10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +4.5 54, +5 93, +6 96, +7.5 165

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126

Tell me a little bit more about tomorrow. I leave my house all of the time for hours at a time...you can do that....with a little extra planning ;-) ;-)

In regards to tonight, If you're OK with testing and not too wiped out, I would shoot the 126 at the reduced dose of 1.75. You're going to want to get a +1 and +2 since this is your lowest shot, but historically, he takes a little bounce after a low cycle.....
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126

John & Apollo said:
I guess I could also stall for a few hours (give him time to rise) then give him his reduced dose tonight and skip tomorrow AM. Then back on normal dose time for tomorrow PM dose?

He is on the rise...remember your +10 at 75? He's been rising since then and will continue to rise. The Lantus you give now generally take 2 hours to kick in, sometimes a little less, sometimes a little more.

I just want to make sure you are considering all of your options before you make a decision.

We crossed posted on our last one, so read my response one back....
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126

I have a doctor's appointment at 11:30am. I usually give him his shot at 6:30am. That would put his nadir at 12:30pm. To be honest I will be freaking out if I give him a shot and knowing I'm not there for him in case of any lows.

Yeah I'm a little torn on whether to shoot tonight or not. Right now he usually gets fed, but I am stalling. Is that the right approach or can I go ahead and feed him?
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126

Ok I just fed him. Still debating what to do for tonight. Going to eat dinner now then will make up my mind.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126

Don't feed if you're stalling - that would affect the number.

Here's another option since you're home tonight and concerned with tomorrow (option based on how much momentum Apollo has going...not wanting to slow it too much).

Shoot your reduced dose tonight when you get comfortable (remember, he is already rising and a stalled dose is perceived by the cat as a reduction anyway...so don't stall too long), and then tomorrow....12 hours later, shoot either a bcs dose to keep a little bit in the shed...or skip all together. Again...ultimately you have to do what's comfortable for you ;-)

And then the next lesson.... for another day.... for you my friend is to teach you the tricks to living with a diabetic cat....operant word being "living" .....you have to be able to do that too! I use an autofeeder while I'm away and because I know how long different types of food lasts, I can steer him all day long if I need to (and after today, you know exactly how two different combos work too)!
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126

Ok, I decided to go with 1.75 dose for tonight after a 30 minute delay. Fingers crossed we have an uneventful night, but if not I'll be ready.

I'm definitely not comfortable shooting anything tomorrow as I won't be around to keep an eye on him. How do you all handle that? Basically at this point I don't feel completely comfortable shooting any number and not being there to keep an eye on him. Especially because Apollo's numbers are so unpredictable at this point. (I hope that gets better eventually)
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126

Then you skip tomorrow because doing what's good for you matters most!

Tomorrow, when you get back and can continue on a 12/12 schedule, jump back on the 1.75 ... Just keep that 12/12 in mind when you pick back up.....you're creating your new starting time!

Grab yourself a +1 and +2 since it's the lowest you've ever shot (it will give you peace of mind and an idea of anything crazy is coming)! Hopefully his history will hold true and you'll get some zzzz's tonight.

Nice job on the decision!
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167

He's still on the rise, and hopefully holding true to form of being higher the day after a low number.

Are you close to bedtime? You could steer this a bit to keep it higher if yes.....if not, test before you go to sleep and steer then if necessary. You still may need to do a spot check at +6...but feel free to manipulate his numbers a bit if you need to get some sleep - he had a great day today!
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167

I will be up for a bit and keep an eye on his numbers. I will set my alarm to get a +6 for sure though.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167

Sounds good John. Remember...tomorrow you're not shooting and today was a reduction, so if you need to steer up tonight to get some sleep...do it!
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167

Get thee on ebay and score some cheap strips!

John & Apollo said:
I'm definitely not comfortable shooting anything tomorrow as I won't be around to keep an eye on him. How do you all handle that?
Like Jessica said, the timed feeder. I have a 5 compartment programmable one.

BK lives in Bk Central, a cottage behind and separate from our main house. I work from home and my office happens to be in the cottage as well, so BK and I are together all day M-F. I don't allow him out because I know there are folks in the neighborhood who put (dry) food out for the strays. He is also FIV+ from his years as a street fightin' tom. I don't allow the otoher cats into BK central for fear of him getting scratched and the scratch becoming infected - both for FIV and FD reasons that would be bad.

Where was I going with this...

Oh yes, the feeder. We could not have survived without it. Many where the nights one of us slept at BK central. The feeder gave us peace of mind to be able to sleep in our own bed and get the rest we needed (we aren't teenagers). Treating FD is hard work and you don't know how long your in for.

Something important to keep in mind in terms of decision making while flying down the dosing ladder - what worked last week may or may not work this week and what works this week may not work next week. His patterns will change as he becomes regulated and heals.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, help

Ok, just tested his +4 and he is at 36! Yikes! I was wondering why he was eating a little bit more often then usual last 30 minutes or so. I just gave him a bunch of HC and some karo.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, help

that'll no doubt send him right up. wait 15-20 minutes and retest.

in general, 1 teaspoon of the gravy from the high carb food is enough to pull them up. or a drop of karo.

nothing wrong with what you did - i've done it myself when i got scared. he'll probably go fairly high from it. you'll want to keep up the testing, checking process tonight until he's over 50ish consistently and you're seeing 2 rising numbers. ie, 2 numbers in a row that are going higher.

tomorrow morning decrease his dose by .25.

edited to add: this low number could still be the shed action from the 2.0 this morning. saw you decreased tonight already. if he goes high from all the high carbs you're giving him and is still high in the morning, you have the choice of holding at 1.75 or decreasing to 1.5. sometimes when you have action in the first cycle after a decrease, it's just leftover. decreasing again by .25 to 1.5 might be too quick. your call.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, help

He just threw up everything he just ate. Oh no. Going to give some more HC with no karo this time.

Kind of freaking out now!
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, help

He is eating ravenously and crying a little. Totally not like him. Do I give him more food right away or just give what I gave him again some time to process.

Please help. I am really scared.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, help

breathe first.

see if you can get some karo into him. you want to keep the amounts small. if i were you, i'd put a drop on my finger and wipe it off on his mouth. as long as he's responsive you don't need to rub his gums -you might get bit.

i'll stay with you, john. don't panic. he's ok..
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, help

don't try the food again yet. you want his stomach to settle and not just automatically vomit it back. he probably only vomited because he ate too much too fast.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54

Ok his +4.5 is 54 now. Oh man I didn't see that kind of drop off the cliff coming.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54

I think it was a combination of him scarfing the food on his own, then me panicking and feeding him too much HC and karo. He seems to be laying down and just resting a bit now.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54

So just a spoonful of gravy is enough to do the trick? Or a drop of karo on the gums? Didn't know that. Thought he would have needed more then that.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54

can you imagine what might have happened if you hadn't been hometesting? we've all had this happen and every time i had punkin pull out a surprise i was SO glad we hometest.

you did good. keep checking him every 20-30 minutes. sometimes they wobble with food and karo syrup and you want to make sure you're past his nadir and he's safe before you call it a night.

keep with the small amounts of the gravy or the karo if he goes below 50 again.

great job handling it!
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54

putting it on the gums is best if they're non-responsive. you can do it, but if you can let them eat it on their own it's better for your fingers! :lol:

yuppers - 1 tsp at a time. it's amazing how much that does.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54

When I'm steering numbers, Gabby gets about 1/2 a teaspoon of LC food with a couple of drops of Karo or honey. (Gravy can give her the runs.) You don't need much. You want to bring numbers into the 50s - 60s. A lot depends on how carb sensitive your cat is.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54

Great job, John. Whew....wipe the sweat off your brow.

You're in great hands; just wanted to throw in quickly that you do need to watch his numbers. You may have given enough HC that he'll continue to rise BUT they can also turn around when the carbs wear off. You'll have to learn how long that takes for Apollo.....or it might just bump him up to surf. But don't assume a rising number will stay up. Sorry to tell you that ;-)
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54

Yeah I will test him throughout the night to make sure he is safe. Getting reading to test him again now. Brb.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54, +5 93

Ok his +5 is now 93. Whew. I know we are not out of the woods yet, but going in the right direction now.

Oh man that was scary!!!!!
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54, +5 93

Question: Why would he drop from +2 167 to +4 36. Isn't that a huge drop? I honestly wasn't prepared to see him drop so quick like that. Is that typical? Is he still on too high a dose of Lantus?
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54, +5 93

glad he's come up for the moment.

i think sometimes they just do what they do and it's hard to know why they're doing it. that's why everyone says the cat leads the dance and we just follow.

if i were you, even though he's 93 we know that's the karo and high carb food - i would test again in another 1/2 hour.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +2 167, +4 36, +4.5 54, +5 93

i can't tell when his nadir is - seems like it's anywhere from +4 to +7ish. i think if i were you i'd set my cell phone alarm and try to catch some sleep in between.

my computer is too hot so i'm going to turn it off for a bit. i'll check on again after :30, i think you're testing about on the hour and :30. there are other people on right now too if you need anything else.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +4 36, +4.5 54, +5 93, +6 96

He's surfing right now but I am always cautious when I get two numbers that close together; yes, he's probably getting close to his nadir but you may still have some karo/carbs on board.

Sometimes we have to sleep/test like Julie said. It's tough but it's better than trying to stay awake.
 
Re: 10/5 Apollo PMPS 126, +4 36, +4.5 54, +5 93, +6 96

Wow John, your Apollo is dancing with you like my Stella is dancing with me. You should follow us a while it might help to see how others handle the 'stress'. Stella dropped from 284 to 38 in 4 hours yesterday...so believe me...I know what your are going through! Good luck tonight...Ironically, I have to leave tomorrow too. Our kitties must have a conspiracy going on... :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top