10-30 Panzer AMPS-208,131@+3, 63@+6,109@+9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
Panzer has been doing good staying in the greens & blues mostly until shoot time then we are in the yellows but that's ok.He's not laying around the water bowl all the time anymore & he has been wanting me to play hide & chase with him. Love my boy!
 
I'm pretty sure you are seeing the yellow is because he's bouncing
I did a search on the site to explain what it means
Here is the definition:
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Possible....but also, the AMPS is always the last number to come down so it could be bouncing and/or dawn phenomenon
Dawn phenomenon I've never heard of that, I will have to Google that. Thank for your input Chris me & Panzer appreciate it very much!
 
Thank you for always being there for me & Panzer & teaching me how to navigate around on here LOL thank you all of the knowledge as well. You are truly a lifesaver!
Oh stop it lol, you are very welcome Christine , anytime , love my Panzer
Just don't screw up any more posts, kidding :p
I think you already know my sense of humor
Have a good night
 
Yes. You still have some ways til what I think nadir will be. I'd give 2 tsp MC if you haven't already. Test 30 mins from your last test, and again 30 mins after food.

Unfortunately I cannot stay up with you so hopefully one of the others checks in.

Below 40 is 1-2tsp HC and bit of karo, test every 20. 40-50 give 1-2 tsp HC at a time, testing every 30 mins. 60s no food, but still test every 30. Rinse and repeat u til he's rising on his own after 2 hours without food
 
Yes. You still have some ways til what I think nadir will be. I'd give 2 tsp MC if you haven't already. Test 30 mins from your last test, and again 30 mins after food.

Unfortunately I cannot stay up with you so hopefully one of the others checks in.

Below 40 is 1-2tsp HC and bit of karo, test every 20. 40-50 give 1-2 tsp HC at a time, testing every 30 mins. 60s no food, but still test every 30. Rinse and repeat u til he's rising on his own after 2 hours without food
We are using a human meter now?
 
Looking good, good job!

Can I ask why you reduced tonight's dose? Was it only because he was under 200?

Following the MPM method for a long term diabetic you would only reduce if one drop below 40, or a few in the 40-50 range over a few days ("few" being a little relative, looking at the whole picture is it a one-off cycle or an overall downward trend). Temporary reductions due to low preshots are ok as well, I'm just checking.
 
Looking good, good job!

Can I ask why you reduced tonight's dose? Was it only because he was under 200?

Following the MPM method for a long term diabetic you would only reduce if one drop below 40, or a few in the 40-50 range over a few days ("few" being a little relative, looking at the whole picture is it a one-off cycle or an overall downward trend). Temporary reductions due to low preshots are ok as well, I'm just checking.
Thank you! JanetNJ decreased the dosage due to me having to go back to work next week & won't be able to test as much.
 
I guess I've never been good at following protocols. If she wants she can totally ignore me and just follow the protocols to the letter and I'm sure it would be fine.
I don't think she wants to totally ignore you Janet ! it's that we only wanted to learn about the dosing method for prozinc that's all, don't worry no more questions from me
@JanetNJ
 
Last edited:
I guess I've never been good at following protocols. If she wants she can totally ignore me and just follow the protocols to the letter and I'm sure it would be fine.
I guess I've never been good at following protocols. If she wants she can totally ignore me and just follow the protocols to the letter and I'm sure it would be fine.
I think I'm going to stick with MPM for now. I will be testing often Friday,Saturday, & Sunday & more as well the following week after this coming week. This week I'm just doubling up because I had to take an emergency vacation last week. I work less than 30hrs a week with drive time normally.
 
I don't think she wants to totally ignore you Janet ! it's that we only wanted to learn about the dosing method for prozinc that's all, don't worry no more questions from me
@JanetNJ
. I have no problem with your questions. Ask anytime. But you're right my advice doesn't follow a protocol. It would be fine if she did.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top