10/5 Buddha amps 60 PMPS 250

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Buddha

Member Since 2009
Previously ...

AMBG is 63. A bit hesitant to shoot. Buddha's been in the low hundreds the last few preshots and bg has not risen after ps. I don't want to wait to shoot. Might go ahead and shoot a 1u for this morning and evaluate tonight.

Unless someone urges me a different direction while I update my ss before the shot.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps? 63

20 minutes later bg is 60. I don't want to wait to shoot. If waiting is equivalent to a decrease in dose, I might as well shoot a decreased dose now. Think I'll choose 1u with a 5% carb breffist. I'll be around to monitor until late in cycle.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps? 63

just keep a close eye since Buddha was still dropping when you tested 20 min later.
Good luck!
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71

Looks like he inhaled breffist. Lately, he's been a slow eater. +1 is 71. Think snack will be 10% in an hour or so.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45

Surf is a little rougher than I'd like, but Buddha's having a nice ride. Will be home for a couple more hours, then out mostly until close to evening shot time.

If anyone has any advice on evening dose (at this point) let me know. If numbers are still low should I stick with 1u and if numbers are above 120 go back to 1.25u? He didn't really earn a dose reduction this morning, I just didn't want to wait to shoot.

As long as I'm keeping him in a safe bg range, does it make much difference how I do it? Seems like the choices are 1) less insulin 2) delayed insulin or 3) more or higher carb food.

Today, so far, more higher carb food seems to be doing a good job. If he wouldn't eat for me, though, we could be in trouble.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45

hi donna. there's a few ways to look at this. if it were me, i'd be tempted to try sticking with a fat 1u for now, but i wouldn't hesitate to take the dose right back up if necessary. hopefully, a little less insulin will make the hc unnecessary. see what the others have to say.
continue testing. you don't want him going any lower.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45

I guess it is still WAY too early in the day to be making evening shot decisions. I just don't want to lose ground. We've been at this way too long, he's been unregulated for a year now. Hate to lose momentum with a decrease. That said, tomorrow he'll probably realize how full his tummy's been and cut back on his intake for a cycle or two.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45

i hear ya!
if buddha bounces by pmps time, i'd definitely shoot through the bounce with 1.25 units.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45 +5 46

Dang! This will be the last time I nonchalantly shoot a 60. And never, never, never will I in the evening.

Got another hour before I need to skip out. Buddha seems maxed out on the fancy feast already. Bet he would eat some crunchies. Wellness dry is still kicking around the house, but it would be about a year old.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45 +5 46

He's not climbing very fast....do you have just plain gravy to give him?
If not, then the dry is the only thing left...it will stay n his system longer and take longer to work. This is not such a great number to be leaving on, is it? Can you post your next BG check for us please....
(these numbers might be the honey talking too... ) wish he would go higher...


Come on up Buddha....
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45 +5 46

i don't think year old dry would be good any more.
what about gravy? can you get him to lick some hc gravy?
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45 +5 46

Either gravy or add a bit of syrup to LC food will bump numbers up. Can you move around your plans at all?

Whatever strategy you use, it will spike the numbers and you need to know that you've got a safe surf happening vs. a spike and a big drop.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45 +5 46

+5.5 is 49. Fed hc w/gravy. Added some chicken lightly rolled in pancake syrup. Need to leave, but will be able to check back in on Buddha hourly or so, but not fdmb or my ss.

We'll be fine, but well wishes will be gratefully accepted!

Note to self: Need to add fancy feast gravy lovers to the shopping list.
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 +3 62 +4 45 +5 46

Thanks for updating Donna. I am so happy that you will be able to keep checking him....the honey and pancake syrup gives artificially high numbers...even the HC gravy does....but as long as you can check him that will be fine...whew...
Surf Buddha...
 
Re: 10/5 Buddha amps 60 +1 71 +2 44 etc. +10.5 163

Phew! I thought that would never end! +10.5 is 163. Yeah, finally the bounce. Think Buddha is maxed out on food. I guess I'll shoot 1.25u tonight, not a second before +12. It's been such a looonngggg day, but I'll bet the bounce will go much higher. But if it doesn't get into the yellows at least, I'm going to be tempted to shoot 1 fat unit.

A very long day. I'll update the ss after dinner.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top