Fluffles
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-8-17-fluffles-pmps-99-2-92-4-83.185111/#post-2055550
I skipped Fluffles shot again this morning and plan to shoot .5 tonight. I will test a couple of times today, I'm thinking +5 and +9 to see how he's doing. He has been doing fantastic, more energy than I've ever seen him have! He woke me up a couple time during the night playing with the new toy we got him yesterday that he absolutely loves! But also he has been trying to get into the trash. He has only ever tried to do this before in the period right before he was diagnosed.
So I am thinking about maybe getting that auto-feeder and splitting his meals to see if that helps. As I mentioned a couple of days ago, when I switched to wet food I tried to figure out the correct calculation for how much food he should have (using calories, ideal weight etc) but either I calculated wrong or it didn't work because he was gaining weight (17.8 at dx to 18.4 a couple of days ago). He needs to be losing weight so I cut his food back from 2 cans of ff 2x's daily to 1.5 per 2xs daily. Also starting last night at testing times I gave him a Purely Fancy Natural Hand Selected Chicken Treats (just one ingredient-chicken), but that still didn't stop him from trying to get into the trash (I think he was going for the wrappers from the treats) He just seems really hungry, often trying to lead me to his bowl. Any ideas are appreciated! thanks everyone hope you and the kitties all have a great day
I skipped Fluffles shot again this morning and plan to shoot .5 tonight. I will test a couple of times today, I'm thinking +5 and +9 to see how he's doing. He has been doing fantastic, more energy than I've ever seen him have! He woke me up a couple time during the night playing with the new toy we got him yesterday that he absolutely loves! But also he has been trying to get into the trash. He has only ever tried to do this before in the period right before he was diagnosed.
So I am thinking about maybe getting that auto-feeder and splitting his meals to see if that helps. As I mentioned a couple of days ago, when I switched to wet food I tried to figure out the correct calculation for how much food he should have (using calories, ideal weight etc) but either I calculated wrong or it didn't work because he was gaining weight (17.8 at dx to 18.4 a couple of days ago). He needs to be losing weight so I cut his food back from 2 cans of ff 2x's daily to 1.5 per 2xs daily. Also starting last night at testing times I gave him a Purely Fancy Natural Hand Selected Chicken Treats (just one ingredient-chicken), but that still didn't stop him from trying to get into the trash (I think he was going for the wrappers from the treats) He just seems really hungry, often trying to lead me to his bowl. Any ideas are appreciated! thanks everyone hope you and the kitties all have a great day

I may as well ask now since I have to work tomorrow and I won't be around to test all day, should I use 150 as a cut off? Or do you think I could shoot a little lower and still be safe? This may not be an issue at all because this will be the first time has not had insulin for 36 hours…should be interesting to see what he does tonight