally safe but we'd like to get to a point where we know she'll be ok while you try to sneak in a nap
 
I'd get 1 more test. Hopefully some of that gravy will do the trick and level her out some instead of her continuing to drop so fast. She's still totally safe but we'd like to get to a point where we know she'll be ok while you try to sneak in a nap
Ok... I'll get her +4 in about 20 min. and then feed her and turn her loose. I can't seem to control her dives even under normal circumstances when shes eating well...

Unfortunately it doesn't look like a nap is in the cards for me today:(
 
:bighug:Yeah I'm going to be picking up one of those little blenders when I can finally have enough time to leave and get to town
@Phoenix R.
I just used my regular blender when I did this for Tyler
Just noticed in your title you have PMPS for today, did you mean to put AMPS?
@Phoenix R.
When you have a chance can you update your SS .I hope you can grab some sleep later :bighug: :bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Yeah I'm going to be picking up one of those little blenders when I can finally have enough time to leave and get to town

I've had good results from this smoothie maker from WalMart
upload_2023-11-1_12-20-18.png


And this "mini chopper" from Amazon
upload_2023-11-1_12-30-13.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-1_12-20-18.png
    upload_2023-11-1_12-20-18.png
    111.4 KB · Views: 159
  • upload_2023-11-1_12-30-13.png
    upload_2023-11-1_12-30-13.png
    130.5 KB · Views: 161
Oh, Mouse.

I hope the cat food in the blender helps and you can get some food into her. You've got this and Mouse is lucky to have such a caring human.
Thank you:bighug: heading out to get that blender now... Hope you and Charlie are doing well today:bighug:
 
It's not necessarily a bounce. Her numbers were high due to skipped and half dose draining the depot.
 
Well, my husband reported he ate second and third breakfast, but I'm at the vet with our other boy. Can't wait to be home with them both.

How's it going with Mouse?
Well, my husband reported he ate second and third breakfast, but I'm at the vet with our other boy. Can't wait to be home with them both.

How's it going with Mouse?
Mouse is doing ok... I think I screwed up by giving gabapentin dose so close to shot/ feed time... I think its atleast briefly making her too tired to eat when she needs to... I'm so exhausted Im not sure how to fix this. Doing a combination of syringe feeding and her occasionally voluntarily eating. Hoping Harold is doing ok and Charlie boy. Big hugs kitty mama... It's tough when our kids don't feel good...
 
So hard. We didn't get answers on the thing we went in for but found out Harold has a heart murmur and his ventricles are enlarged so his heart can't pump as much blood and he's anemic. Charlie is doing great tho

I accidentally double dosed our old female with gaba and she was seeing into other dimensions and was not moving anywhere. You'll get it spaced out right so much is feeling better but not too much better
 
So hard. We didn't get answers on the thing we went in for but found out Harold has a heart murmur and his ventricles are enlarged so his heart can't pump as much blood and he's anemic. Charlie is doing great tho

I accidentally double dosed our old female with gaba and she was seeing into other dimensions and was not moving anywhere. You'll get it spaced out right so much is feeling better but not too much better
I'm so sorry you didn't get the answers you needed on Harold... Glad Charlie is doing so well... Sending lots of love and hugs to you and all your kittos
 
Gave blended watered down MC to try to slow drop +2- ½tsp, +3- ¼ tsp
 
Back
Top