10/5 Gracie PMPS 290 +2 225 +3 167 +4 174 +5 217

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26622

Recap:
AMPS: 280
+2: 312
+4: 322
PMPS: 339
+2: 313
+5: 294


Good morning Lantus Land!! Hope everyone is enjoying their Tuesday. We had light testing yesterday since we spent most of the day at the vetty. Poor baby Gracie was really exhausted last night and her numbers were high so we just made sure she wasn't doing anything weird and let her rest. I am hoping we will see some movement on the new dose today...I figure yesterday morning was a fur shot so today was only her 2nd cycle at the higher dose. Please come down baby girl at least to the blues!!!
I wonder if we are seeing any food spikes...I've been trying the feeding protocol that many of you recommended. While Gracie looked to me that she was getting thinner, I weighed her this morning and she's gained 4 oz so at least I feel we're getting enough food in her. WCR: she's been playing with Tobey this morning dancing_cat dancing_cat and has 4 P's in place.

We're late posting today.....I think I was up all night checking on her plus giving her the +8 (3:30 am) feeding and then I had to get up again at 5:30 am and give Tobey just a tiny dab of food as he is getting neutered today and DH has taken him to the vet. I think we should just move in over there and am certain we must own part of it by now :lol: :lol: It was a beautiful morning this morning and just when all kitties and DH and I were enjoying the front patio, the landscapers came and we had to bring everyone in and close up the house so we didn't get alot of dust...so Gracie is now ready to go back out now they've gone and it's quiet.

Hey Muffin, Binks, Mannie, Moonie, Shadow, Raja, Blackie, Tess and all the other kitties....I'm all ready to go honor Chef Stu!! Can't wait to see what Mannie is cooking today!!
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307

Well, there you are! Was wondering where your condo was this morning....hope that
Gracie will come down to prettier numbers soon for you! :razz:
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307

Me, too, Pat...any suggestions for us??? We've been shooting in the scruff...does anyone think it is worthwhile to try shooting in the flank? I believe Sienne said the scruff shots are easier for Gabby but I just wonder if I would have better luck somewhere other than the scruff. Gracie has received squids before but is not now and even when she got them, it was only for a few weeks so and I used 21 g UTW needles so I don't think she can have scar tissue. Thank you!
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 Shooting ?? pls

I did, in fact, say that Gabby much prefers scruff shots -- I don't get dirty looks. I also found that I'm more prone to giving a fur shot if I shoot in the flank. One of the syringe manufacturers provided this info on injection sites
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 Shooting ?? pls

you know im not an advice giver...but with binks thick manx undercoat i found it made it much easier for both of us to clip the hair on his scruff.
only issue is if he ever gets a mirror in position to see what a crappy hairstylist he's got :0
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 Shooting ?? pls

Why did you want to change? I think most kitties have enough flesh around the scruff area....why not just stick to that if it's working now...
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 Shooting ?? pls

I just wondered if she is absorbing the insulin. Also...thought of another question....I've been using the 5/16" needles which I do like but since I haven't tried the 1/2", I guess I have no comparison...seems to me it would be much easier to shoot through the skin to the other side with the long needle. I bought Relion needles at Walmart but am not crazy about them so thought I might try the BD Ultra Fine 3/10cc U100, 5/16" with 1/2u markings on them through Hocks...has anyone used these?
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 Shooting ?? pls

Good morning Marjorie, glad Gracie is feeling better. Poor little Tobey won't feel much like playing when he gets home though. I shoot on the side of the chest, just behind the shoulder blades, alternating sides and trying to move the exact spot around, an inch or two down from the spine. It's just where I was shown to shoot and is pretty easy to reach when she is eating.

Gracie, so glad you are feeling up to the memorial. I'm on my way too. -- Tess
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 Shooting ?? pls

Thanks, Ann. I appreciate the info. I think I just need to find a good place where I can pull up enough skin to make a nice tent...I think my girl has a little extra fat in/near her scruff that makes it difficult.
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 +4 278 +5 302

Morning Marjorie - I've been thinking about trying the BD syringes with 1/2u markings as well. The ReliOn ones seem to have not uniform thickness in the plungers and they're crooked a lot of times. Makes micro dosing really difficult. My first batch of syringes were BD, but whole unit markings, and I think their plungers are more uniform.

See ya at Stu's Gracie! - Muffin
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 +4 278 +5 302

Marjorie & Gracie said:
Sienne..quick question for you. I use Jarrows B-right Bcomplex for my CKD kitty because the B-12 is methylcobalamine. But the important thing that has been stressed in our CRF group is that the kitty can't absorb the B-12 without folic acid so the B-right has folic acid in it; unfortunately, the methylcobalamine is a very small part...ok for a CKD kitty but I'm not sure it is nearly enough for a diabetic neuropathy kitty. The methylcobalamine (MC) you sent me the link to has no folic acid....do you know if the same would apply here..that they need the folic acid to absorb the MC and do you think this can be used as a preventative so the cat does not get DN?

I'm a little confused. Folic acid IS a B vitamin - it's vitamin B-9. Folic acid, B-12 (cyanocobalamine), and B-6 are often found in combination. However, methyl-B12 is a different form of B-12. They do not act in the same manner. I think that only methyl B-12 is effective in treatment of diabetic neuropathy.
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 +4 278 +5 302

Thanks, Lisa, for checking in. Yes...we are hoping for some lower numbers!!! I'll be interested in what her PMPS is and how we proceed from there!! Hope all the kitties had great fun at Stu's garden and honoring Stu.

Thanks Sienne....when I read back on the posts in the CRF group, folic acid (B9) is necessary with B12 (methylcobalamine) in order to make red blood cells in the case of anemia. My bad...thanks for responding.
 
Re: 10/5 Gracie AMPS 277 +2 307 +4 278 +5 302 +11 286

Hi Marjorie - for what it is worth, more info! :-D I use the 1/2unit marking BD needles too - and have had no issues with them. Easy to use, easy to pierce the skin. I too shoot in the scruff, and try to alternates sides. It too is where I was shown to shoot. I also shoot while he is eating - he never knows what hit him.

I am glad that Gracie is feeling better today - no more problems. I was worried about her. Good to hear that she's OK. What a day for you yesterday!

Hey Gracie! Sooooooo glad you are coming today for the memorial for Stu. He was the best - you really would have liked him. What a chef! See you!! ~~ Mannie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top