10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.5=38;+2=59;+3=104;+4=133

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

10/29 AMPS=139; +2=158; +3=185
10/29 PMPS=169; +2=142; +4=157; +6=151

10/30 AMPS=112; +2=131; +8=166
10/30 PMPS=77; +1=23; +1.25=32; +1.5=38; +2=59; +3=104; +4=133; +6=137

Lucy is doing fine.
Her appetite is just OK, but I think she is going to the right direction.

She gave me a much better AMPS this morning, so I held the dosecrease for now.
I am still going to increase the dose since her last night's non-pred dose wasn't that great, but I will do it tonight when I can stay at home with her.

I have been thinking about how much to increase since last night.
I'd really like to give a full 0.25 unit increase looking at her numbers in the past couple of days, but I think I'm going to fatten the dose instead only because of the Friday AM cycle where she dropped to 41.
Safety first!!!!
I always disliked a fat/skinny dose because I never felt that I was measuring correctly, but oh..yeah..... I have a CALIPER now!

Sending vines to all who need them.
It seems like a lot of kitties are feeling off these days. :sad:
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy AMPS=112

Hi guys .. glad to hear lucy is eating better .. nice start to the day too .. I never liked the F or S amounts either .. it will probably be a lot easier with the calipers .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy AMPS=112

Very nice start for Lucy!! I often do the fat/skinny thing with Trix. We don't like it, either (and we don't have calipers!), but it is enough to make a difference for her.

Have a great day, Mariko!
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy AMPS=112;+2=131

I thought she might surprise me this morning, but no such luck.
Dosecrease tonight!
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy AMPS=112;+2=131

Hi Mariko,

Good luck with Lucy's dosecrease - I always like to do an increase when I will be home for the cycle also. Hope the calipers make it easier for you to fatten it.

Jane
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy AMPS=112;+2=131

I'm glad Lucy is doing good. I hope her appy gets better. Good luck with the dosecrease tonight. The calipers sure to make measuring fat and skinny doses easier.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy AMPS=112;+2=131

I think you will be safe to increase by the full .25U. That Friday AM cycle when she dropped down the the 40's probably happened because her AMPS was in the 90's when you gave the shot. I would say as long as she is well over 100 tonight at her PMPS, you can give the full .25U increase. If her PMPS is in the 90's tonight, maybe hold the current dose until tomorrow. Either way, you seem to be really on top of things when her BG gets low. Good job!
Hope you two have a good night tonight!
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy AMPS=112;+2=131;+8=166

Evening Mariko! I'm glad Lucy is doing quite well today. Have fun making full use of those calipers!
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77 // REALLY?

Really, Lucy?
PMPS = 77.

Obviously, I have postponed the dosecrease I was planning to do tonight.
I'm sure this low number is due to the sub-q fluids I gave her earlier today, at AM+8.5.
But still....... This is a bit dramatic.
Lucy is probably teasing my indecisiveness about the dose.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77 // REALLY?

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Well done Lucy! Dodged the dosecrease bullet again. Maybe this is her way of giving you a message about the dose. Hoping for a lovely surf tonight.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77 // REALLY?

Yep, she did read her condo ;-)
It also works for Hoot...every single time :roll: :lol:
And don't forget Mariko, they also read our minds :lol: :lol:
Good luck with whatever and whenever you decide on...Silly kitties :lol:
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77 // REALLY?

I can't help but smile at Lucy's mind-reading/condo-reading tactics today.
Very nice, pretty girl :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I hope you guys are having a good evening, Mariko ♥
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23 OMG

+1 = 23
SH*T is what I said when I saw this number.

I fed the 2nd dinner with LOTS of karo.
No symptom of hypo.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32 OMG

Thank you, Amy and Josie, for watching over Lucy when you are so worried about your kitties today.
You make my eyes water.
Lucy is at least out of 20s......
I'll keep testing.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32 OMG

Yikes! :shock: :shock: :shock: Please keep on coming up Lucy! NOW!!!

Congrats on the reduction. Don't forget to breathe Mariko. You are doing great.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32 OMG

Wendy, I am quite scared this time.
This is the lowest she's gotten.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32 OMG

I would be scared too! No signs of hypo is good. Good for you for getting a +1 instead of waiting until +2.

