10/3 Gracie PMPS 343 +2 319 +4 304

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26480

Recap: MAMABEAN shot skinny by accident
AMPS: 281
+2: 240
+4: 351
+7: 352
PMPS: 300
+2: 291
+4: 287
+5: 290


Good morning on this beautiful Sunday a.m.!! Let's see WCR: 4 p's and Neg Ket and one sleepy cat. Think we kept her up too late...or Tobey did as DH said they were romping and playing when he cameto bed after +5.

I'm hoping for lower numbers today. This is Gracie's 6th cycle on the lower dose (well 5 cycles on the lower dose and 1 cycle on a skinny dose grr_red grr_red
We'll see how the day goes. Think I will attempt to get some autumn yard work done today...and yes, we do have yard work in the desert :lol: :lol: :lol: Of course, I may change my mind and decide to lay out by the pool :cool: We are looking forward to a visit from Kellie (FDMB member) whose kitty Oreo was a sugarbaby. Sadly, Oreo crossed the RB the end of August. So we'll check in on all the condos later. Hope everyone has or gets close to a :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282

Not too bad today Gracie! Keep on truckin' there girl! and enjoy your visit with Kellie.

Hey Gracie - ready to travel? Off to see Moonie, and Shadow, and Raja! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282

Morning Arizona gang! Hope you have a great day.

Hey Gracie - Don't let Mannie forgets to come picks me ups too, kay? - Muffin
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282

i totally got what you were saying last night marjorie, if there is still a higher shed than .75 than her #'s should have been lower not higher....this continues to puzzle me as she continues....perhaps a blue today :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282

Michelle, Anne, and Lori....Thanks for dropping in on us today! We are seriously hoping for some blues but she's just staying a flat line. We may have to consider a dosecrease if something doesn't happen by tomorrow and, Lori, you may be right...she might like .75ufat better than just .75u :lol: :lol:

Hey Mannie and Muffins: I'm all ready to go and see Moonie, Raja, and Shadow. We best pick up Tess and Binks, too!!
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258 DOSE ??

Gracie has had 6 cycles at the .75u dose...let me correct that, 5 cycles at .75u and one at .75u (skinny). She's basically just been a total flat line ...she had some pink but mostly yellow flat line. What would be the next step? Should we wait another 2-3 cycles or perhaps bump her up to .75u fat? I don't understand why, after two cycles, she had those lovely blue numbers unless it was as we discussed last night...sometimes a reduction brings lower numbers at first...but they weren't that low. We appreciate any advice/thoughts as to what is best for Gracie at this time. We do fully recognize that she's only been on insulin 14 days + 1 cycle so we are trying very hard to be patient that she will regulate in the near future...we just would like to know what is the best action so we can help her get there? Thanks!!
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258 DOSE ??

Please see my question above: also....Gracie is still losing a little weight despite all that she is eating. I know this is normal for new FD but does it stabilize and does it depend on the cat or with more stable, lower numbers, they begin to put weight back on? THanks!!
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258 DOSE ??

Can't answer your question, Marjorie, but can give it a little bump. Just came from Michelle's condo and have to say, your DH is awesome!
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258 DOSE ??

I'll let others address the dose question.

As for the food...how much is she eating now, and what is her ideal weight? Generally speaking, if she is still losing weight then I would give her more food. Once she gets regulated, she will use the food more efficiently, but for now, she needs extra food. I always say that when they are unregulated, feed them as much as they want...the only time that I would make an exception is if the cat is already overweight. With Tinkles, he stopped losing weight right away when we started on insulin, and started gaining...even though he wasn't even close to regulated for a couple of months....but I was feeding him about twice as much as he is eating now! An unregulated cat is a hungry cat...give her plenty of food!
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258 DOSE ??

FD cats often gain a lot of weight from the unused carbs turning to fat, then loose weight suddenly when the pancreas shuts down. it takes a while on wet food diet to get them balanced out. It also depends on what their ideal weight should be, which is hard to know exactly. She should have a definite waist and the rib cage should be felt with the flat of you hand but not obvious. The spine should not be prominent. I'll try to find the chart I used.

Tess actually lost a little more weight after dx too. She is looking really healthy though. You should ask your vet about her ideal weight. Then it's really more about calories of food than volume. Look at the charts and see how many calories per can, that's why we weigh Tess's food. I was worried that she wasn't eating enough. We've always had some trouble with her appetite. There are a couple of formulas for figuring out how many calories per day a cat needs to maintain ideal weight. I'll look those up too. Laurie is right, for now let her eat as much as she wants. On wet food they usually regulate themselves at a good weight. check out Dr. Lisa.s pages on food and on obesity, there is a lot of good nutrition info there for all cats.
ohmygod_smile Just when you thought you had the food thing figured out.
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258 DOSE ??

