10/8 PurrFace PMPS 327 +2/336

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
I skipped his PM shot because his BG was 117. My DW thought she could feed him since we weren't giving him a shot. He ate a bit less than 1.5oz of FF Classic can. I just checked his BG at what would have been +1.25 & it was 169. Will check him in an hour.



This is PurrFace's first GREEN BG. He really dropped from his AMPS! SHOULD I BE CONCERNED?
His PM shot is due in 1.75 hours. He looks and is acting great. Laying on pourch in the sun washing.

Looks like PurrFace is going to be in the BLUE today. We were just discussing whether or not to increase his dose by .25U since his nadr was hanging in the mid to high YELLOW range but we'll hold off on that until we see what this and the next 2 or 3 cycles are like. It's very hard to read a .25U on the 0.30ml syringes. Is there one on the market that has more space between the markings? It would probably have to be thinner and longer.
PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace PMPS 117 Skipped Shot

Hi John, How is PurrFace? Your spreadsheet shows PM 1.25U and no updates for several hours, did you give the PM shot after all?
Yep its hard to measure .25U increments for doses, many of us use magnifiers, 1 or more pairs of reading glasses, and some foks here use calipers. Last I heard, no one had identifed any affordable syringes marked in smaller increments.
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace PMPS 117 Skipped Shot

Hi Leslie. I removed the 1.25U from the SS for the PM shot. I did not give him a PM shot. I plan on testing him frequently to make sure he doesn't drop again. He was in the BLUE on 10/4 but then went way up again. One of the posters said that he might have been experiencing a bounce since it was his 5 cycle on the increase from 1U to 1.25U. I hope I did the right thing by not giving him the shot. If his BG gets into the yellow later tonight should I give him a partial dose or let it go until the AM dose is due at 7 a.m. CST USA?
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace PMPS 117 Skipped Shot

Sienne. I just finished reading that when I saw your post. Unfortunately my DW gave him some food. He ate a bit less than 1.5oz of FF Classic. Should I wait 2 to 2.5 hours and test him since the food would have increased his BG or should I test him every 20 minutes as outlined in the article? I'll stay up with all night if need be; whatever I need to do. Thank you, I appreciate all of the input from the members.
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace PMPS 117 Skipped Shot

John, If you are not going to shoot tonight, testing every 20 min would be excessive. I would get +1, +2, and +3 to see the trend up down or flat. Skipping drains the insulin shed so generally we are advised to shoot if its safe for you to do so. However, keep in mind shooting later tonight will push your am shot tomorrow to a later time. If you are still within your time frame to consider shooting tonight, then test more often to catch when PurrFace bg is rises to a number you are data ready and otherwise prepared to shoot. I cant advise on dosing but I see you have been on 1.25 for 13 cycles, suggest you ask Sienne about that.
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace PMPS 117 Skipped Shot

Leslie, it's 1 hour past the normal time he would get his shoot. I'm just going to test him now. If his BG is over 200 is it ok to give him the shot an hour late or better to wait until the AM shot?
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace PMPS 117 Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202

The trick on giving a shot at a later time...is timing the next shot 12 hours later. True, you can move a shot 15 min earlier than the 12 hours but it still makes the shot 45 minutes past "normal" (if the shot is an hour later). Make sense?

In other words. If shot time is normally 7am & 7pm and you shot tonight at 8pm, the earliest you could shoot in the am is 7:45.
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace PMPS 117 Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202

Teresa, I'm going to test him again in 15 minutes (10 pm CST). I don't think I'm going to shoot him tonight. If his BG was in the yellow and I shoot him at 10 a.m. then he wouldn't get his AM shot until 9:45 a.m. Is that correct?
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace PMPS 117 Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202

If you shoot at 10:00 PM CDT, you can shoot at 9:30 tomorrow morning. Or you can shoot at 9:45 in the AM and 9:30 at PMPS. You can move shot time by 30 min. once a day or 15 min. twice a day.

How many hours past your usual shot time are you?

Also, if you have a question, it helps if you put something in your subject time to alert us or use the ? icon.
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace PMPS 117 Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202

Correct. 12 hours (minus 15 minutes) would be the earliest for the next shot. Sienne is correct. 15 minutes per shot or 30 minutes for one shot - per day.
 
Re: ?10/8 Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202 +3/305

Sienna it's 3 hours past shot time. He's up in the 300 range now so I think I'm going to give him a shot at 10:15 CDT and his AM shot at 9:45 CDT. Will that be OK?
 
Re: ?10/8 PurrFace Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202 +3/305

Sienna, a +2. That would be 2 hours after the shot I give him tonight, Correct? And yes I can get one. Thank you for your assistance.
 
Re: ?10/8 PurrFace Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202 +3/305

Just to add, can you get a test at around +11? If PurrFace is in the pink range in the AM, you may be able to shoot early to help get you closer to being back on schedule.

Regarding the question mark, if you look above the text box when you're posting, you'll see icons(e.g., the 911, candles, OTJ, and a question mark). These will be in the left margin if you select one. You would want to do this in your first post in the thread.

If you scan down the board, toward the bottom, "Oliver's Rollercoaster" has a question mark selected.
 
10/8 PurrFace Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202 +3/305

Sienna, I'm going to give him a shot now and I'll get a BG in 2 hours. I'll also get a BG for sure at +11 after his shot tonight. I clicked on the ? icon at the top but it won't insert it.
 
Re: ?10/8 PurrFace Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202 +3/305

His BG at what have been +3.75 was 327. Will give him shot now and then his AM shot 30 minutes earlier and keep that schedule. I'll stay up and get the new +3 BG as you requested and the +11 as well. Thank you again.
 
Re: ?10/8 PurrFace Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202 +3/305

You have to click on the icon in your first post in the thread. (Click on the little circle to the left of the icon.)

The 327 becomes your PMPS.
 
Re: 10/8 PurrFace Skipped Shot +1.25/169 +2/202 +3/305

Thank you so much Sienna. I'll delete the current post PMPS BG numbers and start the new ones.
 
PurrFace's BG is in the pink now so he should be ok for the night. He was playing with his toys a little while ago so that was a good sign. Thank you to all that posted for me tonight.
 
Thanks Jane. Now it's time for me to take the step to give the shot when PurrFace is in the BLUE AND GREEN. It'll be scarry but I know with the support of all of you we'll make it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top