10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71, +2.5-73, +3-76, +4-66

Status
Not open for further replies.

iBkoryD

Member Since 2011
If kitty has a preshot BG of 110 do you guys shoot? I went by the motto of "go slow" so I did not shoot I only have a couple days of numbers to go off of.

My kitty is on 1 unit of lantus every 12 hours.
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

We generally do not encourage someone who's cat's been on Lantus only a few days to shoot that low. With Lantus, we look at 3 options on a low pre-shot number:
  • shoot a reduced dose
  • stall
  • skip
As you gather more data, these options have greater applicability. You may want to take a look at the starred, sticky note regarding handling low pre-shots and numbers.

I'd also encourage you to get your spreadsheet up and running as soon as possible. It will help you keep track of things and it will allow us to give you better informed help.
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

Sienne and Gabby said:
We generally do not encourage someone who's cat's been on Lantus only a few days to shoot that low. With Lantus, we look at 3 options on a low pre-shot number:
  • shoot a reduced dose
  • stall
  • skip
As you gather more data, these options have greater applicability. You may want to take a look at the starred, sticky note regarding handling low pre-shots and numbers.

I'd also encourage you to get your spreadsheet up and running as soon as possible. It will help you keep track of things and it will allow us to give you better informed help.


Thank you for the information. I have already read that sticky thread a couple times. I was more curious what experienced Lantus users do at 110 preshot?

I will get my spreadsheet up and running asap. For the moment I am just writing it down. Here is what I have so far:
10-29 6:30pm before food and shot 158. 7:45pm after food and shot 121.

10-30 7am before food and shot 128. 8am after shot and food 106.
10-30 6pm before food and shot 138. 7pm after food and shot 109.

10-31 7am before food and shot 110. NO shot given. 10-31 8am after food, NO shot 124. Skipping morning shot.
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

Kory:

You have 2 days listed at 10/30 with different info.

Lantus will do best if you can shoot 12 hours apart -- or as close as possible to a 12/12 schedule. Because Lantus is a depot type of medication, an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a dose reduction. Often, if you shoot early one time and late the next, you will get some pretty wonky numbers since there are some days where you are working off of too much overlap between doses (i.e., shooting 2 hours early) and this could cause a considerable drop in numbers. Lantus likes consistency both with shot times and with dose.

In addition, Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle. Pre-shot tests will tell you whether it's safe to shoot -- like today. However, you need to get at least one test per cycle in order to see where things are heading. Spot checks are very important with Lantus.

As far as input regarding this morning, as you gather test data, you will be able to shoot a 110 and even lower numbers. Right now, it's a matter of your not having the data to do safely.
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

The first 10-30 line is my two tests. One before food and shot and an hour later. The other 10-30 line is two tests one done before dinner and shot and one after. I am giving juice every 12 hours. :)
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

His after breakfast with NO SHOT BG today was 124. I can't monitor him until tonight when I get off work. I am going to SKIP this mornings shot to play it safe. Thoughts?
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

Skipping the AM shot is fine. I would get a couple of spot checks just so you can see when numbers head up.

We use a particular way of noting time. Everyone here is in a different time zone -- we have an international membership. We work on a 12-hour "clock" with your pre-shot test being the point at which the count starts. If you get a test 3 hours after your shot time, that's your +3; a test 8 hours after shot time is +8. That gives us a means of translating where the numbers are in relation to your shot.
10-30 7am before food and shot 128. 8am after shot and food 106.
10-30 6pm before food and shot 138. 7pm after food and shot 109.
So, if I'm understanding this, if you shot at 8:00 AM, that would have been your AMPS. the 138 would have been your +11 (from the night before). The 6 PM test would have been your +10, if you shot at 7:00 PM, you shot at +11 with a test value of 106 and this became your PMPS.

I hope that makes sense.
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

Skipping the AM shot is fine. I would get a spot check before you head out the door just so you can see if numbers have headed up.

