10/8 AMPS 257 +6/169 PMPS 221+3.5/223

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
Obviously the 0.1u is not enough. Still don't understand how he went 6 days with no insulin and now at 257 AMPS???

What dose should I give him, I think he needs more than 0.1u now
 
Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 WHAT TO DOSE????

Hi Jennifer,

It's a pity someone didn't see your question on time - I've had to make decisions like that too sometimes and it's a bit scary. I can't comment on doses so I wouldn't have been any help anyway. :YMHUG:

Grace
 
Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 WHAT TO DOSE????

Having said I that I can't comment. I just thought I should add that I would keep a close eye on him this morning and maybe for a few cycles because you increased quite quickly. Angie was a low dose kitty the last time - she was on 0.25 for a while and 0.1 for a while and I can testify that you can get hypo events even on low doses.
 
Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 WHAT TO DOSE????

Hi Jennifer,
I just took a look at Doodle's SS and think that you were right to begin insulin again, but I don't know what to say about the 0.5 Unit dose. When you stopped giving insulin he was at 2 Units, not eating and not feeling well. Is he back to what you would consider normal now? You were going down the dosing ladder very quickly (perhaps you can tell us why you started at such a relatively high dose?). I hope that someone more knowledgeable will be able to advise you. Please put the :?: icon on your subject line to get more eyes on your situation.

Keep an eye on him and be ready to intervene with syrup or HC gravy if he goes too low. Expect that things are not going to settle down immediately. FD requires lots of patience and observation. Try not to make drastic changes in reaction to one or two numbers.

Hang in there,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Please put Doodles' name in your subject line, too!!!
 
Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 WHAT TO DOSE????

He's not neatly following the protocol, so i'm not certain what i'd have suggested. The guidelines on failed reductions say to go back to the "last good dose." But . . . with a 1.75 and several days of skipped shots and some 0.1u shots . . . what was the last good dose? know what i mean?

i think the 0.5u was as good as any. I'd be prepared to test more than usual and increase him quickly if this isn't enough, conversely, by testing a little more, you'll also know if it's too much.

You're probably at about +4 by now - If you can make a routine of getting a +2 I think it would be very helpful in predicting how the rest of the cycle is likely to go.
 
Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 +6/169

Some background to answer some of the posts. Doodle initially was on 3u (or 3.5, I can't remember) when I got him this past Feb. At the time he was in a shelter only getting insulin once a day. I started him with another protocol (basically because I am also a volunteer for diabetic cats, I like to know all the protocols) After a few months there I found it difficult to follow the protocol and opted to come back to FDMB. So that is a brief history.

His last good dose was 2u and with that he was getting very greens but also got a 36 so I was just going to start him on 1.75u and then the whole throwing up, not eating started. His numbers were low for 6 days (and because he was not eating) I opted to stop insulin. I started with 0.1u because I was not sure how he would handle it but now with being over 200 the past few tests I didn't think continuing 0.1u was good and didn't think about .25u. I know the dose increases/decreases are usually in .25u increments, not sure why I chose .5u. I think I was thinking where he left off with dose of 1.75u and where his BG's were the past 3 tests and figured .25u wouldn't be enough.

I got another bottle of Clovomax from the vet. He is sneezing multiple times in a row several times a day. He started this the second day I started him on the first bottle of Clovomax. He is NOT himself, but I don't know if it's because he doesn't feel good or because so much is going on in our home. (My fiance left for a trip and we are moving this coming week. I have not started packing for fear Doodle is going to stop eating). Actually, he is himself, prior to his good numbers. He is just like he was with the other protocol I was following. He still has soft stool, he sleeps for HOURS at a time, his energy is low and he walks like his butt hurts. When his numbers started to get green and he was getting decreases I noticed a different cat. Running all over, literally! He jumped on things all the way up to my 6ft bookshelves! He was much more playful and ran to the door to go out on the terrace. Now he's kind of back to being "mopey".

How long do I keep his dose at .5u (assuming he doesn't go low). If he stays over 150+ do I then increase in 3 days to .75u?

I will try to test him as much as I can with all that is going on and that he is now fearful of me testing him. Actually flinches and tries to hide.
 
Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 +6/169

With a failed reduction you go back to the last good dose - 1.75u.

When you give a reduced/skipped dose because of illness, you go back to the last good dose.

Here's a post with some comments from Jill about failed reductions: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012

So you don't have to wait 6 cycles to increase. There's no perfect, neat answer for you - as long as Doodle's not feeling good, you're going to have to make a judgement call on the dose.
 
Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 +6/169

I think I would have been to nervous to go right back to 1.75u for the first shot. Now I feel a little better but not sure how he is going to react to things the next few days while I start packing. According to protocol I *should* have started back at 1.75u (though I'm glad I didn't because even though I can get him to eat, he is still being finicky)

Now that I am at .5u should I stay there and build up or give 1.75u tonight?


So this is basically a "failed reduction" due to illness :sad:
 
Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 +6/169 PMPS 221 shoot .5u or 1.75u?

i would probably stick with the 0.5u for tonight since it sounds like he's not 100% yet.

i don't have a perfect answer for you, jenn. that's just what i would do - if you stick with the 0.5u for a couple of days and his numbers are high, then you can always increase.
 
Re: 10/8 AMPS 257 +6/169 PMPS 221 shoot .5u or 1.75u?

Shot the .5u.

If he is 200+ tomorrow AM can I increase to .75u?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top