10/30 Ming AMPS = 567, PMPS = 86

Do you mean I should put a bit of HC food for him every snack or now as a snack?
I meant only for the +9 test.
Why: Yesterday he lowered at +10. Lowered further at +11.
You are at +9 now. He is lowering.

If you offer a small snack @9, like 1 TEA spoon of LC it could help him stay around 103 until the PS. It is nice, safe, a good number to shoot 5U dose at. The reason I said add HC is to get it to work fast with hopes that it wears off in 2 h - and'd be clean of it by the PS, yet in the blue # easier to shoot at. Does it make sense? My logic is not ..ahhh.. comonly understood...

Without that snack he may lower further down to an uncomfortable # for you to shoot the full 5U and I think 5U is good choice for now. I wish you can keep it until Ming tells enough.
 
Does it make sense? My logic is not ..ahhh.. comonly understood...
Yes! I understood the first time and then I over"thunk" it and spiralled away. I do that a lot. Thanks! I shall feed him now. I may delay shooting him 15 minutes and shoot at 830pm because my shift starts at 8 and I have to do things that may take longer than 15 mins. Depends on how many patients there are tonight.
 
+10 = 95

Nice nice nice. Now HOLD IT. Lol

Should I hold off on the snack with a bit of HC?
I would feed his regular snack if he usually gets one, and see what happens. Keep in mind it's late in the cycle- feeding after +10 can muddy the picture come PS time.
For your next shot, and probably the entire next cycle, I think you need to feed him something higher carb than the flavors you mentioned, all of which are under 4%. Some kitties just do better dining on the higher end of the LC range. Maybe try something around 8-10%?
 
My mom just asked and I got confused again: is what’s happening right now his reaction to then 5 units I shot him LAST night or this morning?? Because I thought we did a FS lol.
The thing about fur shots is you don't know how much might have got in...or not.
I do think the 6u depot may have still been in play today
 
Also - are you both are already at your work?
Had you settled in?
How was the ride for Ming - no vomiting, or anything like that, I hope?...
 
Ok. I’m giving him some HC food with his regular LC food for his meal tonight.

His ride was great. He’s settled in his kennel and his cardboard box from home
 
I don't think the HC food with the LC food did much?

I hope tomorrow's cycle doesn't need me to stall so much. I'll have to bring him into work again tomorrow.
 
His snack wasn't the raw food. It was FF turkey gibs + yesterday's FF gravy food.

Ok I'll feed him a little of his meal now.
 
we keep cross - posting, or whatever.
My PC freezes when I type, so please, give a moment to reply.

Did you get my ? about what kind of foods you have on hand?

I mean only the carbs% content.
?
 
He doesn't really want to eat after all. He ate maybe 1/4 of his regular 3 oz. meal. Still shoot? I'll do a test now
 
99 at +0.75. I'll shoot now?
a few ?:
One is 20% and one is the regular 2-7% carb. Gave about a 1 tbsp of the 20% carb like last night.
I have him about 50% of 3 oz.
so what exactly and how much he ate right now?
before the shot?
I can get an idea as to what he has eaten if you tell me how much is what ever he is eating now - what part was20% and what was lc.
Can you please post it?
 
I gave him about 2 tbsps of food. Sorry, I'm also dealing with other patients hence my answers not coming in all at once.
 
So I combined 80% FF Turkey and Giblet can with 20% FF Chicken with Gravy
was it only gravy or meat from the same can in it?

If LC with gravy only then I think that you fed him about 1 oz MC.
It might a bit too much, but the next test will tell.

Make the test at +1, I think.

Others might have better suggestion.
 
By way of shooting your first green PS, you are hereby awarded your BOS
Congratulations :D

BOS (252x400).jpg

(and make sure you get a +1;))
 
By way of shooting your first green PS, you are hereby awarded your BOS
Congratulations :D
@Crista & Ming
That's right - the BOS award!
I forgot.
Congrats! Well done!
I gave him about 2 tbsps of food.
Mostly gravy. I did put some meat in it. I just coudn't get as much cuz the can was cold
Ok, so ~1oz gravy 20% + LC at PMPS.

PMPS 99 - 2 Tsp 20% gravy only+some LC.
+0.5 122
+1
 
*deep breath out*

There was someone else at the hospital fixing something and they finally left and now I feel less STRESSED. Also less stressed because I can finally let Ming out of his kennel now that the service person is gone. (And I can scream and no one will hear me.. just KIDDING).

+2 test is in 30 mins.

For your next shot, and probably the entire next cycle, I think you need to feed him something higher carb than the flavors you mentioned, all of which are under 4%. Some kitties just do better dining on the higher end of the LC range. Maybe try something around 8-10%?

Feed higher carb only for this cycle right because we think the 6u doses are still affecting him?

If it's still affecting him, would you say all those doses from before are affecting him as well? Or did we definitely drain all that poopoo dosing out during the 18 hr cycle?
 
Or did we definitely drain all that poopoo dosing out during the 18 hr cycle?
never heard of anything "definite" about cats...
I think that the most horrid poopoo of 10U is gone now but it doesn't mean all is rosie.
That Lantus depot could be very naughty.
You held the dose of 6U 4 cycles consecutively but then the time of shots and the dose changed.
That will affect the "affect -ability" of the depot on the BG level, if it makes sense.
We are yet to found what all of the adjustments to the depot meant for Ming'a BG.
I think that currently you are awaiting for the smaller, the 5U depot to get established and to show what it does. It might be full 6 cycles before it's ready.
Feed higher carb only for this cycle right because we think the 6u doses are still affecting him?
I think Sandy meant to make mid low carbs foods like 5-8% carbs as your regular feeding choice v. raw/ no carbs.
So recently out of DKA and having Black numbers in the SS is worrying and requires a good dose of insulin.
To sustain it some cats need to be fed a bit higher carbs to not let the reductions sneak in and to allow to keep green nadir producing dose longer BC longer in greens+ better the healing.
 
I think Sandy meant to make mid low carbs foods like 5-8% carbs as your regular feeding choice v. raw/ no carbs.
So recently out of DKA and having Black numbers in the SS is worrying and requires a good dose of insulin.
To sustain it some cats need to be fed a bit higher carbs to not let the reductions sneak in and to allow to keep green nadir producing dose longer BC longer in greens+ better the healing.

Okay. That makes me want to try giving him MC food and shooting at whatever number I get tomorrow morning. I WANT to... doesn't mean I'll have the actual steel balls to do it lol. The steel balls tonight were more like shaking, rattling, scared steel balls. :nailbiting::joyful:

I'll test every 2 hours now?
 
So you think you'll be ok?
I feel like going to bed right now?

Again, we are still to find out if he nadirs late but it looks like he does so make sure you check him and if he comes for food all of a sudden - take a test, could be sign of lowering , then feed him.
I'll be up by your +11 or so. I'll check in.

Will you be all right?
@Crista & Ming

I hope @Chris & China or @Sandy and Black Kitty agree with what I posted. And that one of them can check on you early on tomorrow.
 
Back
Top