10/3 Meows AMPS 126, +3 74, +4 103, PMPS 104

shelbyandmeows

Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-02-meows-amps-121-skip-6-117-pmps-117-skip.294554/

I only did a drop dose tonight, as I am not able to monitor him and this is his lowest number yet. I am a bit worried since tomorrow I am gone for a wedding, I don't know what I should do. I know I'll make that decision tomorrow morning based on his AMPS, but already thinking about it. Maybe another drop? I'm not sure. I was thinking for tomorrow PMPS I would reduce the dose to 0.1 (as was suggested yesterday to me). Anyone agree? Anyways, just wanted to post about Meows and his progress ◡̈
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-02-meows-amps-121-skip-6-117-pmps-117-skip.294554/

I only did a drop dose tonight, as I am not able to monitor him and this is his lowest number yet. I am a bit worried since tomorrow I am gone for a wedding, I don't know what I should do. I know I'll make that decision tomorrow morning based on his AMPS, but already thinking about it. Maybe another drop? I'm not sure. I was thinking for tomorrow PMPS I would reduce the dose to 0.1 (as was suggested yesterday to me). Anyone agree? Anyways, just wanted to post about Meows and his progress ◡̈
@Bandit's Mom

Bhooma so you know what's going on so you don't have to go back to the previous post

I said
Welcome I see you gave 0.25 units ,
I see that Bhooma suggested to give 0.10 units this morning in her post above .Can you please add SLGS which is the dosing method if they are eating any kibble. Can you please add SLGS to your spreadsheet up top :cat:
Love the pic of Meowmeow so cute
Try and do a new post everyday and link your previous days post to it


shelbyandmeows
Okay, I can do that. I have been using calipers, so 0.25 would be 0.26mm, and I have 0.20mm so just below 0.25. My next move down would be 0.13mm. I don't want to go too fast as previously he was on a fat dose of 0.25, which is 0.38mm. So I realize it says 0.25s in the spreadsheet, but that's for my calipers labeling system ◡̈ hopefully that makes sense. Just trying to very slowly reduce his dose, and trying not to rush the process ◡̈
And yes got the linking, I will ensure to do that when I create a new post! Sorry that I didn't create a new one today, I'll make sure I do tomorrow then. Or are you telling me you want me to do that right now

I asked you
@Bandit's Mom
Hi Bhooma
I see you suggested to give 0.10 units for 10-3 is it ok for her to put the dose in her SS the way she is describing



shelbyandmeows
I understand if maybe it looks a bit different or weird in the spreadsheet, but using calipers allows me to ensure he is getting the same exact dose every single day. Instead of trying to eyeball 0.1, which wouldn't be the exact same every time and I found difficult to eyeball in the past. The idea and execution is still the same, reducing slowly (0.25s, to 0.1, to drop), until it's only a drop dose and then trialling OTJ (if that's what his pancreas allows of course) ◡̈ hopefully my explanation makes sense, we are just trying to do the best by our boy
 
Last edited:
Yes I am ◡̈ 0.25s is 0.20mm on my calipers. My 0.1 is 0.13mm on my calipers ◡̈ then I have 0.06 which is 0.06mm on my calipers, which is basically a drop dose. I hope that makes sense!
He gets food throughout his cycle, he needs food about every 3 hours, so that is about what we do. He can't eat large meals, so this is what works best for him even before diabetes.
 
Yes I am ◡̈ 0.25s is 0.20mm on my calipers. My 0.1 is 0.13mm on my calipers ◡̈ then I have 0.06 which is 0.06mm on my calipers, which is basically a drop dose. I hope that makes sense!
Makes sense. :-) I would try 0.10U (0.13mm) and if he drops below 90 on it, then go down to a drop dose.

He gets food throughout his cycle, he needs food about every 3 hours, so that is about what we do. He can't eat large meals, so this is what works best for him even before diabetes.
Many small meals is good! I was wondering if he is dropping because he isn't getting food between shots. I would suggest feeding at +2 rather than +3 (to reduce drops and flatten the curve) and then at +4 or +5. Feed lowest carbs possible after the nadir.
 
Thank you so much ◡̈ I will start the 0.1 tomorrow evening! And reduce if he drops below 90. I am away tomorrow during the day for a wedding, is it okay if I do a drop dose tomorrow morning, and start the 0.1u tomorrow evening? I just don't want him to go low when no one is here. I realize not ideal, but I thought at least the drop would help the depot.
Okay, I will feed his tiny bit of kibble he gets at +2, and then I feed him low carb wet at +5, +8 and then I wait till shot time to feed again (also lc wet). I just want to ensure he eats enough at shot time. Is that an okay schedule?
 
I am away tomorrow during the day for a wedding, is it okay if I do a drop dose tomorrow morning, and start the 0.1u tomorrow evening? I just don't want him to go low when no one is here. I realize not ideal, but I thought at least the drop would help the depot.
Do you have to leave soon after the shot? Do you use an auto-feeder?

Okay, I will feed his tiny bit of kibble he gets at +2, and then I feed him low carb wet at +5, +8 and then I wait till shot time to feed again (also lc wet). I just want to ensure he eats enough at shot time. Is that an okay schedule?
Sounds good. :-)
 
Do you have to leave soon after the shot? Do you use an auto-feeder?

I have to leave about 3 hours after, and I won't be home till pretty late. My plan is to give him insulin when I get home and walk back his shot in 15 min increments. I do have an auto feeder, so he will have food every 3 hours, all low carb wet. Though we just got this wet auto feeder, so I am testing it tonight to see if he eats from it.
 
I gave him his kibble at +2 yesterday, so that drop was with the kibble. He did not catch on to the automatic wet feeder, so I fear he may not eat a ton when I am gone. I feel I will have to decide what to do at his AMPS, as I just don't want to be worried sick about him all evening (his battle with multiple health issues this year has caused me a lot of anxiety). Usually I just wouldn't go out, but it's our friend's wedding so... and if he's dropping when I need to leave, I'd be a wreck
 
Is that unusual for a drop like that to happen when he had kibble at +2?
Yes I may skip, I just love him so dearly (as I know we all love our kitties), so just always trying to do the best for him x
 
Back
Top