We use a particular way of noting time. Everyone here is in a different time zone -- we have an international membership. We work on a 12-hour "clock" with your pre-shot test being the point at which the count starts. If you get a test 3 hours after your shot time, that's your +3; a test 8 hours after shot time is +8. That gives us a means of translating where the numbers are in relation to your shot.
10-30 7am before food and shot 128. 8am after shot and food 106.
10-30 6pm before food and shot 138. 7pm after food and shot 109.
So, if I'm understanding this, if you shot at 8:00 AM, that would have been your AMPS. the 138 would have been your +11 (from the night before). The 6 PM test would have been your +10, if you shot at 7:00 PM, you shot at +11 with a test value of 106 and this became your PMPS.

I hope that makes sense.
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

Sienne and Gabby said:
Skipping the AM shot is fine. I would get a spot check before you head out the door just so you can see if numbers have headed up.

We use a particular way of noting time. Everyone here is in a different time zone -- we have an international membership. We work on a 12-hour "clock" with your pre-shot test being the point at which the count starts. If you get a test 3 hours after your shot time, that's your +3; a test 8 hours after shot time is +8. That gives us a means of translating where the numbers are in relation to your shot.
10-30 7am before food and shot 128. 8am after shot and food 106.
10-30 6pm before food and shot 138. 7pm after food and shot 109.
So, if I'm understanding this, if you shot at 8:00 AM, that would have been your AMPS. the 138 would have been your +11 (from the night before). The 6 PM test would have been your +10, if you shot at 7:00 PM, you shot at +11 with a test value of 106 and this became your PMPS.

I hope that makes sense.

Sorry to be confusing I am still learning the jargan on this site.

10-29 PMPS 158. +1 121 1 unit am and pm

10-30 AMPS 128. +1 106 1 unit am and pm

10-30 PMPS 138. +1 109 1 unit am and pm


10-31 AMPS 110 +1 124 (cant monitor kitty due to work so I am skipping this shot.) T=

Is this more correct?

Thanks!
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

welcome from me and punkin too!

a lot of people who are gone to work during the day get evening tests. you really want some tests to show how low your kitter is going, which will be somewhere mid-cycle. some kitty's get lowest as early as +3 and some fairly late. it's important to know how low a dose is taking the cat, especially in your case because you're not having any visible high numbers to begin with.

great question earlier! keep asking and we'll do our best to help.
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

So I skipped the AMPS and when I got home his BG test was at 151. I fed him and went ahead and gave him his 1u.

How low does the AMPS blood glucose have to be before you guys suggest not shooting at all? 80? 90?
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

just want to bump you up so make sure people see that you shot 1 unit on that number. most likely fine because the shed will be empty but just in case. can you get some tests in tonight?
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

Cindy + Mousie said:
just want to bump you up so make sure people see that you shot 1 unit on that number. most likely fine because the shed will be empty but just in case. can you get some tests in tonight?

Is it safe to say this was a bad idea?
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

not necessarily. with the shed empty the one shot could do nothing because lantus builds up and becomes effective. i just want to make sure you get eyes if you do need them :-)
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

It wasn't a bad idea. Just get a +1 and +2 test.

Whenever you shoot lower than you're used to shooting, you want to get early tests. With Lantus, your +1 usually is higher than your pre-shot number since it reflects a food spike. Your +2 should be about the same as your pre-shot number. If either test is more than 10% (that's a very rough approximation), you want to be attentive since it may be an active cycle.

With Lantus, when you're new, we don't suggest shooting if you get a pre-shot test that's lower than 150. Please take a look at the post on shooting & handling low numbers. This is a good set of guidelines especially if you post and there's no one immediately available to lend a hand.

Also, the sooner you can get a spreadsheet together, the better.
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

PMPS 151. +2 first test was 71 took a second right after it was at 74. Sounds like this was a bad idea :(
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

Give your cat a teaspoon of LC food and test in 30 min.

Also, please change your subject line. Go to your first post in this thread. Click on the "edit" button above the text box. Change the subject line to read
10/31 Your cat's name PMPS-151, +1-71​
I don't know if the +time is correct. You will need to update the subject line with the time and the test number so the people here who can help can see what's going on.
 
