10/9 dosage question PM Lantus due | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/9 dosage question PM Lantus due

Boscosmom

Member since 2025
PMPS is 161. This is the lowest it's been when I given him his shot since we moved to 1.75. I'm worried it will take him below 50 in the middle of the night.
Should I adjust? I'm not a night person, and I'm afraid of something happening after I fall asleep.
Please advise
 
A housekeeping note, please keep the subject line up to date with his current BG numbers, as per: POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ There are a lot of people posting on this forum. An up to date subject line helps us see who needs help quickly. Also please update your signature as "dosing protocol: 1 unit" is not correct. Just replace it with "SLGS".
155 went down
That's only 6 points, well within the margin of error of meters. I'd call it the same number.

You have a few options. You can do a smaller dose, though with the depot it may not be a lot different that if you shoot a full dose, unless you do something like half the dose. If you could have stayed up to monitor, I would have suggested waiting a bit longer for his numbers to start rising. I suspect he will bounce. He hasn't gone below 90 yet on this dose. Tomorrow morning, his dose will still be 1.75 units.
 
Can I give him a lower dose and it's actually lower now. I have not fed him yet
You can but it wouldn't guarantee anything. Since Lantus is a depot insulin, the last several shots can still influence this cycle. If this was my cat, I'd give the 1.75 and (IF necessary) stay up a little later than usual. He's starting to get the numbers you want. I'd hate to have him backslide but you hold the syringe. Would be so nice if they'd do these things on the AM cycle!!
 
You can but it wouldn't guarantee anything. Since Lantus is a depot insulin, the last several shots can still influence this cycle. If this was my cat, I'd give the 1.75 and (IF necessary) stay up a little later than usual. He's starting to get the numbers you want. I'd hate to have him backslide but you hold the syringe. Would be so nice if they'd do these things on the AM cycle!!
LOL right! OK, I'm going to do the regular dose. My husband is going to help make sure I wake up. Thank you for your patience and advise.
 
Morning report out. He hit blue all night. I tested until 3:00a. He did have a slit bounce this am. Thank you again to everyone! I've put his current number in the chart.
 
Back
Top