10/30 Ming AMPS = 567, PMPS = 86

He kept meowing so I gave him some food at +3 (2 oz FD raw pork + 1 tsp of FF gravy only). He ate half. I gave him 2 oz just so he can go back to eat it. I tested right after he finished eating and he was at 9.1 or 164. Now he seems content.
 
I think you can let him relax....if you happen to be up and want to get another test in later in the cycle, that's fine....all data is good data, but I don't think it's necessary for his safety
 
have a break until maybe the +7 for data collection purpose
If you are up and have the time, I'd get a +6. With a late nadir/later onset cat, the +2 test doesn't always work as a good indicator of how the cycle will go. Neko was late nadir/later onset, and more than once her +3 was higher than her preshot and she earned a reduction later in the cycle. At this point, you are data gathering. And the influence of a higher depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction.
 
Arriving here in LB&L Land when a kitty and CG are starting from ground zero is rough enough. There is a big learning curve.
Arriving here in crisis, as you and Ming did - insulin transition gone wrong, flirting with DKA, numbers and dosing all over the place - that adds up to an initiation by fire.

With his recent history of ketones, having enough insulin on board is critical to keeping them at bay. Along with addressing any infections or inflammation, close attention must be paid to the balance of insulin and food. He needs his calories and they need insulin to convert the food to energy to be transported to and used by all the cells in his body. Otherwise his body will start breaking down its own fat and protein to fulfill the need for more metabolic energy and the downward spiral begins.

Most kitties that show up at the FDMB find the right dose by working up the dosing ladder. In Mings case its reversed - you are trying to find the right dose while going down the dosing ladder and with ketones still visible in the rear view mirror. You dont want a dose so high that he bottoms out at the same time you dont want to reduce at a rate and/or to a point where you open the door to ketones forming.

So feeding a level of carbs that will make for the smoothest possible decent to the right insulin dose is the strategy. Enough carbs so that he doesn't bottom out and then bounce to the stratosphere, but not so many that he ends up in a state of high carb hangover. Know what I mean? Right now 4% and under are not enough.
Try different combinations until you find the one that works best. There must be some way to figure out what, as an example 1oz of 4% combined with 1oz of 15% ends up being (I do not have a mind for math) Keep in mind its likely that as soon as you think you've got the magic % he will change it up on you.;)
It might end up that he is a kitty that overall does better with a diet at the higher end of the LC range

Under the best of circumstances going down the dosing ladder is a much more emotional ride than going up - I speak from experience. It's also nearly impossible to do gracefully - there are bumps (like the dreaded fur-shot) and pitfalls along the way.

Ultimately its a dance that the kitty is leading and we humans sometimes have trouble following - we aren't as agile.

You are doing a great job.
Hang in there and hang in here :cool:
 
+6 = 214.

@Wendy&Neko Sorry, what are we looking for in the +6? Are you thinking: since +2 isn't always indicative of an active cycle, looking at +6 will tell us that?

It's 3 AM and I'm almost done my tasks for the night so I'm really tired and can't think. Definitely appreciate the explanations! And also the reminders to do housekeeping things :D

The last few days since Ming's been home... what a ride. I know I'll burn out soon. I'm always worried, very anxious, and can't concentrate on other things but I'm sticking it out as long as I can (and as much as my schedule allows it). I'm so lucky that I'm working night shifts and can bring Ming along with me to monitor. But anyway, I thought I'd let you guys know what I'm feeling and I'm sure everyone's been through this as Sandy pointed out and as what I've witnessed on the forum elsewhere.

I know what we have to do (Thank you @Sandy and Black Kitty for the thorough and thoughtful explanation!!!) and every new thing we do scares the living bejeebus outta me but I'm so grateful for everyone here for doing a MULTITUDE of things for me. I can't believe what a pot of gold I landed on! Not to sound ungrateful, but I paid an IM specialist hundreds of dollars but here you guys are, giving up your precious time to help someone you've never met before. THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY FRIGHTFUL HEART! Ming thanks you too :)
 
Back
Top