Re: Newer Lantus user with a question

the guys and gals here will help you steer the numbers so they don't get dangerously low. you're gonna have to stay up for a bit though and keep testing and other stuff they tell you to do k.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71

The food I fed him after the PMPS is hills science c/d diet wet food. That has a really high carb % low 20's I believe.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71

there are folks on here all evening who can help you. several of us are on the west coast. you will need to stay up and keep testing smokey, then update your subject line of the first post, like you just did.

do you have any high carb canned cat food, karo syrup, pancake syrup or honey?

you're not in a crisis, it's as simple as testing, reporting and following our advice in giving higher carbs to pull and keep smokey up if he goes lower. don't worry, everyone here has done this with our cats.

good job getting that first test after his shot!
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71

you're okay...
just gonna have to monitor and follow the great advisors on steering Smokey's numbers with food.

We won't leave you!

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71

what time would it be for you to get a test 30 minutes after your last test? ie, for me it's 7:47pm right now. if you could say what the : time for your next test then we can make certain and check back with you.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71

30 minutes after my last test will be in 9 minutes. It is currently 8:51 pm.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71

So with Smokey a PMPS 151 feeding a 22% carb wet food and a +2 was 71 at one unit what do you all suggest for the future? .5 units If his PS is close to 150?
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71

is your name Kory?

can you add the words "dose question" to your subject line to catch the eyes of the experts?

celi
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71

Hello there!

You have received excellent guidance tonight!

I'll just add - easy does it on the amount of food, you don't want kitty to get full. Small amounts, like Sienne said just 1 teaspoon
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71

Lantus dosing is not based on the pre-shot number -- it's based on the nadir or the lowest point in the cycle. A newly diagnosed cat gets a dose reduction if numbers drop below 50. That hasn't happened. In addition, in most cases, doses are reduced by 0.25u.

However, if there's a way you can find a lower carb food that won't cause crystals, I suspect you will not be needing to give Smokey insulin for long. You may want to see about a consultation with Lisa Pierson, DVM around this issue.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71 dose question

My vet doses by weight so they obviously are not one to take advise from regarding diabetes in cats. I am lost and confused. I have been keeping numbers but not started a spread sheet yet and I have no clue what dose to give Smokey. I know every cat is different but what do you guys suggest? Yes I have read the stickys :)
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71 dose question

Holding steady -that's nice. Please get a +3 and post.

Regarding dose - for me it's hard to say at the moment. Not enough info.
This cycle may shed some light though.

edited to add - Do you feed the 22% carb food exclusively?
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71 dose question

Just so this is all in one place so we can see how Smokey's numbers are playing out:

10-29
PMPS 158. +1 121 1 unit am and pm

10-30
  • AMPS 128 1 unit am and pm
  • +1 106
  • PMPS 138.
  • +1 109
10-31
  • AMBG 110 (no shot)
  • +1 124
  • PMPS 151
  • +2 71
  • 2.5 73
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71 dose question

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Holding steady -that's nice. Please get a +3 and post.

Regarding dose - for me it's hard to say at the moment. Not enough info.
This cycle may shed some light though.

edited to add - Do you feed the 22% carb food exclusively?

Yes.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71 dose question

Kory & Smokey said:
My vet doses by weight so they obviously are not one to take advise from regarding diabetes in cats. I am lost and confused. I have been keeping numbers but not started a spread sheet yet and I have no clue what dose to give Smokey. I know every cat is different but what do you guys suggest? Yes I have read the stickys :)

My guess is that your vet may be more familiar with some of the other types of insulin. Beyond the initial dose, Lantus dosing is not done by weight -- it's based on the nadir.

Right now, it looks like the high carb food is keeping Smokey's numbers from dropping too low. This is giving you some protection. However, it makes me wonder whether the high carb food has played a role in Smokey's diabetes. If there are no alternative with respect to dealing with the crystals, that's OK. There are cats here with medical conditions that require their being on a drug that causes elevated BG levels. We work the insulin around the needed medication. If C/D is the only alternative, insulin dose will be adjusted to balance it out.

Are you adding water to Smokey's food? The more water you can get into your cat, the better the crystal situation will be.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71 dose question

Sienne and Gabby said:
Kory & Smokey said:
My vet doses by weight so they obviously are not one to take advise from regarding diabetes in cats. I am lost and confused. I have been keeping numbers but not started a spread sheet yet and I have no clue what dose to give Smokey. I know every cat is different but what do you guys suggest? Yes I have read the stickys :)

My guess is that your vet may be more familiar with some of the other types of insulin. Beyond the initial dose, Lantus dosing is not done by weight -- it's based on the nadir.

