Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 +6/169
Some background to answer some of the posts. Doodle initially was on 3u (or 3.5, I can't remember) when I got him this past Feb. At the time he was in a shelter only getting insulin once a day. I started him with another protocol (basically because I am also a volunteer for diabetic cats, I like to know all the protocols) After a few months there I found it difficult to follow the protocol and opted to come back to FDMB. So that is a brief history.
His last good dose was 2u and with that he was getting very greens but also got a 36 so I was just going to start him on 1.75u and then the whole throwing up, not eating started. His numbers were low for 6 days (and because he was not eating) I opted to stop insulin. I started with 0.1u because I was not sure how he would handle it but now with being over 200 the past few tests I didn't think continuing 0.1u was good and didn't think about .25u. I know the dose increases/decreases are usually in .25u increments, not sure why I chose .5u. I think I was thinking where he left off with dose of 1.75u and where his BG's were the past 3 tests and figured .25u wouldn't be enough.
I got another bottle of Clovomax from the vet. He is sneezing multiple times in a row several times a day. He started this the second day I started him on the first bottle of Clovomax. He is NOT himself, but I don't know if it's because he doesn't feel good or because so much is going on in our home. (My fiance left for a trip and we are moving this coming week. I have not started packing for fear Doodle is going to stop eating). Actually, he is himself, prior to his good numbers. He is just like he was with the other protocol I was following. He still has soft stool, he sleeps for HOURS at a time, his energy is low and he walks like his butt hurts. When his numbers started to get green and he was getting decreases I noticed a different cat. Running all over, literally! He jumped on things all the way up to my 6ft bookshelves! He was much more playful and ran to the door to go out on the terrace. Now he's kind of back to being "mopey".
How long do I keep his dose at .5u (assuming he doesn't go low). If he stays over 150+ do I then increase in 3 days to .75u?
I will try to test him as much as I can with all that is going on and that he is now fearful of me testing him. Actually flinches and tries to hide.