She's out of the 20's, now let's get her out of the 30's. Testing every 20 is good. A little more syrup if you can.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38

I'm testing her every 15 min. to make it easier for me to keep track of time.
I'm going to give her a syrup dipped post poke treat.
She's coming up.
I think the lots of karo with +1 dinner is working.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38

Keep going, Lucy, keep going!!! That 38 is MUCH better, but you need to be a little bit higher!
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38

I think I will give her 30min. before the next test since she is not dropping.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38;+2=59

Phew.... +2 = 59.

Almost safe.
I'm feeding the 3rd dinner now, but I won't add any more syrup for now.
I'll stay up and test her until she's in a higher range, like 80s or above.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38;+2=59

Yikes, Mariko, my belly got that sick feeling nailbite_smile

Good job on catching the 23, and bringing her numbers up. Boy, did she tell you she wanted nuthin' to do with any dosecrease! :-D
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38;+2=59

Good job staying on top of the BG after her PM shot! This is such a great indicator for you in the future.... you are learning when to shoot and when to wait. Every cat is different. When Lucy's pre-shot numbers are below 100, you may need to feed and wait an hour before you shoot. She went pretty low with the 90 pre-shot number last Friday and now the 77 pre-shot. Check with the folks on this board who have more experience than I do... but in the past, the experts here have told me to feed and wait when the pre-shot numbers are low (but again, every cat's tolerance for shooting low is different). For now, I think less than 100 is a good place to wait. It will (hopefully) help you avoid those scary 20's - 40's. Best wishes to you! Keep the faith!

P.S. A good protein meal at this point is a good idea - it will give Lucy's liver a chance to bring up the BG naturally and steadily.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38;+2=59

I'm glad she is coming up. Thank goodness she's one of those cats who usually gets her drama over early.

Interesting comment about the subq fluids, but I was looking at Lucy's SS and it doesn't seem to have impacted her this drastically before. And I know you've shot below 100 before without this kind of drama. Cats sure like to keep it interesting.
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38;+2=59

I know, I did expect her to go somewhat low with the sub-q before a non-pred cycle, but the 20s number was totally unexpected.
I've shot green preshot numbers many times, and I give sub-q fluids twice a week every week.

I think it may have something to do with where I shoot.
I always poke scruff for fluids, and I try to give the following shot as far back as her position would allow.
Bum area's skin doesn't stretch much, so I usually aim somewhere around waist line.
She was lying on her side today, so today's PM shot was sort of close to the tummy side of her body.
I have a suspicion that shooting closer to the tummy area may make her body absorb insulin faster?
I should remember to do some experiment on this.....
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38;+2=59;+3=104

Wow Mariko!! What an evening you're having!

Sounds like Lucy doesn't want anything to do with any silly dosecrease!!

Great job bringing her numbers up...now you just need to make sure they continue to go up without any more food...that's the hard part for me...staying up to test for at least 2 hours past the last time I fed so I know for sure she's going to stay up...or until I KNOW she's past her nadir and still climbing (of course if that silly nadir would be in the same place twice, it would help!)....of course at some point, the bounce is going to hit....it always does :sad:

Give Lucy an extra scritch for putting up with all the pokies!
 
Re: 10/30 Lucy PMPS=77;+1=23;+1.25=32;+1.5=38;+2=59;+3=104

Thank you, Chris.
Fortunately (or unfortunately), I am going to have to stay up for a while anyway catching up with work.
I couldn't do much of anything between +1 and +3, so I'm catching up now.

I have a feeling Lucy may be starting to bounce. :-|
 
Well if she bounces high at AMPS, you can give the 1.25 dose once more and "shoot through the bounce"...then take the reduction back to 1 unit tomorrow night

Of course with the way our kitties like to confuse us, she may be under 100

We might be able to learn this dance if our kitties would stop switching and changing the steps :lol: :lol:
 
Thank you again, Chris.
I will think about that if her number turns out to be something like 300, but I doubt it.
She's never bounced that high.
She bounces like an old lady that she is - slowly and modestly.

I've never shot through a bounce, so I'm quite a bit hesitant doing it in an AM cycle when I have to leave her at some point.
 
I'd be especially hesitant to shoot through the bounce on a dose that got me into the 20's.

Good luck getting your work done tonight - looks like Lucy is probably safe for the evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top