Hi Marjorie I hope you are enjoying your sunshine. I'm pretty much in the same place as you are today. My AM shot was dose 7 in a decrease and Powder has been pretty much in the purples :sad: . I :sad: I'm sure we'll both get some input before PM shots.I think I have been skinny dosing him :oops: .

Yesterday in Gandolf's Condo you were explaining to Cee how to publish her SS. I tried to get my link to be Powder's SS but somehow it came up with an error from Google. I got back my original link today but would like to set it up the other way if possible. I didn't bracket in the link am I supposed to? I look forward to any help you can give me :smile:
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258 DOSE ??

I think I would give Gracie one more cycle before increasing. The 44 was her lowest number ever, so it's reasonable to think the bounce could last 3 whole days. Also, she is flat yellow today and in some cats that means there will be action in the next cycle or two. If the numbers don't break tonight, then I would go back up to the last good dose (1 unit) in the morning.
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258

Libby...thank you as always...I would gladly stay up all night if she would get back down on this dose.

Kathy: thank you for stopping into our condo and letting me know our babies are in the same place..hopefully they will both decide they like their reduction and don't want to go up to come down :-D I sent you a PM with instructions on how to link your Spreadsheet and Profile. Pls let me know if you need more help.

Anne: thanks for your support, as always, my friend. I'll visit your condo and check in on Muffin. I've been hanging out poolside this afternoon getting in the last days of summer and pool time.

Ann and Laurie: I appreciate your responses. When we started out, Gracie was not obese or overweight but was a little (as my housekeeper says it) "shubby". She had a waist that you could see from above but she has a typical Scottish Fold body so she's built like a little tank :lol: :lol: She weighed 9.1 lbs when this started and is now down to 8.5 lbs (we have a digital cat scale and everyone gets weighed monthly unless they have something going on like Grace..then it's much more often). We put her on a feeding protocol at the suggestion of many in the FDMB because, like Mannie, she's a diver. We feed her at AMPS/PMPS, +1, +2, +3 and +8 but during the day, I find I also have to feed her around +10. While the others said they split their cats food over those minimeals, I haven't been. I feed her the same amount at each one just as we were doing before so all in all, I don't think she's getting less food...she's just getting it at different hours. If she comes in the kitchen in between and is hungry, I give her 0% carb food. I've worked personally with Dr. Lisa before (she's super) and will calculate the calories Gracie needs but she often will leave a little food on her plate. Before we started insulin, she was ravenous and we were feeding her as much and as often as she wanted. In reality, she is at a perfect weight right now (altho I'm sure my vet would say for the size cat she is, she'd be absolutely fine at 7.5-8 lbs) and, in fact, my friend has her sister and McKenna weighs about 6 lbs but she always looks thin to me. I'll calculate calories for her and start weighing her food to make sure she is getting plenty. Thank you!!
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258

Good luck with the food and the weight thing. I'm sure she will stabilize. Sounds like she needs more. I need to start doing what Ann does: weight food. Mannie is a little chunky - it really needs to come off. He was skin and bones when he was diagnosed, way underweight. Once on insulin it came back on fairly fast. Now I'm in the process of trying to be little bit more diligent in the amount of food he gets - he will eat whatever I give, including the quantity. Good luck with Gracie.
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258

Thanks, Michelle. I calculated her needed calories from Dr. Lisa's site and padded it a bit and then calculated the calories in her food and weighed it out. I think we have been giving her more than enough food but we will continue to make sure she gets more than what she actually should need to maintain her weight. She actually looks great right now. My main concern is her BG!!! She said she loves Mannie's build!
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie AMPS 282 +2 277 +5 258 +10 320

M arjorie thanks for your reply I checked out the pm and am so grateful for your help. After dinner and feeding my pooches I'll get busy.

Keep the faith. I read what Libby said and wouldn't you know Powder's +12 was 112 :!: I think she's psychic :lol: This was his 8th cycle on this dosecrease. I'll be watching you and Gracie. Powder says "Please tell Gracie My paws are crossed :smile: ."
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie PMPS 343

So much for flat yellow.....and I've been matching up my syringe to the picture...I feel confident I am not shooting skinny .75u. Gracie and Binks...whas up with you two??
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie PMPS 343 +2 319

Hey Gracie - what are you doing on the pink floor?

Nice on the weighing etc of the food - I really need to start doing that. Have the scale... just haven't started, bad me!

Hope you get some rest tonight.
 
Re: 10/3 Gracie PMPS 343 +2 319

Hey you guys are way ahead of me - I just got around to marking the calories/carbs on the cans (for Shnookie's diet, not for Muffin)!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top