10/4 Stella PMPS/204 +2/183 +4/152 +5/137

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good Morning! Lots of ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) in order for today. We are one tired household!

Stella has everything in place. Today's AMPS/132 seemed high compared to all the :mrgreen: we have seen. Amazing how fast you get used to your set of 'colors' in this sugar dance. I remember not so long ago a nice Blue 132 would have been a nice low pleasant surprise! :lol: ;-)

Stella dipped again in her PM Cycle and Karo was added. As a result, we have reduced by .25 This is going to be a touchy reduction since so much has gone on in the last few cycles. Our starting number already shows a bit of a bounce after too very low days, stalling and a reduced shot. We may have a bit of a roller coaster ride before we see if this reduction really sticks.

Wish us much luck. Wouldn't it be nice if we just hit the ground running in a nice "safe" green zone??? A girl can dream....
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132

Looks like Stella and Tarragon have been conspiring. At least she isn't bouncing too high. Hope the new dose reduction does wonders for you and you have a great day!!
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +1/112 +2/63

Oh dear. +2/63 It looks like Stella and I may be in for a wild ride. I don't think I can take this excitement. I am hoping for a nice :mrgreen: smooth, safe surf. I need some rest. ;-) So does Stella. :YMSIGH: This is where we are supposed to be happy, right? Lack of sleep is spoiling the fun.

Good thing my 'on call' shifts turned into 'no call Mary' shifts. I am still crossing my fingers they don't call today so I can watch over my little Stella... it is drizzy and grey here in CA...perfect day to stay home...
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +1/112 +2/63

If Stella drops below 50, remember it's not a dose reduction this cycle. There's some left over shed action from the higher dose that's pushing the numbers. Given that this is the case, you can abort the cycle with HC if you need to since there's no reduction that's warranted.
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +1/112 +2/63

Thanks for the reminder Sienne...I won't blow it this time by rushing down the dose ladder because of fear. ;-) :cool: :shock: :mrgreen: I have on my patience pants...but somehow they got tighter...must be all of the 'home time' :lol: with my felines...
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +1/112 +2/63

Hi guys .. beautiful numbers for stella! I hope stella finds her surf board and surfs the day away in these numbers for you .. and I hope you get the day off so you can snuggle with your kitty .. have a great day!
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +1/112 +2/63 +3/61

Thanks so much! And today is a snuggle day...its raining here in California!!! Time for some more ~O) ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +1/112 +2/63 +3/61

Go Stella!

Like Sienne said, no need for Stella to visit the lowlands today...
You two need to recharge...and get ready for the next round!
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +1/112 +2/63 +3/61 +4/37

OMG Stella seems to be driving this like a locomotive on a collision course. Let's hope I can hop on and drive this back onto the tracks. :o :shock: Steeeeelllllaaaaa!!!! :shock: Come surf baby!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 + +4/37 +4.25/30

To think I almost waited to 4.5 good thing I listen and read what the ;-) xperts say (I am not a total lost cause ;-) ) tested at 4.25 got 30... Karo on hand

To say my heart skipped a beat is an understatement. Pray. I can do this. I am doing this. Breathe...

So, I really don't reduce right? :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +4/37 +4.25/30 +4.5/57

Thanks for the moral support Linda. She must have heard you +4.5/57 Whew. I did say my own heart skipped a beat, right???
 
Re: 10/4 DOSE??? Stella AMPS/132 +4/37 +4.25/30 +4.5/57 +5/

I need an expert, and I don't know if Sienne will be back in time for our PMPS.

We joked earlier about holding this dose, and patience pants...but Stella is holding VERY low during this entire cycle. Experts? Thoughts???
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +1/112 +2/63

Sienne and Gabby said:
If Stella drops below 50, remember it's not a dose reduction this cycle. There's some left over shed action from the higher dose that's pushing the numbers. Given that this is the case, you can abort the cycle with HC if you need to since there's no reduction that's warranted.

I'm gonna run back to the house so I can see ss...
How many more hours until PMPS?
 
Re: 10/4 DOSE??? Stella AMPS/132 +4/37 +4.25/30 +5/45 +6/72

Whew. Stella pulled herself out of the woods...or the 2 separate doses of Karo did.

We still have 6 more hours until PMPS, but if you look at the last 3 days...Stella's lows can happen anywhere at anytime... fun, fun stuff (that is a joke) ... :roll:

I guess the BIG BGs are coming next? If that is the case, I guess I would hold this dose to let it flatten...I am just worried about the very long duration of her low. Usually she pulls out quickly and up...but this took the 2 doses of Karo to get her up and that concerns me. (Look at her +4/37. Even with the food/Karo she plummeted to 30 within 15 minutes!)
 
Re: 10/4 DOSE??? Stella AMPS/132 +4/37 +4.25/30 +5/45 +6/72

Yeah, these are what I call the "crazy times". Unfortunatly there is no set formula to use, just the guidelines to apply, along with the data you collect, which can quickly become obsolete.

