10/5 Sibon AMPS 127 - Dosage advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elinor & Sibon

Member Since 2017
Previous post

Good morning everyone, I've been giving Sibon 0.5u for 6 days now, today was his highest reading yet (127).
I've gone through some spreadsheets of other users here whose cats are in remission and saw that they reduced their dose from 0.5u without seeing nadirs below 50-60, would you suggest I try this as well?
Please have a look at my spreadsheet and give your opinion. I hope I have enough information there. I'm supposed to do a curve tomorrow since my vet insists on one before I see her next week.
 
On TR, a newly diagnosed cat earns a reduction either by going below 50, or spending 7 days (and nights) in normal numbers, ie. green. Sibon isn't quite there yet, but close. :D The longer you can safely give insulin support, the better for a stronger remission, should that be what happens.
 
I agree with Wendy, Elinor. While Sibon's numbers are really good, he hasn't quite earned his next reduction yet.

It is possible that there are some lower numbers hiding in the blank areas on your SS, but if you didn't see them, they didn't happen ;) . You are doing a great job getting mid-cycle tests, but if it's possible to vary your testing even a little more, with some +7, +8s in there, maybe we'll see if his nadir really is + 5 or +6, or if it's a little later.

If your vet is typical, he or she will probably encourage you to stop the insulin now, but we strongly believe it's better to let them earn their way down to just about nothing. The longer you can safely keep him on insulin, the better for the healing pancreas.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top