Sienne and Gabby said:We generally do not encourage someone who's cat's been on Lantus only a few days to shoot that low. With Lantus, we look at 3 options on a low pre-shot number:
As you gather more data, these options have greater applicability. You may want to take a look at the starred, sticky note regarding handling low pre-shots and numbers.
- shoot a reduced dose
- stall
- skip
I'd also encourage you to get your spreadsheet up and running as soon as possible. It will help you keep track of things and it will allow us to give you better informed help.
So, if I'm understanding this, if you shot at 8:00 AM, that would have been your AMPS. the 138 would have been your +11 (from the night before). The 6 PM test would have been your +10, if you shot at 7:00 PM, you shot at +11 with a test value of 106 and this became your PMPS.10-30 7am before food and shot 128. 8am after shot and food 106.
10-30 6pm before food and shot 138. 7pm after food and shot 109.
So, if I'm understanding this, if you shot at 8:00 AM, that would have been your AMPS. the 138 would have been your +11 (from the night before). The 6 PM test would have been your +10, if you shot at 7:00 PM, you shot at +11 with a test value of 106 and this became your PMPS.10-30 7am before food and shot 128. 8am after shot and food 106.
10-30 6pm before food and shot 138. 7pm after food and shot 109.
Sienne and Gabby said:Skipping the AM shot is fine. I would get a spot check before you head out the door just so you can see if numbers have headed up.
We use a particular way of noting time. Everyone here is in a different time zone -- we have an international membership. We work on a 12-hour "clock" with your pre-shot test being the point at which the count starts. If you get a test 3 hours after your shot time, that's your +3; a test 8 hours after shot time is +8. That gives us a means of translating where the numbers are in relation to your shot.
So, if I'm understanding this, if you shot at 8:00 AM, that would have been your AMPS. the 138 would have been your +11 (from the night before). The 6 PM test would have been your +10, if you shot at 7:00 PM, you shot at +11 with a test value of 106 and this became your PMPS.10-30 7am before food and shot 128. 8am after shot and food 106.
10-30 6pm before food and shot 138. 7pm after food and shot 109.
I hope that makes sense.
Cindy + Mousie said:just want to bump you up so make sure people see that you shot 1 unit on that number. most likely fine because the shed will be empty but just in case. can you get some tests in tonight?
Sandy and Black Kitty said:Holding steady -that's nice. Please get a +3 and post.
Regarding dose - for me it's hard to say at the moment. Not enough info.
This cycle may shed some light though.
edited to add - Do you feed the 22% carb food exclusively?
Kory & Smokey said:My vet doses by weight so they obviously are not one to take advise from regarding diabetes in cats. I am lost and confused. I have been keeping numbers but not started a spread sheet yet and I have no clue what dose to give Smokey. I know every cat is different but what do you guys suggest? Yes I have read the stickys![]()
Sienne and Gabby said:Kory & Smokey said:My vet doses by weight so they obviously are not one to take advise from regarding diabetes in cats. I am lost and confused. I have been keeping numbers but not started a spread sheet yet and I have no clue what dose to give Smokey. I know every cat is different but what do you guys suggest? Yes I have read the stickys![]()
My guess is that your vet may be more familiar with some of the other types of insulin. Beyond the initial dose, Lantus dosing is not done by weight -- it's based on the nadir.
Right now, it looks like the high carb food is keeping Smokey's numbers from dropping too low. This is giving you some protection. However, it makes me wonder whether the high carb food has played a role in Smokey's diabetes. If there are no alternative with respect to dealing with the crystals, that's OK. There are cats here with medical conditions that require their being on a drug that causes elevated BG levels. We work the insulin around the needed medication. If C/D is the only alternative, insulin dose will be adjusted to balance it out.
Are you adding water to Smokey's food? The more water you can get into your cat, the better the crystal situation will be.
Sandy and Black Kitty said:That's a perfectly fine number. Holding steady..
I agree with Sienne - it does look like the high carb food is keeping Smokeys numbers from dropping too low.
Check again in an hour. If he gets to 50 then feed 1 tsp food and recheck in 30 mins. The goal is to keep him above 50. It's still early in the cycle
Is he a grazer? does he normally eat overnight?
What time do you shoot in the morning?