Right now, it looks like the high carb food is keeping Smokey's numbers from dropping too low. This is giving you some protection. However, it makes me wonder whether the high carb food has played a role in Smokey's diabetes. If there are no alternative with respect to dealing with the crystals, that's OK. There are cats here with medical conditions that require their being on a drug that causes elevated BG levels. We work the insulin around the needed medication. If C/D is the only alternative, insulin dose will be adjusted to balance it out.

Are you adding water to Smokey's food? The more water you can get into your cat, the better the crystal situation will be.

Yes I do add a bit of water to his food. :)
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71, +2.5-73, +3-76 (dose quest

http://feline-nutrition.org/answers/answers-crystals-raw-diets-and-water
http://www.lbah.com/feline/flutd.htm
http://www.vetinfo.com/feline-bladder-crystals.html
http://www.catinfo.org/?link=urinarytracthealth

Above are several websites that discuss urinary crystals and diet. It sounds like getting as much water as possible into Smokey's diet is key. In other words, add more than a little water to canned food. If you're not already using one, I'd also suggest a water fountain type of water bowl. It will encourage drinking.

None of these sites are pushing prescription diets. They all encourage a canned food diet that is grain free. This is exactly the kind of diet that we suggest. One site noted that avoiding foods that list by-products as the first or second ingredient should also be avoided and fish flavors are also discouraged as fish may contribute to crystal formation.

Just to underscore some of the problems with C/D (aside from it's carb count), here are the first several of the ingredients: Pork By-Products, Water, Pork Liver, Chicken, Rice, Corn Starch, Oat Fiber, Chicken Fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid), Fish Meal, Corn Gluten Meal, Chicken Liver Flavor... Unfortunately, the quality of Hill's food is sorely lacking. If the websites are correct, the primary ingredient, pork by-products along with fish and gluten are not really helping to promote urinary health.

At some point, I would post both here and in Health and ask about diets for cats that are prone to crystals. I'm sure there are others who have dealt with this issue and who can share their experience.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71, +2.5-73, +3-76 (dose quest

Thank you Sienne. Can I go to bed with the numbers posted or should I still be concerned and take readings every 30 minutes?
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71, +2.5-73, +3-76 (dose quest

That's a perfectly fine number. Holding steady..

I agree with Sienne - it does look like the high carb food is keeping Smokeys numbers from dropping too low.

Check again in an hour. If he gets to 50 then feed 1 tsp food and recheck in 30 mins. The goal is to keep him above 50. It's still early in the cycle
Is he a grazer? does he normally eat overnight?

What time do you shoot in the morning?
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71, +2.5-73, +3-76 (dose quest

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
That's a perfectly fine number. Holding steady..

I agree with Sienne - it does look like the high carb food is keeping Smokeys numbers from dropping too low.

Check again in an hour. If he gets to 50 then feed 1 tsp food and recheck in 30 mins. The goal is to keep him above 50. It's still early in the cycle
Is he a grazer? does he normally eat overnight?

What time do you shoot in the morning?

He is not a grazer and he does not eat overnight. Just once in the AM and once in the PM. I shoot at 6am.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71, +2.5-73, +3-76 (dose quest

This is a great surf! I'd turn that frown upside down. (Sorry -- I couldn't resist!) We look to have our cats surf in just these kinds of numbers. It helps their pancreas to heal.

I would leave some food out and I think you are OK to go to bed. If you are worried, you can get a "sleep test" -- set an alarm for a couple of hours and get a test.

Please, please, please -- put together a spreadsheet. It will help us to help you with dosing decisions.
 
Re: 10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71, +2.5-73, +3-76 (dose quest

That is a great number.
Check again in 30 mins. At that point, depending on the number, you may want to feed him a bit and grab some sleep, however as Sienne suggested set your alarm for a few hours if you feel you need another test.
I'm going to step away for a bit but will check back in 30 mins.

You are doing great!
 
I am going to test in a few minutes. I added a spreadsheet to my signature. Is it working? I could not find an option to "auto update when new data is added".
 
I can see it. You doing ok there? Are you sleep testing or still up?

Sienne and Sandy are further east than Julie and I. I'm up and can help you, too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top