10/9/2017 Fluffles AMBG 88 +12.5=96 +17=76 +20=92 +24=99 +24.5=95

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fluffles

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-8-17-fluffles-pmps-99-2-92-4-83.185111/#post-2055550

I skipped Fluffles shot again this morning and plan to shoot .5 tonight. I will test a couple of times today, I'm thinking +5 and +9 to see how he's doing. He has been doing fantastic, more energy than I've ever seen him have! He woke me up a couple time during the night playing with the new toy we got him yesterday that he absolutely loves! But also he has been trying to get into the trash. He has only ever tried to do this before in the period right before he was diagnosed.

So I am thinking about maybe getting that auto-feeder and splitting his meals to see if that helps. As I mentioned a couple of days ago, when I switched to wet food I tried to figure out the correct calculation for how much food he should have (using calories, ideal weight etc) but either I calculated wrong or it didn't work because he was gaining weight (17.8 at dx to 18.4 a couple of days ago). He needs to be losing weight so I cut his food back from 2 cans of ff 2x's daily to 1.5 per 2xs daily. Also starting last night at testing times I gave him a Purely Fancy Natural Hand Selected Chicken Treats (just one ingredient-chicken), but that still didn't stop him from trying to get into the trash (I think he was going for the wrappers from the treats) He just seems really hungry, often trying to lead me to his bowl. Any ideas are appreciated! thanks everyone hope you and the kitties all have a great day
 
I was doing a 2x daily meal times for my cats, too. But when Rex went OTJ, I got tired of them begging for food as soon as I got home (+10) so I decided to start doing 3x and it has gotten somewhat better. My civvie Keena gives me the death stare about an hour before it's time to eat. He's too good at telling time! He even tells me it's time to get up if I sleep in past their normal meal time on the weekends. :rolleyes: If I had only 1 or 2 cats, I would definitely do the auto-feeder. Petsafe 5 is one recommended.

That's wonderful news about Fluffles being so playful! :cat:
 
I was trying to hold off on the feeder because feline diabetes has me going broke but hey, what's another $50 :rolleyes: Overall I'm beyond happy about how things are going! I was so overwhelmed and scared of the diagnosis but I know Fluffles great progress is due to the guidance of all of you catsperts!! Thank you a million times!
 
I retested after 20 and got 95. I don't have much more flexibility to wait because of the time I have to leave for work tomorrow morning. I don't know if it's better to hold off or dose tonight while I'm around because I'm worried if I shoot tomorrow I won't be around to test all day. Advice?
 
I skipped. We'll see what happens :nailbiting: I may as well ask now since I have to work tomorrow and I won't be around to test all day, should I use 150 as a cut off? Or do you think I could shoot a little lower and still be safe? This may not be an issue at all because this will be the first time has not had insulin for 36 hours…should be interesting to see what he does tonight
 
I skipped. We'll see what happens :nailbiting: I may as well ask now since I have to work tomorrow and I won't be around to test all day, should I use 150 as a cut off? Or do you think I could shoot a little lower and still be safe? This may not be an issue at all because this will be the first time has not had insulin for 36 hours…should be interesting to see what he does tonight
I think the consensus is typically to stay safe. If you won't be able to test him; you may want to make sure he's come right up before shooting, otherwise skip the shot. Can you get a +11 before AMPS to see what he's looking like? That's what I do to see if I'll have time to stall or if I'm going to likely skip...

Awesome numbers having skipped! :D
 
Thanks @Chris & China and @Tasha & Darwin, I've been off since last Thursday so its been great getting a lot of testing in but typically I'm gone at work 12 to 12 1/2 hours 4 days a week. I'm a little bit nervous now that his numbers have come down so much. I don't want there to be a problem while I'm away.

Also, even though it will be 3 cycles without insulin, I still would only give one reduction (.5), correct?

And yes I should be able to get +11, very curious to see how he does over the next 12 hours. Great idea, thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top