? 10/30 Phoenix BG 46 at +6

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I was shocked to find Phoenix had dropped to 46 at +6. I fed him some honey and fancy feast hc. I have been monitoring him every half hour since then. I believe I have to wait until he goes low 2 more times before decreasing his insulin. Is this correct or should I decrease his dose this evening?
 
I'm sorry I can't answer your dosing question, but it's nice to see just blues and greens today. I'm glad you had some good yard walks yesterday.
 
I know that somebody will come along and tell me I am wrong. Of course, my Darcy was a high dose, acromegaly kitty and he was on Cabergoline. If he’d gone under 50, I would have decreased. I did decrease, as a matter of fact. Let’s see what the brain trust says. I always like to read!

OBTW: what is your reduction number?
 
I believe I have to wait until he goes low 2 more times before decreasing his insulin. Is this correct or should I decrease his dose this evening?
For long term diabetics, a drop below 40 on a human meter earns a reduction. For kitties that don't hold reductions, it is 3 drops between 40 and 50 on 3 separate days.
 
Back
Top