I went through a few periods like this w/BK, one where he was down to the 2u-4u (or 4u-2u) range. Once I skipped 2 shots in a row, and followed with 2 BCS of o1u each on the next 2 cycles...all feeling my way through. Once after a BCS dose, it ended up being the new dose.
(ECID and BK was High Dose)

I recall opening the karo only once during his whole journey. You had to fight today..

A lot can happen in 6 hours. Hopefully others will chime in.
Ya never know, the BIG BGs may not show up :-D

So your shot time is 5pm pacific/8pm eastern?
 
Re: 10/4 DOSE??? Stella AMPS/132 +4/37 +4.25/30 +5/45 +7/87

+7/87 Here comes the effects of the 2 doses of Karo.

Well, thank you for weighing in. I wish there were some solid rules these kitties would follow! :evil: :lol:

I will decide as the day plays itself out. Stella and I were VERY LUCKY I was here to take care of her. I usually get called into work every day.

Our current injection time is 5A/P usually it is 4A/P but we stalled an hour and a half a couple of cycles ago and we are doing the long trek back to our correct time. We have a very early shoot time for cases such as the one we just went through so I have time to stall. What preparation, huh? ;-)

Have a good afternoon, hopefully we will just be surfing through it.
 
Re: 10/4 DOSE??? Stella AMPS/132 +4/37 +4.25/30 +5/45 +8/10

Wow. This morning was sooo low the measly 103 looks like a HUGE bounce. Perspective is everything, isn't it?
 
Re: 10/4 DOSE??? Stella AMPS/132 +4/37 +4.25/30 +5/45 +8/10

Today's cycle was most likely running on shed action from last night's 2.5u dose. You really can't ignore a 30, though, so I don't really think you have a choice other than to reduce the dose. I would try a reduction to 2 units BID.

There is one other choice: skip tonight's shot to try to drain the shed a bit, then try 2.25 again in the morning. I have used that technique effectively when I needed to slow Lucy down when she was earning too many reductions too fast.

Either option should hopefully drain the shed a little so you can stay ahead of her.
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +4/37 +4.25/30 +5/45 +8/103

Libby outlined a good plan. Ignore what I said earlier. The test in the 30s trumps holding the dose. It's time to reduce.
 
Re: 10/4 Stella AMPS/132 +4/37 +4.25/30 +5/45 +8/103

Oh my goodness ladies. How did I miss these posts? I injected 15 min early (I am backing up to our normal time) and minutes ago your advice did not appear. As a result, I shot 2.25 On a good note, it looked like a skinny 2.25 and I decided it would be a good compromise on my indecision. I saw her preshot number and since she looks to be bouncing I didn't want to make the bounce worse by making her insulin decrease.

Why does it always seem I make the least best decision when left to my own devices? Looks like we will be up all night again. I am officially off tomorrow. Who needs to get their hair done anyway? I just hope I can get another appointment for Thursday!

*Sigh
 
Re: 10/4 Stella PMPS/204

Hi Mary,

Hope Stella surfs a little for you tonight. Why do our furkids like to scare us so?! :shock:
You were very calm and strong for your baby today. Hope I picked up enough pointers from your experience so I don't completely fall to pieces the first time I see lows nailbite_smile :lol:

Hope you both have a good nite :smile:
 
Re: 10/4 Stella PMPS/204

Ah Michelle, that means so much to me...thank you! It is nice to hear kudos when you think you have made a mess. I guess I may not be doing that bad after-all. Again, thank you! :-D
 
Re: 10/4 Stella PMPS/204

it's not a matter of right or wrong, just a matter of understanding what is going on with the cat at any given time and knowing how to create the best chance at getting the result you want. Even then, these are cats, and cats don't like rules!

Some experienced caregivers do shoot through bounces, especially those who have cats that have trouble holding reductions or have trouble clearing bounces without help from the extra insulin. I personally do not think Stella falls into that category right now, so I would get some spot checks tonight just in case. Then I would definitely consider reducing tomorrow, especially if you are going out. If she is green tomorrow morning, you might even want to skip the shot. There is a lot of momentum behind her current dose, and sometimes that can be hard to control. One of our former mentors on this board compared it to a ball rolling down a hill - once it starts going down, it keeps gaining speed the farther it goes. If you need to catch the ball, you might have to put yourself right in front of it, otherwise it will get ahead of you and you won't be able to catch it.
 
Re: 10/4 Stella PMPS/204 +2/183

Thanks Libby. Stella's +2/183 seems to be a good sign. She is coming down from the bounce at what appears so far to be slow and steady. Maybe I lucked out this time! *crossing fingers*

I guess it should be apparent by morning what dose to give based on how her nadir fares this evening. Cross your fingers we make it out in a nice smooth green...not too high and not too low... hey, I can dream. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/4 Stella PMPS/204 +2/183 +4/152

So far so good , not a bad bounce off that 30!

Be vigilant - the cycles not over yet. bounces may clear quicker than in the past. :cool:
 
I fell asleep on the couch again and woke in time to get a +5. I have to say...it looks like Stella is holding steady. We have to hit the hay. :cool: You are right...not a bad bounce after a BG of 30! Whew! We lucked out on this one...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top