No...do not shoot...above 50 he must be. I know it's close but I can't advise you to shoot yet. Please give him just a little longer..30 mins and let's we if he comes up 5 or 6 ok?
Again, ECID. Purrface doesn't seem to spike from LC food, and that's great info to know in future cycles when you see a low number that you want or need to bump up. Like if it happens early (before nadir) in the cycle.
My DW and were going over everything we did up to this point. She did the PM+2 test last night and told me she left about a quarter of 3oz can of food out. It was gone when she got up. Can't say for sure PurrFace ate it because we also have 2 civvie cats in the household.
Thanks for doing the recaps, John. I'm at work today and its a big help that you are doing them when I should be
Glad he's eating but I hope he isn't getting too full?
Hmmmm....how about just a tsp of Lc food with a tsp or so of gravy then? Still test at +1.
Yes...normally onset of lantus is between +2 and +3. So if he drops between now and then, we'd be looking at overlap of two shots most likely...or he is clearing his little bounce from last night. But I still want to be vigilant by testing at +1 and +2 and getting a little cushion before he onsets. The LC will keep him from dropping and the gravy will boost him.
We don't want to use HC to get the number up to shoot. But once he's up enough to shoot, it's ok to use the HC. I know it doesn't seem intuitive but boosting with HC to shoot is dangerous. Boosting after is ok...we know he will onset and we just want to slow it down a bit.
I shot and fed before I read your last post. He received the reduced insulin dose of 1.25U but I did give him 1 teaspoon of HC at shot time. How bad did I mess us up?
I have to research which brands are MC and get some. All we have on hand is LC and HC. I think the Gravy Lovers is about 15% carbs, is that HC or MC?
You didn't mess up by feeding the HC instead of the mixture. I think 15% qualifies as MC too.
I think just go forward with the plan, which was to test at +1. It's all good, I think.
No John....you didn't mess up at all!!! You're doing fine! I only wanted the LC in the mix so it would hold him a little more steady. We will probably give LC at +2 and if he's still wallowing around in low numbers, maybe add a little gravy.
I just printed Dr Lia's Food list and it has the FF Gravy Lovers listed at 22% carbs. I did "squish" the teaspoon of food to get some of the gravy out before feeding it to him so hopefully that helped some. I'll be sure to get some food that has 12%-15% carbs for the MC food in the ER kt.
I'm pretty certain that is all HC talking there which is ok. I think what I'd like to do, and this is open to your thoughts as well because you know him, is to see what he's doing at +2. Theoretically, he should be coming up a bit on his own and so I don't want to overcarb him if he's headed up or overfeed him if he decides to come back down. OTOH, if he decides to onset early, I want to have a solid LC base for him to use that is not going to wear off.
Is he hungry? Are you ok to take a chance on his +2 without feeding him now....are you comfortable with it?
Yes I'm comfortable on waiting until the +2 results. I'll put him on the porch in the cubicle that is part of the cat tree. For some reason whenever he goes in there he goes to sleep in a matter of minutes. It's nice and comfy and he can look out over his terrain.
I need to give credit for knowing to post the updates to Dale. She told me about it the last time and she was very helpful in posting them then. See I did remember something! I would think his working his way back down from 1.75U to 1.25U is a good thing isn't it?
10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
+12/49 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
AMPS/53 Fed 1 teaspoon HC with reduced shot (1.25U)
+1/83 NO FOOD
Marje, I put this revised shot schedule together. Does it look like it will work to you?
10/31 Wed AMPS 12:00 PM
10/31 Wed PMPS 12:00 AM
11/01 Thur AMPS 11:30 AM
11/01 Thur PMPS 11:30 PM
11/02 Fri AMPS 11:00 AM
11/02 Fri PMPS 11:00 PM
11/03 Sat AMPS 10:30 AM
11/03 Sat PMPS 10:30 PM
11/04 Sun AMPS 9:00 AM (Which would have been 10 AM)
PurrFace you have definitely been an active cycle kitty lately. What a way to keep your beans busy!!! So cool to see the juice working for you.
John- I noticed your condo is still dated 10/30. It might help to rename it 10/31 to account for all today's stuff. You are doing a great job...and so thorough as well. :smile: