10/3 Jack 118@AMPS, 70@+4hrs

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Cat is trying me make me an alcoholic with these yo-yo numbers and his ridiculously erratic food choices. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead: We have NOT tried the freeze dried raw yet, so who knows what this week will bring when we do. I know I should reduce to 6.5 units for next shot based on his reading of 70 (no kibble, and apparently not enough pate), but if this cat decides he must eat kibble tonight that will not be enough insulin. I know TR is only for cats on tightly regulated wet food, but SLGS doesn't seem to fit his appetite/insulin needs. I know glargine works differently than the prozinc in terms of the pre-shot numbers, but there's got to be some way to adjust insulin based on what he's eating and on glargine....anyone??

Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-1-jack-110-amps.269085/#post-3004703
 
With SLGS, once you have experience/data and know how your cat responds to insulin (onset, nadir, duration) and know his response to food, there is some room to customize SLGS for your cat. What sort of changes to SLGS did you think might work better for him? Some people lower the reduction number, provided they can monitor.
 
With SLGS, once you have experience/data and kmovingnow how your cat responds to insulin (onset, nadir, duration) and know his response to food, there is some room to customize SLGS for your cat. What sort of changes to SLGS did you think might work better for him? Some people lower the reduction number, provided they can monitor.
I was thinking of changing the dose of insulin based on his numbers and eating pattern. So he's currently on 7 units, but woke up at 118. I was thinking only 5 units if he eats wet food but keep the 7 if he insists on kibble. Or is that too unpredictable based on his eating habits?

And now this morning, we have a 78 and a whole new issue in the new post....
 
Back
Top