11/01 Milo AMPS 243, PMPS 307

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly and Milo

Member Since 2009
Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28724

At least Milo is out of the 300's this morning. No dose increase given as of yet. To answer some of the questions asked yesterday, the insulin is just over a month old. I started a new pen on 9/19. Milo's teethe were last cleaned in May and I think they checked his teeth during his last visit. I will try to call to find out. Otherwise, he is adjusting to the new schedule well. He sits and waits to be tested, purring while I prep.

Should I wait to increase to .75, or old at .5 fore a little while longer?
 
Re: 11/01 Milo AMPS 243

Not sure how long you usually get out of your insulin, but 28 days is what is recommended by the manufacturer...
I would start a new pen myself, if I were you and increase to .75u. As Jill said yesterday:
Jill & Alex said:
yes, increase the dose to 0.75 unit.
when a kitty returns from the falls, we want to dose as aggressively as safely possible.

sienne asked a good question... how old is your insulin?

It is best to post each day and increase as per the protocol...but since his teeth seem to be okay and his blood work is okay, then there is nothing to do but dose consistently and increase every 6 cycles. You don't want him to settle in to the higher numbers and get comfortable there too long. Good that he is adjusting to the shooting and testing...and purring too!
How is the LB action and the rest of the Ps? Preening, playing, pooping? All okay?
 
Re: 11/01 Milo AMPS 243

Pat,

What I got out of the insulin in the past is a good question. Milo was only on the juice about a month the last time. My sister is a pharmacist and after researching, thought I should be able to get about 2-3 months out of each vile. She said with proper storage, you should be able to get more than the recommended 28 days. I am planning on increasing to .75 this evening, and if he doesn't seem to react, I will go ahead and open a new pen. Just hate being to agressive since he crashed on .5 in early October. Milo is being very stubborn this time around.
 
Increased to .75 for PM shot. Will test before bed to make sure Milo is doing ok. I hope this gets him out of the pink. Pink just doesn't look good on Milo!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top