10/8/11Milo PMPS 114 +12.75/96+13/72 Not understanding!

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53797

I am thinking of stalling Milo's shot tonight, I dont want to skip another shot, do I have enough data for someone to help me with this decision? Or should I shoot this number to keep him on schedule?

AMPS/360
+3/276
+9/205
PMPS/114
+12.75/96
+13/72
Just did his +13 and his numbers dropped alot in 15 min, I just get it, it so frustrating!!! I am not understanding the "logic" of how his numbers are working, I have decided to skip his shot and feed him due to his dropping numbers, but I just know they will be spiked in the AM, How am I ever going to get him on a 12-12 schedule skipping shots with his PM numbers dropping like this, because how can I shoot a 72, after seing it drop from a 96 in 15 mins!
 
Re: 10/8/11 PMPS 114 +12.75/96+13/72 Not understanding!

I know how frustrating this dance can be. Maybe Milo has late nadirs or is doing what we can a double dip, where his BG numbers dip down a second time near the end of the cycle. I can't really tell. This will at least bump you up to the top for some more support, and eyes.
 
I am getting frustrated because I dont want to skip his shots but I am not brave enought to shoot low yet, even though I study many others SS and see people doing it all the time, and it seems ok for them and nothing happens. I just have no idea how Im going to get him on a reg schedule, and he is so over me poking his ears. I know I need to be patient, its just hard somtimes but I am willing to do what ever it takes for him, so we'll see.
 
I can see why you're frustrated right now but LOOK - something's starting to work! Yes it's all over the place, he's coming down into low numbers, his body goes into panic mode and dumps lots of glucose to raise that number. I don't know what's causing him to drop so close to shot time. Maybe it's the difference in what you're feeding in the am and pm or maybe that he IS eating in AM and not PM. It WILL get better....

Hugs, you're doing OK!
 
Thanks everyone, to hear what he is doing from people who have been thru it makes me feel so much better, I may need to change his eating times, he is kinda a grazer so he does seem to eat less hours beofre his PMPS. I open a can of ff in the am he eats about half right away and grazes on the rest thru out the am, and the another can is opned around 2, however there is still alot of it in the bowl when I come in at 5:30 PM....
 
I am right there with you and feel your frustration. instructions of what to do when you shoot low numbers looks good on paper but in real life unless you can stay with your kitty throughout the day and night to test, its frustrating. and i agree if insulin is skipped then how can he ever get a true picture of where they are and get them OTJ.
I"m sure some good advice is on its way!
Keep up the good work! i'm sure it will pay off soon :)
 
One consideration is to pick up Milo's food earlier. If Milo's pancreas is kicking in when you feed, it will produce endogenous insulin which will lower his BG numbers.

If you don't feel like you can shoot these numbers, you can always reduce the dose so you can shoot twice a day.
 
Yes, I have considered a reduced dose, I was actually going to give one tonight but when it dropped even lower that quick I chickened out, I wil get more readings tonght and see where he is at and test him more tomrrow as well
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top