10/5 Ginger PMPS 426, +2 387, +4 411

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori in Ohio

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays

So high all day.....Though very close and steady all day.......please advise.
Checked for KETONES.........was Trace...........Please advise.



Increased dosage last night.

Last night's +5 was 409, so only a small increase throughout the night.

10/5 Ginger AMPS 437, +2 439, +3 396, +5, 425, +7, 426, +9 440, PMPS 426, +2 387, +4 411
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437 (1.50 dosing)

Good luck with the dosecrease. Hope you see a nice yellow PMPS, tonight :-D
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437, +2 439, +3 396

Hi and Welcome to you and Ginger! (Would you like to tell us your name or should we call you Ginger's Mom?)
Does Ginger have any other medical issues or is she on any other meds?

I have been away and so have missed your first condos over the weekend. I am so happy that you are here! Good job on the SS and in linking your previous posts to your condos each day! I trust that you have read the starred stickies at the top of the page at this point, right? do you have karo syrup and High Carb cans of gravy on hand?

You will find that the switch from dry is a very important step for Ginger's healing! I add some warm water to the canned foods and that seems to help them smell the food and eat it instead of the way it comes out of the can. How are you doing with the transition?
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437, +2 439, +3 396

I saw Libby's post and don't disagree. The increase makes sense. Since you'd already shot, my point was more of an FYI.

One thing I found with Gabby and you can take the info or not, is that when I need to increase her dose, often increasing by the full 0.25u is more helpful than fattening the dose. This isn't true for everyone's kitty and on some occasions, it's not even always true for Gabby. I have found, though, I see more movement by increasing the full amount.
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437, +2 439, +3 396

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Hi and Welcome to you and Ginger! (Would you like to tell us your name or should we call you Ginger's Mom?)
Does Ginger have any other medical issues or is she on any other meds?

I have been away and so have missed your first condos over the weekend. I am so happy that you are here! Good job on the SS and in linking your previous posts to your condos each day! I trust that you have read the starred stickies at the top of the page at this point, right? do you have karo syrup and High Carb cans of gravy on hand?

You will find that the switch from dry is a very important step for Ginger's healing! I add some warm water to the canned foods and that seems to help them smell the food and eat it instead of the way it comes out of the can. How are you doing with the transition?

Thank You.
My name is Lori, but just call me Gingers Mom since there are a lot of Lori's here.
No, Ginger doesnt have any other medical issues.
Yes, I have been reading the sticky's and everyones suggestions as well.
I have the Karo, but need to buy the High Carb cans.
The food transition is going slow, but she is starting to eat more of it. (I give her about 1 tablespoon right now)
I do add a little warm water to her canned. Also take the water away until she eats the canned with the water, or most of it.
Last night, I kept adding water and mixing because she was not into eating it last night. Her BG was pretty high and wasnt that interested in eating. But she finally ate all that I gave her.
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437, +2 439, +3 396

well good morning guys! I see ginger started out on the nasty red floor but has already come down to the pink floor with a nice easy drop. That's what we like to see, nothing to sharp of a drop, other wise a lot of kitties on here bounce hard all the way back up to the red floor. You guys are doing great!
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437, +2 439, +3 396, +5 425 ??

She went down from reds to a high pink at +3, but now at +5 back up to red already with a 29 point increase.
All her readings tho so far are very close rather than jumping high up and way down, so I am thinking thats ok?
Or should I panic because the readings are so high?

PS to +2=2 point increase
+2 to +3= 43 point decrease
+3 to +5= 29 point increase

I am wondering if I should have gone to 1.75 rather than 1.50.
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437, +2 439, +3 396, +5 425 ?????????

Morning Lori - I cant give you dosing advice, I'm still a newbie too, but I'm sure you'll get some soon. Hang in there!
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437, +2 439, +3 396, +5 425 ???

Hi Lori - was re-reading yesterday's condo -

Libby said
The protocol allows for increases in 48 hours with high flat numbers.
Someone will come along with more experience than me, see what they say about how long to hold this dosecrease. It's hard for kitties #'s to settle in when there is too much dose hopping. And you have some time to see what Ginger does before pmps. But those red numbers are like a kick in the gut, aren't they?

Remember - it's a marathon, not a sprint. Patience is not my best thing either.

Are you checking for ketones?

eta: I'd sure call that "high flat numbers."
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437, +2 439, +3 396, +5 425 ?????????

This is your second cycle of the increase...just try to hang in there.
There isn't much you can do to get these higher numbers down, short of making them run around. Exercise does lower the BGs for some kitties. Just feed as usual and keep testing the BGs.
It takes a few cycles normally for the new dose to kick in.
Drug stores have ketone test strips and it is good to keep tabs on the ketone testing if you can buy some strips, okay? Some people put saran wrap over the littler box and keep th kitty in a bathroom alone until they urinate. Once you get the hang of it, you might..."might" be able to grab a sample while they are going...but that is tricky with females I think.
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger amps 437, +2 439, +3 396, +5 425, +7 426 ??????

Going to buy Ketone Strips in about an hour.
The vet tested her for Ketones on 9-26. No ketones present.
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger AM+9 440, PMPS 426, +2 387, +4 411 (questions)

10/5 Ginger AMPS 437, +2 439, +3 396, +5, 425, +7, 426, +9 440, PMPS 426, +2 387, +4 411

Tested for Ketones, and she has a trace. It was kinda between 0 and the trace ketones.
Do I need to worry? if not when do I?

From AM +9 to PMPS her BG went DOWN 14 points before her PM injection.

Is that a good sign?

These numbers are so high, I am starting to stress.
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger NEED ADVISE on High Numbers

Some cats can get a double dip and have their numbers drop just a bit late in the cycle. Kazi has done it many, many times. No advise for your other questions but I do hope the dose increase starts to help Ginger's numbers soon.
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger NEED ADVISE on High Numbers

Before you stress too much, I want to make sure you're getting an accurate reading on ketones. Can you test yourself? The color coding at no ketones vs. trace can be difficult to see sometimes. Since I'm presuming you don't have ketones present, testing yourself is a good way to get used to what a strip can look like.

If there are, in fact, trace ketones present, can you get more liquid into Ginger's diet? You can add water to her canned food, give her chicken broth or tuna water or anything that's liquid. It will help to flush the ketones.

I also tend to think that getting rid of the dry food will help to bring Ginger's numbers down. If there's any way you can speed the transition, it will help.

Some cats experience "new dose wonkiness" (NDW) - when you raise the dose, numbers temporarily go up before they go down. Be patient.
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger NEED ADVISE on High Numbers

sage advice from Sienne - how you doing tonight?

when I switched my monsters over to wet, I did it all at once, like jerking off a bandaid. for the most part, they are resilient creatures ...and forgiving. a lone holdout still struggles from time to time. but ECID.

so.how you guys doing?
 
Re: 10/5 Ginger NEED ADVISE on High Numbers

Regarding the Ketone Strips, it was definetly the trace color, just slightly lighter in color.

She is constantly drinking water and I always make sure it is fresh.
I do add water to her canned food, even more when she wont eat it.......
I also take the water bowl away until she eats the canned food with the water.

She is barely eating a tablespoon of food, 2 times a day and eats very little of the low carb dry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top